First curve today; any feedback appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Very Active Member
Johnny's SS is linked below. I created a separate sheet within the document to chart today's numbers and make a line graph.

We'll be doing a reading in a little over an hour. I'm wondering if his numbers will really creep up high enough again to warrant the 2u shot. Suggestions welcome. If you suggest lowering the dose, could you explain a little more about how it might help? I'm still trying to wrap my brain around some of this stuff, specifically, how much his BG would be instantly affected after the shot.

Thanks!
 
Congrats, Johnny earned a dose reduction with that 48! :mrgreen: The new dose would be 1.75 units BID.

See the protocol here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

His BG will probably not be affected instantly after the shot. Often it takes a few cycles for any changes to show up. That means that if you reduce tonight, the shot tonight will still have some extra "oomph" behind it from the 2 unit shot this morning. That's why it is important to monitor carefully even when you decrease the dose.
 
According to the protocol, Johnny did indeed earn a dose reduction.

If you would post your numbers at +11.75 we can help you with what to do regarding tonight's shot. Please do not feed Johnny when you test. It may be that you will need to reduce the dose.

Can you get any spot checks in the evening cycle? Given how good his numbers are, you are going to need to test at night.
 

Attachments

  • 93377829_20.JPG
    93377829_20.JPG
    197.2 KB · Views: 81
  • 93377829_13.JPG
    93377829_13.JPG
    229.4 KB · Views: 87
Thanks for the replies! Just took a +11.85 ish number. It was 63. I'm all for stepping him down according to the protocol. But this number seems so low to me to introduce more insulin...I'm sorry, I feel like I'm being annoying, but I've read the protocol and agree, but I'm nervous as all get-out that I'm going to send him into hypo...

He ate 1/2ish can of FF between the 8 pm and 9pm numbers (before I saw the post to not feed). Still, I would think his numbers would have gone up by eating, instead it went from 76 to 63.
 
You do not have the data to shoot this low of a number. Please read the "Getting Data Ready" sticky -- that will help you to understand why I've been pushing you to get more spot checks.

With a low pre-shot number, you can stall for 15 min. and retest without feeding. If Johnny's numbers get to the 150 range, you should be OK to shoot providing you will get a +1 and +2 test, have plenty of strips in the house and have high carb food to steer the numbers if necessary.

Another option is to shoot a reduced dose. I don't think you have the data to do this with your current pre-shot number.
 
Sienne, thank you. I really appreciate this advice. I've re-read the sticky and agree that we need more data. We will be doing more spot checks each day to have a more complete picture. We're not going to do the shot tonight and are ready to start fresh in the a.m. We'll also do one or two more checks tonight to add a few more pieces to the puzzle.

This has been quite a learning curve and I really appreciate everyone's help. I feel like we were left out in the cold by our vet. It scares me that she recommended 2u twice a day and never once mentioned home testing. A few times, we could have really been in dangerous territory I think. Thanks for your honesty.
 
Hi Janice
What a beautiful green surf for Johnny today. Gorgeous green surf.
I totally understand how you feel about the vet but you are here now and will get the help you need for him here. Sadly, many vets just don't get it.

Keep filling up that SS. The more info you have the better. It is pretty scary the first time shooting a low number but it really is incredible getting our babies better. :-D
Looking forward to seeing what Johnny's number will be tomorrow being 24 hours without insulin.
 
I bet you can understand now how important those spot checks can be! Lots can happen over those 12hours and with no checks you just don't know. If you look at our ss for Shadoe or Oliver, you will see how the checks are important because they are both entirely different!

Don't you worry about asking questions; no matter what you question is, there has likely been more than one person who has had the same question. What they have learned, they can pass along to you. Later, what you have learned, you can pass along to the next person.

One of the stickys is all about having a hypo kit ready and it will help you to know that you are prepared in case it's needed. Print out the list of hypo symptoms and what is to be done. Be sure you have your high carb foods on hand as well so that you will be all ready for whatever happens.

Just be sure you don't let yourself be fooled by numbers coming from foods; it's important to hold foods for the 2hrs before shots so that you are getting true numbers. Then when you have that low number, you know it's not a food number.

Please know that you need to be comfortable with what ever you shoot - full dose, partial dose, or no shot at all. If you shoot less or even none, it's OK because while it's a setback, you can always make it up later.

So ask your questions, as many as you like, just keep them all in a single condo for each day.
Someone will be here to help you.
 
Thanks, Gayle! I took a look at the SS for Shadoe and Oliver. They really are so different. Like I've always said, each cat is their own "person"...kudos to you for the great job you're doing for them!

I'm taking all your advice to heart and feel better about the hypo. I just need to get some more data going. Thanks for chiming in! It is amazing what can go on in those 12 hours. Makes me sad to think of kitties whose parents don't find this place.

Thanks for the encouragement. I'm looking forward to paying everything I've learned forward. Just need a bit more time. I'm just so uncomfortable in the take-take-take position without being able to offer advice. Trying to cheer others on though. :)
 
Janice,
You are not take-take-taking. :-D
You are here to help Johnny so do not worry. Ask your questions, read, visit and learn.
Just stopping by and saying hi to others helps.
We are a family here.
 
First, I have to say that your kitty looks alot like my Oliver without the white! What a handsome kitty you have :lol:
Anyways, getting yourself ready with your hypo kit is no different than your having bandaids, aspirins, creams, ointments, and cough syrup in your own medicine cabinet.

Now, don't you worry about being take-take-take right now; just look on it as you're filling your experience and knowledge shed!

As for others not knowing about this place, well you just have to tell people you know! I am doing that all the time - I make sure people I know are informed about this place and also the signs and issues relating to FD. If you know others with kitties, talk to them and tell them about your experience. Their cats may not have problems but they may know others who do!

We all know it's rough to take it all in when you first find out and show up here, but in time, it's pretty much like any other regular chore you do day in and day out.
 
I have a wonderful vet here in Chicago. After I'd started home testing at my own initiative, I asked her why she didn't aggressively push people to do so. She said that frequently, when she brought it up, people were very apprehensive or dismissed it as too much work. They would rather bring the cat in for fructosamine levels and use that to guide dosing. She stopped pushing home testing. My vet has the link to Gabby's SS. The first time I brought in a hard copy, the vets and the techs at the practice were bowled over. They have never asked about my getting a fructosamine level -- it's unnecessary given the home testing (and I'm a devoted testaholic!). She's also comfortable with my making decisions about Gabby's dose. I have more information on Gabby's SS than she would have if she were running curves at the office or getting a fructosamine level. In addition, the amount of information that's available here and the knowledge of the experienced people can rival that of most vets when it comes to diabetes management.

I want to repeat a suggestion that Libby (one of the experienced people here) offered yesterday. Lantus likes consistency. Skipping doses, even though it may be for safety reasons, in the big picture, makes consistency difficult. It will help if you can find a dose you are comfortable giving twice a day. I don't know if 1.75u will be that dose. Most of our cats start on a dose lower than 2.0u. Usually, our starting dose is based on a cat's ideal weight. For a starting dose of 2.0u, a cat's ideal weight would be roughly 17 lbs. Johnny looks big in his photo -- but not that big!! I'm simply putting this out for your consideration. Please don't think I'm trying to twist your arm!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top