Fluffy last shot for the day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fluffmiester

Member Since 2011
His last level was 465 just 10 minutes ago. My husband does not want to poking him anymore today. I give him his shot at 8pm Do you think 1u is ok?
 
You should always get the level before you shoot. That is the most important of the day. If you're eastern time zone (not sure if you are or not) that leaves 3 more hours till the shot. A lot can happen in 3 hours. I strongly encourage you to do one more test at that time. If his level is the same or higher I would say that you should be fine at 1u. If it were a human child, no one would think twice about testing before administering insulin--it's just a requirement with the treatment. I try to do for Charlie exactly what I would do for my daughter if it were her instead of him.
 
I know you are tired of poking, Rose, and Fluffy is tired of getting poked. The problem here is that we can't be positive about these numbers. They are high and probably will stay that way. But I have seen some strange things after hypo, and unfortunately every cat is not the same in the way they react.

I am cautious and would rather be safe than sorry, especially when giving advice about someone's beloved kitty. You would probably be fine with one unit not testing again. But I wouldn't do it.

Tomorrow if your amps is in the 300-400 range, you can think about 1.3 or 1.4 or 1.5.

Have you put neosporin on his ears? You can use the kind with pain relief. And every time you poke, after you get the blood, hold the spot for a few seconds to help prevent bruising.
 
I would test him but you are probably safe given that he had risen that far.

I wouldn't raise that dose until you've tried it for at couple more days. Given yesterday, the numbers today - including tonight - are, IMHO, not stable enough yet to consider changing the dose - particularly upward. I would give this dose a couple of days to see whether an increase is truly warranted.

Will you be able to get some spot checks tomorrow to see where the 1 unit takes him?
 
Interesting, Rose. His number (with the 20% variance on the meter) stayed the same. I would have expected it to rise..... I think you are okay with 1 unit tonight.

Let's be careful with the morning dose.
 
numbers staying static like that indicate pancreatic action. this is good and likely the reason you had that low amps the other morning that went south.
rose, i think your kitty really really wants to get all better for you cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top