First Blue AMPS - advice please!

TB25

Member
Morning all!

So, we got our first blue AMPS (9.9/178) this morning, with the first truly no-struggle test too! Should be happy but i’m a bit nervous.

Last nights PMPS was 20.1/362 so we gave him 3iu of insulin with his dinner. Food was same as previous few days. Got a +5 of 10.5/189 and went to bed.

I’m nervous because when I saw the blue this morning I made a decision to lower his insulin to 1iu because I thought 3iu might bring him too low on this new low number, but I’m now worried that might not have given him enough? From my understanding too little is better than too much?

He’s eaten his normal breakfast and I’m going to try and do a mini curve today and will be watching him closely.
 
I think lowering the dose was wise. It might well be too low a dose but you can increase by 0.25 u after 3 or 4 cycles. Get a +2 in the AM or PM after any increase to see what might be ahead in that cycle. A big drop can signal a lower than usual nadir BG. You're correct - too little is less of an immediate threat than a large overdose but you don't want to linger there long. That's why I'm suggesting a 0.25 u increase after 3 - 4 cycles if numbers warrant. Even though vets rarely suggest daily monitoring it's best to get a scattering of data over several days in the +3 to +8 part of the cycle whenever possible. It's the low numbers, NOT the PSs that tell you if a dose is a good one or not. The exception is a much lower PS - that's a sign of a dose that's likely too high.
 
Thanks @Kris & Teasel. Well we avoided a hypo but 1iu was a little low and we hit some high numbers at the end of the cycle (see SS), so we did 2.0 for his next three cycles and were rewarded with his best day yet- our first ever green!

Had 2 days of two-hourly testing too so feel like we learnt quite a bit too. His ears are a little sore though :-(.
 
Hurray for green! It's best, though, to increase the dose gradually by 0.25 u increments so you don't bypass what might be a good dose. The 2 u worked out for you but it's conceivable that 1.25 u, 1.5 u or 1.75 u might have been the good dose. You were lucky with that whole unit jump.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top