? First BG test successful, have questions

Cosmo

Member Since 2021
Hey there!
Cosmo was diagnosed last week and has been put on a 1.5U dose of Prozinc every 12 hours. We have been doing so very easily over the last days.
His BG reading from the lab was 32.4 (oy!) and was same at vets office (using AlphaTrakII)2 days later when we went to get the insulin and learn how to dose and do BG tests.

Cosmo has had the insulin AND his diet was changed to Purina DM (dry - until it runs out, 2 cats eating it) plus Weruva wet food at shot time. both cats will be on the low carb wet food once the dry is gone.

I just received my Bravo meter yesterday. Tried several times last night to get a sample but no luck. Cosmo was in a good spot for me to try again today at 6:15 (1 hour before he is due for his shot) and I had success! yay. His number was 11.7 (i put it in his spreadsheet).

Can someone help me figure out what to do next? From what I read here, his number is such that I can give him his shot. Ideally, I should be able to get another BG reading immediately before feeding and giving his evening shot - correct? and if it is HIGHER than 11.7, good to go with the shot?

Cosmo is getting the dose the vet put him on. I am somewhat reluctant to change his dose without the vet's input. Am I right to not change anything before discussing with vet?

Thanks for your help :))
 
SUCCESS again! got another reading pre food - 13.5. so I am comfortable giving him his dose. Unless someone here tells me otherwise?
 
Good job!

Quick question - are you withholding food for 2 hours before the preshot test? If so, then yes we generally say if the preshot is above 200 to give the shot.

As for changing the dose without vet input, totally up to you and your comfort level. However, if you're removing the dry you will need to adjust the dose each day, or you will risk hypo.

How many days worth of dry food do you have left? Before transitioning, it would be very helpful if you can get as many tests in as possible, especially in the +4 to +7 timeframe. This way we can see what the nadir is with the dry food involved, and know what a safe dose will be when transitioning.
 
Quick question - are you withholding food for 2 hours before the preshot test? If so, then yes we generally say if the preshot is above 200 to give the shot.

I have not been able to withhold for 2 hrs pre-shot because of work this week - will be able to do so on the weekend for sure! I don't want to leave him without food all day....

As for changing the dose without vet input, totally up to you and your comfort level. However, if you're removing the dry you will need to adjust the dose each day, or you will risk hypo.

How many days worth of dry food do you have left? Before transitioning, it would be very helpful if you can get as many tests in as possible, especially in the +4 to +7 timeframe. This way we can see what the nadir is with the dry food involved, and know what a safe dose will be when transitioning.

I still have a few weeks of the dry food left - gives me lots of time to get him into the routine of testing and shooting (particularly getting those +4 and +7 tests). Cosmo will have his 2 week check in with the vet in another 10 days so I will have info for the vet and be able to discuss the transition to wet - THANK YOU for the note!
I won't attempt the transition until I have done more reading here and asked more questions as they come up.

Thank you @FrostD, I appreciate the time!!
off to test and feed and shoot!!
Sara & Cosmo (and Sheila!)
 
Remember to test before every shot, the pre-shot test.
That is so you know Cosmo's BG is high enough to shoot.
 
Back
Top