JacksonCatson
Member Since 2012
Hi to you all on this wonderful forum. I'm a newbie -- my 4.5 year old cat Jackson was diagnosed before Thanksgiving (at 424 from his bloodwork) and this site has been a wonderful source of information.
Jackson has been on Lantus since early December and is currently at 1.5 units. He is a 13.2 lb neutered male. I'm attaching his SS and profile. He's mainly been in the mid-200s pre-shot, with a few random 300s. He was switched to a wet food diet before beginning insulin, and we've recently found a feeding schedule and amount that is working for us, which amounts to 2.5 cans of FF with a little bit of EVO dry food as a distraction while I'm injecting him. I've also started feeding him about 30-60 minutes before I give him his shot, as he's starving otherwise (still testing, then feeding, then shooting).
Tonight I had a BIG surprise when I did his BG = 74! He was 327 this morning, so you can imagine my surprise. I immediately did another test and got 68. I also tested my own blood (we started a new pack of strips yesterday) and it seemed reasonable. I use the Relion Confirm meter.
I decided to skip his shot (thank goodness y'all have underscored the importance of preshot testing!), fed him his normal amount and tested him again 40 minutes later. He was at 100. I tested again (so +2 from the PMPS) and he was 140.
So my question is, should I completely skip the shot and wait for his AMPS? Give him a lower dose, even though it's now quite late from his normal time? Keep testing him till I go to bed?
Thanks for your help. I haven't ever seen numbers this low, so I'm a bit unprepared.
Sarah and Jackson
Jackson has been on Lantus since early December and is currently at 1.5 units. He is a 13.2 lb neutered male. I'm attaching his SS and profile. He's mainly been in the mid-200s pre-shot, with a few random 300s. He was switched to a wet food diet before beginning insulin, and we've recently found a feeding schedule and amount that is working for us, which amounts to 2.5 cans of FF with a little bit of EVO dry food as a distraction while I'm injecting him. I've also started feeding him about 30-60 minutes before I give him his shot, as he's starving otherwise (still testing, then feeding, then shooting).
Tonight I had a BIG surprise when I did his BG = 74! He was 327 this morning, so you can imagine my surprise. I immediately did another test and got 68. I also tested my own blood (we started a new pack of strips yesterday) and it seemed reasonable. I use the Relion Confirm meter.
I decided to skip his shot (thank goodness y'all have underscored the importance of preshot testing!), fed him his normal amount and tested him again 40 minutes later. He was at 100. I tested again (so +2 from the PMPS) and he was 140.
So my question is, should I completely skip the shot and wait for his AMPS? Give him a lower dose, even though it's now quite late from his normal time? Keep testing him till I go to bed?
Thanks for your help. I haven't ever seen numbers this low, so I'm a bit unprepared.
Sarah and Jackson