First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc AMPS ~ 313

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc 6u 2x a day. Too much

Absolutely! No Insulin. When you talk to your vet, you need to take your numbers in for today and let him see what a catastrophe this could have been. Imagine if you just gave 6 units again tonight.

It is fantastic that you got the meter and got the testing done. You have literally saved your kitty's life today. You both have earned some treats tonight.

So tomorrow, the insulin "should" have worn off. And she may have a fairly high number. If she does, I would still just give the one unit and plan to test. If she is lower than 200 or near it, be sure to come back on and ask for advice.
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc 6u 2x a day. Too much

HiPatrick! (goodness, my first post I called you dan...sorry...edited now! :mrgreen: )
I think that is a great idea. I dont even want to imagine what would have happened if you were not testing and gave another 6u tonight. I dont think you need to be scared of what your vet is going to say about changing the dose. I think your vet should be scared of what YOU are going to say! ;-) NICE JOB today. So glad you found the group.

If Sabian will allow you to practice a few more pokes tonight, that might be good to see what her numbers are doing and how long the insulin is lasting for her at that whoppin' 6u. Im curious how much of the 121 is related to the kibble, and if it might drop her a bit later on.

So, you are thinking 1u tomorrow a.m?
It would be great if you could get a test 1hr before shooting insulin tomorrow a.m. and posting it. That will give you a good hour to get some help if you need it before shooting again.
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc 6u 2x a day. Too much

Yay she is on the way up again...although she may drop again once the kibble starts to wear off. I think with-holding her shot tonight might be wise. But tomorrow I would only give 1u if she is over 200 at your preshot test. It is much easier to raise a dose if it isn't working than to get insulin out of her if it is too much. You may see a fairly high number in the morning, but try not to react to that, she may have gone really low and be bouncing a bit in the morning.

Our rice sock is our best friend in this colder weather. And thinnish sock filled with about 2/3 full of plain white rice and knotted works great. Baby socks are fantasic for making one, and usually pretty cheap, especially if you check for them in places like Goodwill. I usually stick ours in the microwave for about 20 seconds while I get all my testing supplies together.

As far as lancets goes, I kind of half and half it. I use the pen as a handle but I take the cap off. I dial it back to the first depth setting, I free hand it to aim and then use the spring action to make the poke quick. But I did have to get Max use to the sound of it clicking, to do that I would cuddle with him and just click it near his ears without a lancet in it. Now he knows that when he hears it click there is treat right behind it.

It does get easier once you find your groove. Now it takes me longer to get the strip in the meter than to get the blood from his ear.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc 6u 2x a day. Too much

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Patrick! (goodness, my first post I called you dan...sorry...edited now! :mrgreen: )
I've been called worse.

carolynandlatte said:
I think that is a great idea. I dont even want to imagine what would have happened if you were not testing and gave another 6u tonight. I dont think you need to be scared of what your vet is going to say about changing the dose. I think your vet should be scared of what YOU are going to say! ;-) NICE JOB today. So glad you found the group.

If Sabian will allow you to practice a few more pokes tonight, that might be good to see what her numbers are doing and how long the insulin is lasting for her at that whoppin' 6u. Im curious how much of the 121 is related to the kibble, and if it might drop her a bit later on.

So, you are thinking 1u tomorrow a.m?
It would be great if you could get a test 1hr before shooting insulin tomorrow a.m. and posting it. That will give you a good hour to get some help if you need it before shooting again.

I'm going to test her and wonder what it should be in order to give her 1u - 200? 250? I'm still planning on giving the vet a call mid-morning and having a polite chat. I'm probably not going to be up an hour before the shot test (does 6:30am exist?) but I'll test before I give her one, that's for certain. I hope I'm not as stressed and freaked tomorrow as I was today, my own blood pressure can't take this often.

I just fed some 9-Lives Chicken & Tuna canned to them all too.

And Sue, my treat is being uncorked directly.
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

Usually with newbies we say no shoot if you are under 200, anything over that give 1u. Once you get more comfortable with testing and have gathered some additional data through testing at different times during the day, you will feel more comfortable shooting lower numbers.

