First Post. Switching from ProZinc to Lantus/Levemir?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Got a good read this evening at PMPS + 6: 254. Good read in that I was able to get the blood easily without struggle :). Still high...Fed 1.5 ounces of Fancy Feast Savory Salmon as a snack/treat.

I got a new lancet pen (ReliOn, instead of the FreeStyle one), went a little higher on the ear (search for the infamous sweet spot photo!), and went on the outside of the ear, instead of the inside. A combination of these led to bloody, bloody magic.

If the daily routine can be that easy, I think I can make it :).

Carl, wish Bob a happy OTJ birthday for me! Zoe's also looking good, and I'm guessing you're at least partially responsible!

R
 
AMPS: 250 (updating spreadsheet now so I'm not bugging people every time I get a read).

Administered 1.25u of ProZinc and 2.75oz of DM wet breffist.

Definitely thinking I'm starting to get the hang of the BG testing. My advice to other newbs is to aim high on the ear (http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m267 ... etspot.jpg) and press the pen pretty hard against the ear when you poke. Dandy decided I should 'go test myself', so he pressed his ear on my arm and I got the sample off myself...if only it was always that easy! (and gross).

Thanks again all. I'm sure I'll have more questions once I get more reads. If the weather stays rainy, I might get a rudimentary curve today.

Thanks,
Russ
 
I was able to get a partial curve yesterday. Not sure what I figured out... I will try to gather more data today. Then I think Dandy deserves a couple days off from such intense pokings (just AMPS, PMPS, and maybe one at lunch time).

In the meantime, I thought I'd share a simple arts and crafts project :).
 

Attachments

  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    55.9 KB · Views: 278
Russ,

Can we get you to start a new post? And you might also consider posting on the PZI forum. It is a smaller forum than this one but everyone uses or has used your insulin. That's where you are most likely to get dose advice for ProZinc (except for Carl and me who post on both forums) and see other users' spreadsheets.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24

I am not sure about your dosing strategy. It may get you where you want to be but may not. In some cats, they need a few cycles to "settle" into a dose before increasing. You are moving pretty fast, even though you are seeing pretty good numbers. It is possible to skip over an ideal dose. Then you might see an inverse cycle - higher numbers at nadir than preshot- or a low nadir that could be too low (under40) and require intervention with higher carb food or sugars.

Here is a document on PZI which makes interesting reading:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799
 
Hi Sue,

I'll start a new thread in the PZI forum as suggested. Thanks!

And thanks for the reading material!

R
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top