First time insulin injection reaction time

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkm57

Member Since 2013
Hi ..Iam new to all of this..Gave my cat his first Lantus injection this morning 1u. I took a BG reading first it was @ 353 mg/dl. He was then fed and given his injection. I retested his BG 2 1/2 hrs later it was higher at 385 mg/dl...Could someone tell me if this is normal or not. It was my first time using a syringe. I am 99% sure the injection was given properly. Thank you
 
Hello, and welcome to FDMB,

And well done, you; firstly for getting that first insulin shot done (the first one is the hardest), and secondly for cracking on with hometesting so fast. Wow! Your kitty is lucky to have you looking after him. :smile:

Eliz
 
Thanks for the quick reply...So I am going to retest his BG every couple of hours to see if it goes down...I guess I am expecting the Lantus to work quicker..Since this was his first injection I just assumed you inject it,it should go down ASAP.
 
jkm57 said:
...Since this was his first injection I just assumed you inject it,it should go down ASAP.

Nope, doesn"t work like that. If you graph serial glucose tests, you often see a smile shape.
 
This is how a typical lantus curve works:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


What food are you giving him?

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top