Hello Ruth,
I just went and looked at your earlier posts and checked out George's profile so I could "catch up". It looks like he was diagnosed in mid-November, and you got good results from changing him to a proper diet, but not enough to completely avoid insulin. Your vet prescribed a good insulin, Lantus, and you started yesterday and saw immediate results! The only "problem" I see is that the vet might have prescribed too high a dose to start...
I know they used the weight-based formula and came up with "2 units". I'm wondering if that was too much too soon.
I'm going to ask some more experienced Lantus users from the TR forum to come over and take a look. There's no doubt that after only a couple of shots, George is responding to the insulin.
You asked some good questions in the thread you posted in the Relaxed Lantus forum earlier today.
started George on Lantus yesterday mid-day following a morning vet appointment. She advised just the one shot for the day and based his dose on .25 units for body weight totaling about 2 units a.m. and p.m.
First shot was at 12:30 yesterday and when I checked him 2 hours later he'd gone from a.m. 302 to 53. Whew! By 11pm he was back up to 120, and this morning I set up a SS and began posting for use in this forum (I've been tracking him on paper for the past month as we changed diet prior to beginning insulin). Today AMPS=214, +2=151, +4=61.
I assume there's some sort of "settling in" period initially while his system adjusts to the Lantus and I know I need to find his upper and lower limits.
My question: How low should I be concerned about? Should I make adjustments if numbers are low or will that screw up getting him started with the program?
I guess as we get farther into this I'll be more comfortable making "unauthorized" (i.e. without calling the vet) adjustments based on my own monitoring.
That drop from 302 to 53 in the first couple of hours was really quick and pretty far. And the drop in 4 hours today was also evidence that he's responding to the Lantus well. Maybe a little bit "too well".
Yes, there is a "settling in" period with Lantus. Usually 3 days or more, until the "depot" builds up in his system. Some cats respond quickly, while others don't. George did.
As far as "how low should I be concerned". Well, it's not only how low, but how fast he goes from high to low. Usually, the insulin will begin to work 2-3 hours after the shot. And typically, the "low point" would be somewhere in the time frame of 5-7 hours after the shot. When you see an early onset and a rapid drop early in the cycle, that means it's likely to keep going down for a few hours. A nadir (the low point) of 53 or 61 is okay. Seeing low numbers like that early than nadir is the point where you would be "concerned".
I would skip the shot tonight if you got a 195, because you only have 36 hours of data, and that isn't enough to make a safe "guess" as to what a 2 unit dose will do.
Let me go get some other "eyes" on this...
Carl