Champoux
Member Since 2017
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...es-in-a-row-amps-6-6-mmol-l-119-mg-dl.178243/
Last Saturday, Champagne went through a symptomatic hypo, induced by a 0.1 u Lantus dose. Since then, I was supposed to reduce his dose to a single drop, but he'd never reach acceptable enough preshots for me to do so. He's now 5 days insulin-free and maintaining himself between 5.2 mmol/L (94 mg/dl) and 8.7 mmol/L (157 mg/dl).
The thing is, his original diagnosis was made during a pre-op blood panel for a dental, where they found his BG at 29.1 mmol/l (524 mg/dl) after a 12 hours fast. Seeing this crazy number, they stopped everything there and Champagne never got his teeth cleaned/removed. The dental was pretty much needed, as Champagne had even started developing an abscess, which had been treated with 2 weeks of antibiotics before the procedure.
Now that he's in good enough numbers, we phoned the vet and she managed to get us an appointment for tomorrow (friday may 26th). She agreed with us that doing it now rather than later would be the best thing to do, as we can't know if either his teeth or his numbers will worsen if we wait too much. Getting rid of the infection and bacteria in his gums could also help him get faster to remission. The vet also allowed us to feed Champagne until 2 AM instead of midnight and to bring him at the hospital at 10:00 AM instead of the usual 8:00 to minimize his stress.
Needless to say that I'm a nervous wreck at the moment. The only time Champagne was under anesthesia was when he got neutered as a kitten. Now he's 15 years old, soon 16, diabetic and stage I CKD and I'm scared senseless he doesn't make it through.
I do know it's the best for him and leaving him with rotten teeth in his mouth could be worse for his health than making him go through anesthesia, but I'll admit I have trouble thinking rationally at the moment.
Did you ever go through this process with your own cat ? If so, how did it go ? Is there something I should know/expect or something I should do to help him recover faster ?
Thanks !
Last Saturday, Champagne went through a symptomatic hypo, induced by a 0.1 u Lantus dose. Since then, I was supposed to reduce his dose to a single drop, but he'd never reach acceptable enough preshots for me to do so. He's now 5 days insulin-free and maintaining himself between 5.2 mmol/L (94 mg/dl) and 8.7 mmol/L (157 mg/dl).
The thing is, his original diagnosis was made during a pre-op blood panel for a dental, where they found his BG at 29.1 mmol/l (524 mg/dl) after a 12 hours fast. Seeing this crazy number, they stopped everything there and Champagne never got his teeth cleaned/removed. The dental was pretty much needed, as Champagne had even started developing an abscess, which had been treated with 2 weeks of antibiotics before the procedure.
Now that he's in good enough numbers, we phoned the vet and she managed to get us an appointment for tomorrow (friday may 26th). She agreed with us that doing it now rather than later would be the best thing to do, as we can't know if either his teeth or his numbers will worsen if we wait too much. Getting rid of the infection and bacteria in his gums could also help him get faster to remission. The vet also allowed us to feed Champagne until 2 AM instead of midnight and to bring him at the hospital at 10:00 AM instead of the usual 8:00 to minimize his stress.
Needless to say that I'm a nervous wreck at the moment. The only time Champagne was under anesthesia was when he got neutered as a kitten. Now he's 15 years old, soon 16, diabetic and stage I CKD and I'm scared senseless he doesn't make it through.
I do know it's the best for him and leaving him with rotten teeth in his mouth could be worse for his health than making him go through anesthesia, but I'll admit I have trouble thinking rationally at the moment.
Did you ever go through this process with your own cat ? If so, how did it go ? Is there something I should know/expect or something I should do to help him recover faster ?
Thanks !

