First full curve day, the lows, highs and questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crzycatdaddy

Member Since 2016
Thank you for any comments and advice on any missing information.

I have been reading a bit on here for a week or so and decided to make an account after a wild ride from yesterday to today - in Toby's SS.
I know it is rather spotty up until today.

Any help about his numbers yesterday and today which went from great to terrible would be appreciated - rebound? Too high a dose? Should I not have skipped last night?

Will be adding another number within the next half hour.

Thanks a lot
Matt
 
The high AMPS this morning would have been from skipping the shot last night, which was definitely the right thing to do with that low of a preshot. However Toby did drop a quite a bit today and seems to be having a later nadir (lowest number in a cycle) than what is "usual" for Prozinc. With that big a drop I would not be surprised to see higher numbers at PMPS from bouncing back up.

I am going to tag @Sue and Oliver (GA) to see what advice she can offer with the numbers you have so far. She has a lot of experience with Prozinc.

Good job on the home testing and curve. :)
 
Hi Matt welcome to you and Toby. You did right skipping last night on a 93 preshot! We usually skip on a PS 200 or lower until we get enough data to tell us how our cat reacts. Sue and Rachel will be along to help you with dosing, in the meantime tell us some more about Toby. What food is he eating, and has there been a change in food? Does he have any other health issues? When was he diagnosed?
 
Four units looks like too much insulin, Matt. You want two shootable preshots am and pm. Skipping sets you back. You had to skip last night and might have to tonight also. But tomorrow, no matter how high he is, I would reduce to 3.5 or 3 - depending on whether you can monitor the cycle. He will be, and was today, high for amps because he had been 24 hours since the last shot. Maybe the lower dose will give you a shootable pmps.
 
Wow thanks for all the fast replies, will be testing and feeding the three other beasties in a moment.
I had a feeling after yesterday and today that 4 is too much- thank you for the input on that matter - my profile has more info about food, etc - the cats are calling!
 
Updated his SS : +11 279. Was expecting another 100 or less so I guess this is actually a good thing as I won't be skipping an injection. Lower from 4 to 3.5 or 3? I will be able to test overnight - they don't let me sleep through anyway.
 
That's the lowest pmps (shootable) you've seen. Maybe play it safe and try 3 units? You can always raise the dose on a later cycle, but too much might give you a long night....
 
Thanks - will definitely play it safe with 3 tonight and maybe get a couple more readings. Once I moved from his ear to his pads it has been much easier - he really doesn't even like his ears touched at all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top