Sock's mom
Member Since 2024
Hello, my name is Kelsey. My senior cat, Socks, was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 weeks ago. We had taken in a stray kitten in September and Socks kept sneaking to the kittens dish and eating her dry kitten food and wet kitten food every chance she got. She has always been a big water drinker but after eating the kitten food she seemed to be drinking even more and excreting a large amount of urine a lot more often during the day, so i made an appt at the vet. Her BG at the vet was 569 and the fructosamine test also had high levels. I had to wait a few days for her Glargine to come in so I researched online and found your page. I went and bought a bunch of the Fancy Feast pates that were on the safe food chart on your page and started her on them but left her normal dry food out while she transitioned over the next week. I have 3 indoor cats total so i still have the dry food out for the other cats but have put a baby gate up last week to block her from getting to then hard food (She is arthritic and can't jump or climb). So i waited 2 weeks after getting my hands on the Glargine before I started her on it just so i could get her diet changed and get a few BG readings to see how her levels were without being on dry food. They seem to be so much lower than they had been so I'm really hopeful I can get her into remission. I gave Socks her first dose on 12/26 of 1.25u (she weighs 11 pounds) and after about 6 hours her BG had dropped from 260 to 56 and was still low that evening for her 2nd shot so I didnt give her another dose because I was scared. Yesterday i gave her 1u in the morning and took her BG several times during the day and it stayed above normal everytime. So I gave her another 1u at bedtime last night and this morning her BG was 71 so I skipped her dose again and a few hours later her BG was 67. I tested again 2 hours later and it was 100 and gradually increased over thr next few hours so she got 1u shot at 9 pm when her BG was 310. 2 hours later her BG is 348. Am I doing this right? I feel like her numbers are whacky and all over the place. She is eating about 3 cans per day and snacking on what she doesn't finish eating every few hours.i did also start her on probiotics because she has had diarrhea all week since cutting out the dry food completely. Today her poop was a lighter brownish grey color but still very soft and diarhea like. She acts great, same energy as usual, great temperament and hasnt lost any weight at all so that seems like a positive. Any tips I need nor advice on what I'm doing would be greatly appreciated. Am I overfeeding the canned food by letting her graze all day on what she isn't finishing? Is it normal for BG to go so low after starting insulin? Should I be concerned about her runny stools? Thank-you so much. I plan on charting all of my data but i have 5 kids and they're on xmas break so i haven't been able to get on the computer to learn how but i am testing her BG every 2-4 hours during the day and have written it all down. She's only had 3 insulin injections so far.
