First curve - what's it tell me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stacia

Member Since 2014
Me with another question! Imagine that...

I'm doing Tasha's first curve today here at home. The vet said every 3 hours so that's what I've been doing. We're at +9 right now, leaving just her PMPS to complete it. I'm wondering what these numbers tell me.

AMPS: 279, gave .5u, fed 1/2 can Friskies pate
+3: 185
+6: 153
+9: 313/383

Everything looked ok to me until that +9. Maybe a little quick to drop from AMPS to +3. But how did she more than double in 3 hours? So I tested the other ear, thinking a misread on the glucometer. 383 in the other ear. Huh? Other than freeze-dried chicken treats at testing,she hasn't eaten since AMPS. That's our first pink on her SS (which is updated). :cry:

So what do these numbers show? I know based on yesterday, the vet will tell me it's proof I'm doing everything wrong and I should be listening to her, not the Internet. The vet's office closes for the day before PMPS and she isn't in tomorrow so I can run another curve tomorrow if there's any point.
 
Looks promising. It can take a couple of days at a constant dose to really see the full effect. I see no reason for a curve tomorrow.
I would take an about +6 in a few days unless yur preshots are vastly different that current ones.
 
To me, it shows the insulin is working. Not quite a 50% drop for nadir, but close. And maybe a nadir that is a little lower than previous ones. I don't know about the +9, but it's just one number, so I wouldn't be too concerned.

I agree with holding the dose another cycle or two to see if she drops more. If not, then increase by .25.

As far as the vet. She is responding as well to .5 as she did to that first shot at 2 units and one. Why would quadrupling or doubling the dose be a good idea? We'd expect a fast drop, into numbers that could be dangerous. IMHO, the best and safest way to do this is to start low and slowly increase, using the numbers to guide you. A higher dose could put her in danger and you scrambling to figure out how much to reduce.

Remember, she is your cat and you are her best advocate. And your first job is to keep her safe. If the vet wants to increase, I'd say that you will, slowly and carefully. How can anyone argue with that? If she was in dangerously high numbers, the vet would have more of a argument. But she isn't. And even if she was, it would still be safest to increase methodically.
 
Thanks for the help understanding what the curve is about. She was down a bit at PMPS - 307.

I know the vet is going to give me a hard time but I'm just going to keep going slow. I HATE those pinks on the chart today. But low and slow and gradual increases. And yes, she's not substantially different at .5 than at 2 so why give her quadruple the dose?

I think we're all done poking her ears for a bit after today. She's earned some time off. And so have I.
 
Some cats can have a bit shorter duration on ProZinc until they get to a good dose.

Some always have a shorter duration and may even need dosing every 8 hours (TID), or possibly a different insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top