DebraandOliver
Member Since 2011
I'll quickly reintroduce ourselves, as we really aren't "new" to FDMB. Oliver has been diabetic for 10 years, He is now 15 and still doing very well. About 4 years ago, I stopped testing him before each shot... he's been steady at around 200 on 4.5 units of Lantus for years. No hypos, no ketones, no real complications since his initial diagonsis in March of 2003. Last night, however, was a gamechanger.
We came home to find him sprawled on his belly, legs splayed wide with a confused look on his face, at his peak insulin time... 6 hours after his last shot. Without even thinking, I grabbed the maple syrup and began giving it to him. Luckily, he tolerated it pretty well. The next step was the meter. Reading was LO. First time I've ever seen that on him. My husband ran out to the store to get some high carb dry (we only keep grain free here, big mistake due to complacency). Within about an hour, he started to come back to himself. We skipped his shot last night, of course, and this morning, he's looks pretty good. His BG is 248. With an hour to go until his shot, we'll probably skip it again this morning, unless he's over 300. Then 2 units would be the most he'd get. If that much.
What I'd like to get across is this:
The information you get here never ever leaves you. I remembered everything I learned here 10 years ago in about 2 seconds, and we were able to save Oliver, because have no doubt that had we hesitated in administering that syrup, and then the dry food, Oliver wouldn't be here this morning for me to test. He was that close.
So, Oliver will more than likely (knock on wood and antijinx) celebrate his 10th sugarcat anniversary with us, and we'll go on as before, except with more caution and more vigilence. Truly a wake up call. :thumbup
We came home to find him sprawled on his belly, legs splayed wide with a confused look on his face, at his peak insulin time... 6 hours after his last shot. Without even thinking, I grabbed the maple syrup and began giving it to him. Luckily, he tolerated it pretty well. The next step was the meter. Reading was LO. First time I've ever seen that on him. My husband ran out to the store to get some high carb dry (we only keep grain free here, big mistake due to complacency). Within about an hour, he started to come back to himself. We skipped his shot last night, of course, and this morning, he's looks pretty good. His BG is 248. With an hour to go until his shot, we'll probably skip it again this morning, unless he's over 300. Then 2 units would be the most he'd get. If that much.
What I'd like to get across is this:
The information you get here never ever leaves you. I remembered everything I learned here 10 years ago in about 2 seconds, and we were able to save Oliver, because have no doubt that had we hesitated in administering that syrup, and then the dry food, Oliver wouldn't be here this morning for me to test. He was that close.
So, Oliver will more than likely (knock on wood and antijinx) celebrate his 10th sugarcat anniversary with us, and we'll go on as before, except with more caution and more vigilence. Truly a wake up call. :thumbup