First day home-testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Papa Stark

Member Since 2014
Snow's third day home from the hospital, I finally got my hands on the meter and strips (ReliOn), just in time to take an AM +7 reading.

Thankfully, grandma was around since it turned out to be a 4-hand job, and we kind of bungled it. By the time we got it, Snow was not happy with us, I'm sure his ear hurt, and we got a 580(!) reading. PM pre-shot was down to 361, though. Now we just have to get him to mellow out enough that one person can pull it off...
 
Treats are the secret to this thing! Every time, successful or not, he gets a low carb treat. Pretty soon he will associate the poke with an expected treat and the whole process becomes much easier.
 
Great job! Testing does get easier, I promise. Are you using Neosporin ointment (the one with pain relief)? The ointment can help take the sting away and help the ears heal. We paw tested but still used the Neosporin. I put a tiny dab on before I tested to help the blood well up; then I put a little bit on after the test to help with healing.
 
Congratulations and Welcome to the Vampire club! You and Snow will have this sugar dance down pat in a very short time. You just have to figure out how to not step on each others toes... :-D

Hugs and headbutts!
 
Thanks, everyone.

His bedtime-check for the night came out in the yellow, and a much easier time of it (though it was still a 4-hand job). He got his cookie and his spreadsheet got a 286 in the PM +4 cell. I think I might actually be able to sleep a few hours tonight without getting up every 45 minutes to check on him. :)
 
Nice safe drop for a +4. Now your job is data gathering so you can see how the insulin is working. I see that you have a curve scheduled at the vet in a couple days. If you have the testing down, it is less expensive and more accurate to do the curve at home. Stress raises blood glucose levels and most cats are very stressed at the vet, so doses based on those numbers can be too high once he gets home.

Did we share the PZI protocol?


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Nice safe drop for a +4. Now your job is data gathering so you can see how the insulin is working. I see that you have a curve scheduled at the vet in a couple days. If you have the testing down, it is less expensive and more accurate to do the curve at home. Stress raises blood glucose levels and most cats are very stressed at the vet, so doses based on those numbers can be too high once he gets home.

Did we share the PZI protocol?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

Yeah, I fully intend to focus on home testing, but this first week, I'm worried about us 1) making newbie mistakes, that the vet can hopefully help me catch, and 2) alienating the folks who I'm going to be running to if things go bad, so I've decided to go ahead with the first followup.

I've read over the protocol several times (dare I say "obsessively?"). I think I need a more data points to have a better view of how the insulin's working before I start trying to tweak it (huge spikes or drops notwithstanding, of course)
 
Hi just want to welcome you to the best place to care for your diabetic kitty....so much help here they are awesome and may I just say....Know so much more about insulin and your cat then any vet. Even my vet agrees with me on this now. :lol: she turned out to be a very nice vet . Anyway wonderful start and healing green light sent to your sugarbaby for a safe trip into remission. First time took my Trey 4 months 2 of those on Lantus and many many hours hanging out here reading and tweaking .All the best remember to breath and stay calm they pick up on your vibes and of course treats..... ~O) :YMSIGH: cat(2)_steam Kath & Trey
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top