And if in doubt, test come on here and post her number and need dose advice and someone will jump in to help. Nice thing about here is we never close, no holidays or office hours, since we have members literally all over the world there is always some one around to lend a hand.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

Good for you - liquid treats are always special. :mrgreen:

Just some general guidelines. We try to give dosing advice as it comes, because every cat is different and your kitty reacts to insulin differently than mine did. If she is really around 200 in the morning, we are looking at a different scenerio. She will have been 24 hours without insulin and be in pretty low numbers. We would probably be very cautious with the dose. You should come on with your number and wait for advice. Waiting till you get some opinions wouldn't hurt anything if she is still in that range; it would be the wisest way to go. Cats react to a hypo (I are assuming she could have gone down into a pretty low range before you got a number) in different ways - bouncing high, staying low. No way to know till tomorrow morning. We call this the sugar dance - and she is leading.......
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

Good job testing! If you continue to have trouble, you might try the clothespin trick. Here is the link: http://www.felinecrf.org/giving_sub-qs_ ... _peg_trick. It seeems ridiculous, but it is rather like a mother cat holding a kitten by the scruff, and many cats really relax (I found it an invaluable tool with my cat).
I think skipping the shot if her BG is not above 200 is a good idea. We usually recommend 200 as the "no-shoot" cutoff for newbies. My cat was on ProZinc and sometimes had very late nadirs (lowest BG point in cycle) as late as +10 or +12 (10 or 12 hours after insulin shot).
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

Other testing suggestions---I found the rice sock unwieldy. I used a small medicine vial which I filled with very hot water. It fit the curve of her ear, warmed it, and gave me a firm surface to poke against. A bit of vaseline helps the blood bead up so you can see it. Putting a flashlight behind the ear sometimes helps you see the vein. My cat never liked any of the treats, so I fed her whatever her favorite food was just after testing.
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

hi there and welcome. i've only been able to catch a glimpse of this thread here and there today as i'm a bit under the weather but did want to throw out there that if i'm thinking straight (fever's broke at this time. LOL!) there's another member there in Tulsa who knows a whole lot about diabetes, etc....when it comes to cats. her name is Dale and if you find you need a vet recommendation or something, I'm sure she can help you with that. for that matter, she might even help you with testing if need be. i'll send her a message and point her here for you
 
Re: First shot this morning! Prozinc +12~121 PMPS

Just took the reading again at 22:20 and it's a 280, 15 hours after the shot this morning. No shot this evening, and I'm going to hold her food for the night.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Cindy, Dale has been snowed in, not even at work this past week, and she normally isn't on her computer at home. I will call her and let her know about Patrick.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Cindy, Dale has been snowed in, not even at work this past week, and she normally isn't on her computer at home. I will call her and let her know about Patrick.

I know the feeling. Fortunately (or not), I work from home.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Actually we like you to free feed the wet food. You can freeze it and leave it out to thaw. Food helps support the pancreas so small frequent meals are good.

It looks like you will have a high enough number to shoot in the morning. If you do, I would still be conservative with the dose and do the one unit.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Thanks. I plan on just the 1 unit in the morning if it's high, but I'll post here first.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

It looks like you have come a long ways since my YIKES response when I was the first one who responded to your post. You got probably more responses in a short amount of time that anyone I have seen recently. There must be a Guardian angel looking over you and your kitty. Maybe it's the 777 in your user name! I am REALLY GLAD you are testing now and didn't give your cat six more units of insulin today.

I normally wouldn''t say this but it has been a long day.... Is your vet nuts to prescribe a dose of insulin that high? Maybe that vet needs a good injection of Haldol I.M. LOL
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

I'd like to thank each of you for helping me through this stressful day. I'm grateful and very relieved that I was able to find such a helpful and considerate group. Sabian has been with me through a lot of really bad times, and I've always considered her one of my favorite "people" in my life. It chokes me up to think what might have happened if I had blindly done what I was told and not researched, joined the board and asked the questions. I usually just wallflower on forums for a while, but today, something told me to go ahead and post. You helped save her life today, and you saved me from a heart-wrenchingly catastrophic experience.

Thank you all. I just hope I can help someone here in the future the way I was helped today. If any of you ever need anything, let me know. I am in your debt.
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Awww shucks that is just what we do here. :-D

It won't be long and you will be right up there with the rest of us, coming on to hold the hands and paws of the newbies, telling them how upset and scared you were when you first got here, and guiding them as you were guided yesterday. That is just the way this family of cat lovers works.

You may even find yourself among those of us that get crazy enough to adopt other sugarcats. That's what happened to me. I found these great folks when my first girl Muse was dxed thus my board name. However, Muse was just too ill to pull through, so when my current diabetic boy Max came up for adoption here on the board I jumped at the chance to adopt him. It wasn't more than a couple of weeks after I adopted him that he was going into remission, home testing literally saved his life as well, because he and I didn't know each other well enough at that time for me to know what was normal behavior for him, I could have very easily missed signs of hypo in him.

