First curve done--now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Likameow

Member Since 2014
Ben and I just finished our first daytime curve. Went well until the last test when he jerked right as I was poking him. Now he's got a cut on his ear. Poor guy. I held pressure and then put some extra neosporin on it. Might have to switch to the other ear for a few days. (even though his left is the bleeder)

Anyway, now what do I do with this information? Can someone interpret in for me?

Thanks,
Lisa and Ben
 
Well, the curve shows his pattern of response to his insulin.

When did he go lowest? That is the nadir on that particular day (it can move around).

How low did he go?
- If below 50 mg/dL on a human meter or about 65 on a pet specific meter, that is too low and earns a 0.25 unit reduction.
- If above 150 mg/dL, he may need a dose increase.
 
I wonder if he might do well with a sliding scale. With the pink preshots, the .8 looks like it could be upped to one unit. I like your lower dose on the yellow preshot last night and then that might be a good dose for yellows.

Not sure why the amps is higher unless he drops at night and bounces for it. If you can, maybe get a number some night around +6-7. If he isn't bouncing, and the higher amps is a consistent pattern, you can shoot an 13/11 schedule with ProZinc. So shoot amps early at +11 (one hour earlier than you shoot now) to catch him a little lower and pmps at +13. The other thing to look at is whether giving him a little food in the middle of the night could help lower the amps. Is there a way to do that?
 
Thanks for the advice, Sue. I'm heading to my mom's for a few days but when I get back home, I'll try to get a night curve done and see if he is bouncing at night. I checked him at +6 last night and he was 301. This morning he was 499. I work 12 hour night shifts so a 13/11 schedule would only work on my days off. I could shut him in the bedroom with a FF snack for night time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top