First time blood tested

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Loki's sugar was 249, first time tested at 8PM, he gets his 1 unit at 8AM so the vet told me to test at 8PM. Do you think he will be re-adjusted to bring it down some more, this scares me because I was reading the normal levels here and it said to get as close to 200 as possible. He is acting like his old self, eating better and not drinking as much. I still cannot get his photo up or a sign line even with the great step by step instructions.
Thanks for being there and all the support you have given Loki and I ;-)
 
That's a very nice reading to have 12 hours after the first shot for a newbie. Can you put a link to your last post or refresh me about what insulin Loki is getting, his dose, when he started, his weight, does he eat wet or dry food, etc?

I think you are confused about what you read. I think what you read or heard was not to shoot a new dose of insulin unless Loki is at least 200 bg since you have no history and don''t want him to go too low. You are over that. But please answer my questions before shooting.

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi, good morning. Thanks so much for responding to my post, ok Loki is on Prozinc, his dose is 1 unit in the AM, he only will eat the Wellness Turkey. I wonder if he could also have the chicken flavor too? he now weighs 13. 8 lbs he was close to 17 when this all started. I tried the DM diet he hated it. Thanks again
 
Good am to you.

I was reading your previous post about your baby Loki and that number 249 is after +12 hours on one unit? If the number is 200, suggestion is not to shoot insulin. I would lower the dose to .5 and test 3 hours later and see what the insulin is doing. And again 6 hours after the am shot to see how low he is going.

Sooo glad you are testing. Please take a quick look at Beans spreadsheet. I gave her the shot and 2 hours after, she was only 27! that stuff is very powerful.

You can always adjust up, just too late if too much it is already shot.

What a gooood momma bean you are!

Loki is a lucky baby & sending hugs your way!
 
Are you giving insulin only one time per day?

We recommend that you give insulin two times a day (BID) in 12 hour increments. Why - because cats metabolize the insulin faster than humans.

And it is important to test BEFORE each shot and then to get random tests (when your schedule permits) throughout the 12 hour cycle). You don't have to test hourly, but you should test more than one time, so you can see the pattern of how the insulin is working in the cat.

And if you want advice on your tests, if you create a spreadsheet, it will help us to see the patterns and help you. To learn how to create the spreadsheet - go to the healthlinks forum and the instructions for the google sheet are there.
 
Hi, downloaded the SS but I have no clue what the abbreviations mean or how to use this, sorry to be such a pain but I so want to do this right. Can someone explain in simple terms the details of the SS? Thanks
 
think about it like a clock without stating the actual time. the clock is based on 12 hours and everything you do is based on when you give the insulin and each hour after the dose until the next time to give the insulin.

For example, if you shoot at 8 am and 8 pm, your chart looks like this

AMPS - morning pre shot number - this is the test taken before insulin at 8 am
+1 - the test taken 1 hour after giving insulin
+3 - the test taken 3 hours after giving insulin
+8 - the test taken 8 hours after giving insulin

PMPS - evening pre shot number - this is the night time test taken before giving insulin at 8 pm
+2- the test taken 2 hour after giving insulin
+4 - the test taken 3 hours after giving insulin
+11- the test taken 11 hours after giving insulin

The colors on the chart red, green yellow, blue, black, represent the BG range the cat is in. We use colors to make it easier, if the cat is blue or green he's doing great and at a great level. If he is yellow, pink, red or black, his BG is high and if it remains this way over several days, a dose increase may be needed


As everyone is in different time zones, this "clock" was created so we can all follow what's going on with the cat. My 8pm is ET and the person who may look at my chart may be on the west coast and 8 pm means nothing to that person, yet, if I say the cat's BG is 390 at +3, everyone understands what that means and can help.

Make sense?
 
Thanks so much, it's much more clear now, just check him for the evening and he's at 229 tonight from 249 last night, he was 390 at the vets on the day before we started the Prozinc.
Will keep you all updated and thanks again so much for the help and support. I have never seen a site that has so much nice and helpful people.
 
well first any reading at the vet may be off by 100 points. why - vet stress - the cat is outside his home environment, in a strange place, being poked and prodded and the stressors of traveling, waiting and seeing the vet all add to artificial numbers. so, I wouldn't take any number taken at the vet as accurate.

second - you can't compare last night's reading to tonight's reading. just like with people, the cat's bg's will rise and fall throughout the day, due to many factors - food, stress, exercise, excitement, etc.What you want to look at when testing are the patterns the tests show.

Looking or comparing one number doesn't give you the whole picture of what you need to know, so rather than saying well last night he was this number and the day before that number, just start testing, putting in the spreadsheet and let's see what the pattern tells us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top