I know at times it can be hard to buck the Vet's advice afterall they are the professionals but here we eat, drink, breathe and live feline diabetes 24/7. And actually everything feline, so there is always a good chance we have someone around that can offer advice on anything that comes up.

You and Sabian are going to do just great! Your off to a fantastic start.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: First shot this morning 2/4! Prozinc +15~280

Thanks, Mel.

I just took her level this morning and it came up 313. Looks like a 1u shot is in order for her.
 
Yep that is a nice safe number to give insulin on...try to get a +3 and a +6 on her as well just to do a couple of spot checks to see how she reacts to the lower dose. But I'm guessing she will do great. I am so thankful you found the group as quickly as you did, and got that meter...Sabian has a great kitty-dad looking after her, she is one lucky girl.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
I think I've read everything there is to read about this stuff over the past few days.

Just gave 1u (that barely looked like anything in the syringe) at 8:15 with an AMPS of 313 while she was eating some 9L Ocean Whitefish.
 
Years ago I pulled up 1 unit of water in a U-100 syringe and squirted it on the counter. Just a tiny drop of water but that was all Baby needed, 1 unit. Some cats need only 1/2 unit. Always go by the meter reading and never think that "it doesn't look like much"...potent stuff. I have also seen people come on here with a hypo on their cat that has been diabetic for several years. Reason for the hypo.....they had a well regulated cat, figured they knew what the number would probably be, and didn't take the time to test before shooting. Always, always test before shooting insulin.....Mishka has been on it now for close to 7 1/2 years and I never have given a shot without getting a test in first.
 
actually Patrick. it is you we/I must thank. first for finding this board and then actually listening to what we all said and act upon it. YOU saved her life. cause we could have talked and talked and talked and unless you put your faith in us and acted on our suggestions, the outcome could have been very dire.
thank you for putting your trust in a bunch of internet animal lovers
 
Good Morning Patrick and Sabian!
What a GREAT # she gave you for your first *real* shot! :mrgreen:
I am so impressed to see you have a ss set up so quickly! Great Job Patrick. I was going to ask you to work on that this weekend, but see you are way ahead of the game. :thumbup

One suggestion for today (aside from what others suggested regarding tests):
Could you start a new thread? Title it: 2/5 Sabian (new PZI) AMPS-313. In your first post of the thread put a link to THIS thread. Youre seem pretty computer savvy...but just in case.. ;-) http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 28&t=35957 (just copy and paste). We can work off the new post today, with easy reference to yesterday.

I agree with Dian, YOU are really the one to thank. YOU did the work and trusted us to help. We could not have helped you, without your cooperation. :smile:

My Latte's problems started when I gave a medication my vet highly recommended. I didnt do any research on it because I figured my vet knew best. It ended up putting her in acute renal failure and lived the remainder of her life with permanent renal damage. I was fortunate to find a group (not this one) who insisted she *could* survive and live many more happy years, if I did Xyz. The vet just said pts, there was no hope. I listened to the group and She lived another 3.5yrs. Our vet got an additional education on the importance of not giving up and keeping more up to date on their profession. I certainly hope your vet will learn something from this experience, after you present the facts of what happened. If there is no learning to be had, than I hope you will be able to find a new vet...one who will work WITH you and Sabian. One who will be on the team.

Look forward to seeing numbers the rest of the day. Hope Sabian is feeling well, and you are a little more relaxed.
 
also...in a new post, as the day goes on you can add numbers to your main subject line. Go to the first post and edit the subject line.

2/5 Sabian (new pzi) AMPS-313, +3-244
(as an example)
 
carolynandlatte said:
One suggestion for today (aside from what others suggested regarding tests):
Could you start a new thread? Title it: 2/5 Sabian (new PZI) AMPS-313. In your first post of the thread put a link to THIS thread. Youre seem pretty computer savvy...but just in case.. ;-) viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35957 (just copy and paste). We can work off the new post today, with easy reference to yesterday.

I am computer savvy, thanks. Should I start a new thread in this forum or somewhere else?
 
Entirely up to you, Patrick. You can get dosing advice here; just make sure people know you are using PZI as it works differently than the other two most often used insulins, Lantus and Levemir. This forum is also best for general health advice. And any time you have an emergency, it is best to post here as you will get more people responding.

We do have a PZI forum that is for PZI users. It is not as busy as this one, but someone is always on in the am and pm. It is a small, friendly forum and you can see how others are working with PZI and what kinds of doses they are using. viewforum.php?f=24
 
I'd like to keep it here. Some boards have differing rules about which forum to put which types of posts. I run a couple of motorcycle msg boards and we're pretty strict about some things like that.

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top