First curve

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
Im not sure if i am posting in the right place but today we attempted to do Bear’s first curve..
A little disappointed as I thought id see different numbers, im wondering if he got a skin shot? Or if hes just getting used to the insulin? We’ve been skipping am shot as hes been too low to comfortably give him one when hed be home alone, as we’re just starting out.
Wondering if this is common in the beginning on lantus?
 
Welcome. It’s my first time on your condo. It’s important to link each new condo to the previous one for continuity. I’ll need to go back and find your previous ones in order to get of any help.

A few quick comments though. The BG is high because Lantus is a 12 hour insulin for cats. Skipping often gives high numbers. You will want to give a full dose of insulin if the BG is 200+. There’s the option of a reduced dose as well if not comfortable shooting.

Please read the dosing methods. I’d start with SLGS if following ours and you can always switch when you see how your cat responds to insulin.
 
Hello! Thanks for the info, sorry we’re new here so im not sure what a condo is, i will try and search it in the forum and learn what this is/how to link 🐱
 
BS 11.5… stall or shoot?

Here’s I think your last one. I am going to link the listing guidelines. It’s important to include the date and your car’s name in the subject. It gets busy here so makes it easier to find previous info should you forget to link the threads.
 
Looking at your spreadsheet I suggest you get a test between +3-7 whenever possible as lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat. With the skips you want to hold the dose for 5-7 days to let the depot build. Then you will see how the initial dose is working. There’s a lot of information in the stickies at the top of this forum that will help you understand all this. It can be overwhelming so take your time and keep posting daily and asking questions.
 
Hi Vanessa! I'm seeing more yellows than pinks, and that's progress! Elise (@tiffmaxee) is a great helper, and she's giving you some good advice here, especially about testing at night. How are things going with the testing so far? We're here for you if you need guidance or have questions.
 
Looking at your spreadsheet I suggest you get a test between +3-7 whenever possible as lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat. With the skips you want to hold the dose for 5-7 days to let the depot build. Then you will see how the initial dose is working. There’s a lot of information in the stickies at the top of this forum that will help you understand all this. It can be overwhelming so take your time and keep posting daily and asking questions.
Perfect! Thank you for this information..
I am having trouble knowing whether to post my question in the lantus forum or the general section
 
Hi Vanessa! I'm seeing more yellows than pinks, and that's progress! Elise (@tiffmaxee) is a great helper, and she's giving you some good advice here, especially about testing at night. How are things going with the testing so far? We're here for you if you need guidance or have questions.
Thank you! He’s definitely getting better with testing, but especially since we did the curve. I did get a new meter and bigger lancets which require less blood so have been almost always able to get him on the first poke!
I shot tonight while he was eating, but hes not finishing his food.. our vet said to not give the shot unless he eats 75% of his food.. this was guidance given for a large dose of caninsulin though.. so should i be as concerned with low dose lantus?
 
Thank you! He’s definitely getting better with testing, but especially since we did the curve. I did get a new meter and bigger lancets which require less blood so have been almost always able to get him on the first poke!
I shot tonight while he was eating, but hes not finishing his food.. our vet said to not give the shot unless he eats 75% of his food.. this was guidance given for a large dose of caninsulin though.. so should i be as concerned with low dose lantus?
Lantus is unlike Vetsulin in that the onset of the Lantus is typically around +2. Vetsulin’s onset is faster, which is why the recommendation is to feed, wait 30 mins., and then shoot. Because of Lantus’ slower onset, we have more time to get food on board, so we shoot when we’re feeding. You’ll want to get a couple of tablespoons of food in Bear when you give his shot. Is he grazing and getting most of the food eaten within the first couple of hours? If so, he should be fine. If you’re having problems getting him to eat, have you tried some low carb toppers to stimulate his appetite. I use Fortiflora, which is a probiotic (but not a great one); its value for us is that it has a very appealing taste. There are a lot of other food enhancers out there.
 
Lantus is unlike Vetsulin in that the onset of the Lantus is typically around +2. Vetsulin’s onset is faster, which is why the recommendation is to feed, wait 30 mins., and then shoot. Because of Lantus’ slower onset, we have more time to get food on board, so we shoot when we’re feeding. You’ll want to get a couple of tablespoons of food in Bear when you give his shot. Is he grazing and getting most of the food eaten within the first couple of hours? If so, he should be fine. If you’re having problems getting him to eat, have you tried some low carb toppers to stimulate his appetite. I use Fortiflora, which is a probiotic (but not a great one); its value for us is that it has a very appealing taste. There are a lot of other food enhancers out there.
Yes id say he ended up eating a good portion although it took quite a while. Going to try to get him to eat the remainder of the food, after giving him a little break..
Hes normally an insatiable eater.. but we went from free feeding dry kibble and 1/3 can of friskies midday, to 2.5 cans of friskies pate strictly. He’s definitely more of a grazer and not used to eating large portions at once. The trouble is we’re a multi cat household so the other kitties are still on the old food (no more free feeds for anyone though). He doesn’t really like to eat alone so I have to sit with him and he often likes to eat with the others, but the midday snack is the only time thats possible anymore. His bs was a bit higher than its been tonight (assume his body is getting used to the insulin, where as at the very start he was kinda all over). So im pretty confident with that and the low dose and the amount he did eat, although not a whole can, should be good 👍
 
I am having trouble knowing whether to post my question in the lantus forum or the general section
Once you have your signature and spreadsheet set up and are relatively comfy with testing you can post here. Also picking which dosing method you'd like to follow so we can properly direct you.
 
Yes id say he ended up eating a good portion although it took quite a while. Going to try to get him to eat the remainder of the food, after giving him a little break..
Hes normally an insatiable eater.. but we went from free feeding dry kibble and 1/3 can of friskies midday, to 2.5 cans of friskies pate strictly. He’s definitely more of a grazer and not used to eating large portions at once. The trouble is we’re a multi cat household so the other kitties are still on the old food (no more free feeds for anyone though). He doesn’t really like to eat alone so I have to sit with him and he often likes to eat with the others, but the midday snack is the only time thats possible anymore. His bs was a bit higher than its been tonight (assume his body is getting used to the insulin, where as at the very start he was kinda all over). So im pretty confident with that and the low dose and the amount he did eat, although not a whole can, should be good 👍
Jude’s a grazer. He and his sister (Hazel) get two 3.5 oz tins of FF in the a.m./p.m. He eats quite a bit when I first put his food down, and then grazes for about 3-4 hours after that. It’s like he gets little mini-meals through a big part of the start of the cycle, which is ideal.

It takes them a bit when they first start on Lantus to come down.
 
Once you have your signature and spreadsheet set up and are relatively comfy with testing you can post here. Also picking which dosing method you'd like to follow so we can properly direct you.
Thanks Wendy! I was just reading them through and I believe we are on the SLGS method? As we are only giving 0.25.. we started on 0.5 but I didn’t feel comfortable enough shooting with his amps being that low, so now we are on 0.25.. holding for a week and see where we need to go from there :) still learning how kitty responds to the insulin
 
Thanks Wendy! I was just reading them through and I believe we are on the SLGS method? As we are only giving 0.25.. we started on 0.5 but I didn’t feel comfortable enough shooting with his amps being that low, so now we are on 0.25.. holding for a week and see where we need to go from there :) still learning how kitty responds to the insulin
I meant to ask also, sorry for all the questions.. other than dosing method is there anything else im missing in my signature? Or anything helpful to add
 
Back
Top