First day testing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulaF

Member Since 2013
Picked PJ up at the vet yesterday - she was started on ProZinc 1.0u and went from 479 @9am to 78 by 4pm :shock: Anyway, she told me not to give an injection last night and if under 200 this a.m. to not give any, however she was 231. I was a bit worried about giving her 1u so I have her 0.5 so we'll see what that does by tonight.

I was quite proud of testing her BG this morning - it only took two sticks! She was not the happy camper but nothing like the first time back in 2004 but she was a quite a bit younger then. The vet wants me to bring her back in 2-3 weeks to do another curve. So we shall see.... @-)
 
Yeah on successful ear testing! :RAHCAT Welcome again to the Vampire Club! I see that you have done this before, but it's been a while. Sort of like riding a bicycle, you never forget how.

If you are home testing, you could do the curve yourself at home. The less stressful environment often gives more accurate readings than at the vet office. Much less costly too, only the cost of about 6 test strips ($2.16 with Relion Confirm/Micro) versus $100-200 or more at the vet clinic. Something for you to consider.

Wow! That was quite a drop from 479 to 78 in 7 hours. Good idea to lower the dose and keep PJ safe.
 

Attachments

  • vampire smiley small.jpg
    vampire smiley small.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 224
Great job getting a test! Be sure to reward both bean and cat with a treat afterward. I like your reduction to .5. Hopefully today you will get a shootable pmps. It is encouraging that she is reacting so well, so fast.
 
Thanks Sue & Deb!

I did do a couple of curves at home back in 2004 and would do on Sundays when I was at home all day (she was only on insulin for 8 months then). I think I might take her backto the vet the first time and then do on my own from there. I've forgotten though how often I check - is it hourly? I didn't have time last night to pull out all my charts and graphs from previous years - will do that tonight.
 
A full curve is testing every 2 hours, beginning with the pre-shot test for the 12 hour cycle.

A mini-curve is testing every 3 hours, beginning with the pre-shot test for the 12 hour cycle.

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Curve

It's going to take some time for you to get back into the swing of things. You'll get there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top