First Home Test & I have questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

taylor_hubbard

Member Since 2014
After a mild hypo episode on Monday (4/14) and possibly another small one today (4/16) I finally purchased a bg meter. I selected the True Result on at Walgreens. On my second attempt (not enough blood the first time) I was able to get a reading! I have one really tolerate cat! So the reading was 85mg and here is my question.

What is the accuracy of the this meter typically to the pet ones? I been doing some reading on here and I hear that they are slightly off but does anyone have a rule of thumb with this brand? I gave him his injection today still because he's eating & drinking and it's 1u of lantus. I am curious as I go forward how this meter compares to a pet one. Thanks!
 
I am fairly new to all this and hopefully one of the experienced members will help you soon.
Do you know how low your kitty goes half way through the cycle I would be testing a few times tonight to make sure he doesn't go low. Between +5 and +7.
I think most human meters run 20 to 30 points lower then the alpha pet. Don't know about the True Result though...
 
Human glucometers read about 30-40% lower than pet-specific meters. Do not adjust your test numbers, however, because we have reference numbers for cats using human glucometers.

In the US, all glucometers must read within 20% of what a lab would get, ie they aren't exact and the number reflects a range of values. Ex a test of 100 represents a range from 80 to 120.
 
Here's what you need to understand the glucose tests with a glucometer - human or pet-specific.

We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers. One many of us use is the WalMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each).

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
I am new but thought I would give my two cents since this topic is one that I have recently struggled with. I started off with the AlphTrak2 pet meter and four days ago, I switched to the Relion Micro Meter. Like I said, I really struggled with this decision but I finally made the change. I did it for three reasons.

One: The cost. It was costing me $1 per test strip for each BG test I did. I was going through those test strips like crazy. I think it costs 35 cents each to buy them at Walmart but online you can get them as low as 18 cents each at Arkay.

Two: Familiarity. Most everyone here tests with the human meter. I think it is easier for others to review your BG numbers on your spreadsheet since they are familiar with the human meter.

Three: Data is data. I learned from the marvelous folks here that it is the data that is the most important. As long as you are consistent in using the same meter, then the data is the same. High number are high numbers and we all are trying to get our kitties into the lower numbers. We have a great chart that BJM provided you that helps us interpret the data.

In summary, I am glad that I switched to the human meter.

Hope this helps.
 
Years ago when I started this dance with Maui, I purchased a tru meter too. I also had a One Touch Ultra and kept getting wacky numbers with the Tru meter. I finally returned the Tru meter and kept with the One Touch Ultra. I did change to a Bayer Contour (that took less blood).

My point in saying all this, is that I personally don't trust the accuracy of the TRU meters and don't recommend them at all. With all things being equal, a good reliable inexpensive meter and strips is the relion meters. A little more expensive meter and strips is the Bayer Contour. I highly recommend using either over a TRU meter any day.
 
Thanks everyone for the insight & suggestions. I am planning to pick up the Relion meter from Walmat tomorrow and prep to do a curve on Saturday. Wish they sold the meter at Target as I'm not a fan of Walmart but my little guy is way more important than my long-time self-declared boycott. :-D
 
Taylor, I also have a personal boycott of Walmart, so I completely understand.

If you buy the ReliOn Confirm or Micro, you can order strips from Americandiabeteswholesale.com. I'll hve to find the link to those strips. I think you can order strips for the ReliOn Prime as well, but I don't know which ones they are since I don't use that meter.
 
Suzanne & Cobb said:
Here's the link for the Arkray test strips. They fit the ReliOn Confirm or Micro.

Wow, how did I miss this? Buying those makes each strip approximately 10 cents cheaper for me than buying the Relion ones at Walmart. That can definitely add up. I never even noticed that the top of the Relion container said Arkray. So changing the strip out should make no difference in the reading because it's the same strip, the same chemical reaction, and just different branding, right?
 
AZJenks said:
Suzanne & Cobb said:
Here's the link for the Arkray test strips. They fit the ReliOn Confirm or Micro.

Wow, how did I miss this? Buying those makes each strip approximately 10 cents cheaper for me than buying the Relion ones at Walmart. That can definitely add up. I never even noticed that the top of the Relion container said Arkray. So changing the strip out should make no difference in the reading because it's the same strip, the same chemical reaction, and just different branding, right?

I only buy the strips at Walmart when I am low and can't wait for the shipment.

Yep, Arkray makes the ReliOn meters. The strips are just the manufacturer ones instead of the branded ones. I haven't noticed any difference in readings.

I also get my syringes from ADW. If you go through mrrebates.com, you get a percentage back - like that shares commercial where the women get "paid to shop." But I think you have to wait awhile to get the money.
 
How did things go today with the new meter? Were you able to get one and get some tests in?
 
Just picked up the new meter today so I wasn't able to do the curve today like I had hoped. I just read up on the meter and will do my first test on Tyrone soon and I am hopeful that I can do the curve next Saturday. Tyrone seems to be doing really well these past couple of days. He pretty much back to his normal demeanor & personality before these diagnosis'. I would say the only thing is that he is always just so hungry for wet food but otherwise he's doing well. We have another check in with the vet on Monday so I will be interested to see his results with them.

I am nervous for this upcoming Friday as I have a wedding to photograph & my husband is also a guest as well. We usually give him an injection at 7pm but the ceremony is at 6pm so we won't be able to give him his injection. Does one night of no insulin throw off things a lot? If so, I may be able to train someone to come & do.Thanks!
 
If you can, you might move the shot later by 15 minutes per shot OR 30 minutes per day, so it won't be such a long time between shots, then after the wedding, do the reverse and move 15 minutes earlier per shot or 30 minutes 1 time per day. That is how we handle Daylight Savings Time. Would that work for you?

Some cats are more sensitive to insulin changes than others; if you determine that is true for your cat, the 15 minutes per shot time shift is the better choice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top