turbocat
Member Since 2012
So got our glucometer from Rebecca today, and tried it out. First, watched 3 videos and then tested it on myself and husband. Then I got everything set up and went and got the boy and we snuggled on the couch a few minutes while I rubbed his ear. He was purring and happy so I gave it a try. The first poke didn't result in anything, so I reset the pen thing and did it again and got blood. He never stopped purring so that was good. (When I tried it on myself I used the pen thing and also tried manually. The pen was much less painful so I used that on him.) So I have seen in different posts that there is a bit of a variance between pet and human meters. Any idea how much? For instance, this morning at the vet pre-shot and pre-feed was 356. When I tested at roughly +7 after shot it was 247. I would have thought it would be lower than that because he had 3 units of Prozinc. I am not sure I completely understand how insulin works. I have never had a diabetic family member or anything. Do you have to be on the insulin for a longer period of time and have it build up before it starts having consistent results, or is it like something that works quickly with a short half-life? Does this make any sense??? Not sure how to ask my questions. I have not yet consistently changed him over completely to canned food because I just got the meter today. But that is next on the list.