first low BG, latest 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie Doctor

Member Since 2015
hi we did our first 12 hour curve today. I don't know if I messed up her shot this morning but her numbers were high all day and tonight following her second shot her numbers are falling and are now 74. What do I do? She seems fine cuddled in my lap. See spread sheet.
 
First, breathe. Although that is a number which gets a reduction on SLGS, she can get as low as 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer and be safe. You might give her a teaspoon or 2 of regular food.
How many hours post-shot? Ie is she past +7 or her nadir?
Do you have some Karo syrup or high carb gravied food ex Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) if she does go lower than 50 mg/dL?
 
First, breathe. Although that is a number which gets a reduction on SLGS, hse can get as low as 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer and be safe. You might give her a teaspoon or 2 of regular food.
How many hours post-shot? Ie is she past +7 or her nadir?
Do you have some Karo syrup or high carb gravied food ex Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) if she does go lower than 50 mg/dL?
Last time I tested her she was a 70 something and that was two hours post injection. I have Karo. I'm so tired. Do I need to stay up monitoring her? I will certainly if I need to. You can see her updated numbers on my spreadsheet. She just munched a little on her dry food.
 
With a 70 at +2, I'd stay up for a bit.
The dry food can take a bit to kick in, so since she won't eat canned yet, maybe give a few drops of Karo.
The thing with Lantus is how long it lasts; maybe put on a pot of coffee or tea, because you need to be past nadir, safely above 50 mg/dL, and rising.
 
With a 70 at +2, I'd stay up for a bit.
The dry food can take a bit to kick in, so since she won't eat canned yet, maybe give a few drops of Karo.
The thing with Lantus is how long it lasts; maybe put on a pot of coffee or tea, because you need to be past nadir, safely above 50 mg/dL, and rising.
Ok will put on tea and retest now thank you so much
 
337 pre shot had been in 300s and 400 all day. Post shot one hour was 214, post shot two hours 74, 45 min after that 72
 
That is a big drop in 2 hours. Hopefully, the dry food will be kicking in as she gets to +5 to +7 post-shot when many Lantus cats nadir.

See the link I added above on how to handle a hypo.
 
Nadir means the lowest point then start coming up? I must have accidentally injected muscle this morning bc she never had a nadir. She's drinking a good bit but not really eating. I have some wet purina DM she always refuses but maybe I can get her to lick it. Guess that's not high carb. I guess her nadir would be about 1am to 3am my time. Hope I don't have circles under my eyes for my family photos in the morning. Eeks.
 
Do you have any high-carb treats? Sometimes that will help a bit. I would try to get a little bit of Karo into her, and maybe a little more food, if you can get her to eat. My cat likes Karo, and will eat it mixed in with his food, don't know whether or not this would work for you.

Please test again now and post her BG number.
 
Karo only has a temporary effect on BG and will wear off in about 20 minutes. You need to keep testing her until you see at least two back-to-back BG numbers that are rising.
 
Can you take the 911 down from your subject line now that you're ok please. It tends to give people a heart attack :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top