First shot given...hopefully successful

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Active Member
Wanted to share this because it was tooo coincidental to ignore!!

I was prepping to test, feed and shot Casey, nervous as heck. nailbite_smile I had already sprayed the “no stress”, gotten the prepared food out so it would warm up, and was now going to fill the syringe so it will warm while I test then feed her. Even though I was so nervous that I was shaking I able to get the insulin in and the air out, but when I tried to put the cap on I dropped the syringe on the floor. :YMSIGH:

Trying again, this time I could not seem to get all the air out…uuugh, I was getting so frustrated when my phone rang. I was thinking “Oh, great; this is not a good time”…that was before I saw who it was calling. :o , :-D It was a friend with whom I had not spoken with in over a year, she is a RN!! (We have only been able to play phone-tag during that time.) She talked with me through filling the syringe, we caught up on old times while I tested and fed Casey, and finished up our conversation as I gave her the shot.

I had a little trouble getting the insulin down to exactly the .5u mark, but there was a drop left over afterward, so I think this first shot was a success…unless it was a fur shot. Casey flinched and I did not feel any moisture as I rubbed the injection area after the shot, so I do not think that was the case. I guess (I hope) we will find out as I try to test the curve tonight.

Thank for listening/reading,

Roberta
And Casey
 
Well, Casey went from PMPS @ 324 to +3 @ 235....looks like it was not a fur shot!! And since the BG is going down, I would say it is a success. :smile:
 
Gooood job to you! I hate being soo nervous! When I started shooting, I would feel like passing out just taking the cap off the needle! Hope it gets better for you and sounds like you did exactly what you were suppost to do.
 
After 5 years i still feel like I want to pass out :-D And I also get a lot of furshots when Simba doesn't want to lay still and jumps away.


But it will get better, Roberta. You and Casey are on your way there.
 
Alright Roberta and Casey!!!

I'm one that has literally fainted at the sight of a needle - told my Dr. I needed to sit down for a blood draw or I'd pass out. He didn't believe me, didn't get a chair, got needle instead....when I came to laying on the floor, he said he'd listen to me next time. I admit I do still get shaky every few shots....but it's their life we're giving back to them!!! Every nerve is worth it...))
 
Good for you Roberta and Casey! Speaking of fur shots, it happened last night. And Jessie's numbers have been high, too. She needed that shot.
 
Jessie's mom said:
Good for you Roberta and Casey! Speaking of fur shots, it happened last night. And Jessie's numbers have been high, too. She needed that shot.
How do you know for sure whether it is a fur shot or not?
 
Roberta, you can smell a fur shot if you put your nose on the shot sight.
Also with a dose like 1 unit...or even .5 you can usually see a bit of wettness on the fur.
Sometimes a fur shot is only a partial fur shot...well, usually. You would likely get at least some of it in there which is why we stick to the rule....no reshooting a fur shot.
Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top