first hypoglycemic incident URGENT

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjlb

Member Since 2012
First time post; first time hypoglycemic incident. Blood glucose went from 50 to 133 (half hr after honey) to 255 (1/2 hr later). Cat is still pacing, following walls, sniffing floor, and is not aware of our presence. Will definitely take him to vet in the morning, but if anyone is awake now, do you think he needs to go to cat hospital immediately? Thank you so much.
 
50 is not hypoglycemic (UNLESS you are using a pet meter like the AlphaTrak, then yes below 80 is hypo), some nondiabetic and OTJ cats even hang in the 40's... we do recommend intervention if they fall below 50 but please keep testing to make sure he doesn't go back down. I don't think it warrants a vet visit but definitely a reduction in the insulin dose.
 
Hello,

When did you give insulin - how long ago?

If that number, 50, was reached at the peak of his insulin cycle (blood glucose nadir) then you should be OK. If there is still time to go until he reaches peak of the insulin cycle then you may need to take further action, which MAY only need to be monitoring.

How is your cat now?
 
Hello, I'd really like to know how your cat is doing...

As I wrote previously we need to know when insulin was given? Glucose only acts for a short while in the system and then wears off. If he has not yet reached insulin peak then you should try to get some real food into him as well.

We need more information to be able to help you further.

Also helpful to know what insulin and what dose?

How long has your cat been on insulin?

I'm going to PM you in hopes that you receive that email and come back to the forum to reply.

(My own cat showed hypo symptoms at BG reading of 47).
 
Thanks so much -- I think I'm so nervous I'm not answering well.

As I wrote previously we need to know when insulin was given? One unit of insulin given at 9pm. He ate at 3:30pm (his usual time is 6:30, which may be what set this in motion). Glucose only acts for a short while in the system and then wears off. If he has not yet reached insulin peak then you should try to get some real food into him as well.

We need more information to be able to help you further.

Also helpful to know what insulin and what dose? one unit of insulin

How long has your cat been on insulin? for about a month

I'm going to PM you in hopes that you receive that email and come back to the forum to reply.

(My own cat showed hypo symptoms at BG reading of 47).

My real concern now is his neurological symptoms, with the pacing, and sniffing, and not knowing us.

Thanks again.
 
Re " neurological symptoms", Yes I absolutely agree.

If your cat's BG is up now - and has been up for a while -and he is still not responding to you then I think this constitutes an emergency.
If it were my cat I'd take him to the vet now!

Is there someone who can phone ahead for you?

(copying to your other post)
 
I think we'll test his glucose one more time, and then decide. Thanks so much for your help -- I'll be back to let you know what happens.
 
Wow, what a change 15 minutes makes. He calmed down (stopped pacing, sniffing, etc.), and we tested his glucose again - it's now 260. And THANKFULLY, he now knows us and is acting normally, except he seems a bit pooped. It's almost like he had sugar crazies like little kids do sometimes. Wow. We're going to the vet as soon as they open! What a scary event -- thanks again for your kind comment.
 
Phew! What a relief! (I've been chewing my fingernails here....)

Well done, you! I expect you're exhausted!

How long is it now since he had his shot? I know you said it was 9pm but I'm in the UK and my computer is showing UK time.
If he is still less than 5 or 6 hours after his shot then I'd still monitor him. Like I said, glucose/honey can wear off quickly. When my cat has hypo'd I've kept checking until I get 4 rising numbers in a row AND he is getting toward peak of insulin cycle and so not able to drop further. IF your cat still has a couple of hours to go and drops again then maybe try to get some proper food on board.

Yes, definitely a trip to the vet needed. Your cat will be really sensitive to insulin after this hypo. And maybe an ongoing dose reduction will be needed?

Oh, by the way, Welcome to FDMB! :-)
 
Whew! It's now 7 hrs past his shot, so hopefully he's good 'til morning. I'm going to try to get a nap in before the trip to the vet -- this was an all-nighter! Thanks again!
 
I do hope you manage to get some good rest.

Do pop by the forum later and let folks know how you got on at the vets. I'm sure they'll want to know. :-)

Bye for now...
 
Good on you for monitoring your cat and getting him through your first low BG reading. Hope all is well now? Keep an eye on those readings!
 
Thanks again for your help. Otis is back to his usual self, and his usual morning routine too. His blood glucose this morning was 111, so for now, no insulin. Our vet (who is wonderful) preferred that we do home glucose testing every 3 hrs today, as that's the info he wants, and it's much less stressful to do at home than in his office. So that's where we stand for now.

I've been reading about remission and also about honeymoon periods, so I guess we will just have to keep testing until we know the scoop. Luckily this incident made my husband a glucose testing expert. In the month since Otis's diagnosis, I have tried many, many times to test, and never succeeded. I have been relying upon urine sticks, but I know it's not anywhere nearly as good. Now that my husband can test, hopefully I'll be able to use his technique and finally get it right!
 
Good to hear that Otis (and you) made it through a very scary event.

And, yes, it is easier to learn from someone who knows HOW to test than on your own. Good luck.
 
Oh, that's brilliant news!

And what an amazing blood glucose result this morning! I thought Otis was bound to 'rebound' (have BG jump up high due to liver response) after that episode last night. I'm glad I was wrong. Cats can be SO resilient, can't they?

And your vet sounds like an absolute diamond. There will be a lot of people here wishing they had your luck on that score....

Well done too to your husband who seems to have been the unsung 'hero of the hour' with his ability to turn his hand to blood-testing. :-D And yes, now he can teach you too! ;-)

Do please continue to post on FDMB. Would really like to follow your story.

Don't even know your name - or your husband's!

Well, it looks like a potentially dangerous situation has had a positive outcome. Well done. But you must still be exhausted after that difficult night last night. And probably in need of chocolate too (or is that just me after a stressful event???)

Best wishes to you,

Elizabeth
 
I'm sure it's here somewhere, but what does OTJ mean? Off-the-juice?

The vet's office calls me Otis's mom, but my real name is Jenny, and my husband is Jack. He is indeed a diamond (sometimes in-the-rough!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top