Finished the SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
Hello,

I finally got a chance to mess with the spreadsheet. Makoto was diagnosed on 11/4 - although I didn't get the message until the 7th after working 4 overnights in a row. So, I ran around on that Friday trying to get everything he needed. I started his first dose of insulin in the morning on Saturday the 9th because his glucometer came in that day. I was originally only testing before and after meals and started increasing testing once I started feeding him lunches - Wednesday the 13th.I missed an AMPS test on the 12th somehow ....yikes. I think I was so late getting home from work that I just made sure he ate and gave the 1 unit. That won't become habit. Wednesday night, I also set up his automatic feeder to give him a small meal at midnight and Thursday the 14th was the first morning that his BG was not in the 400s ( and it hasn't been since). Saturday will be a week on the Lantus, but I was going to do his curve on Sunday because he has a recheck appointment on Monday and I have to work a few hours during the day. I had planned on checking values every 2 hours-3 hours for the 24 hours period, but my friend said with her cat since the dose was twice a day she did 12 hours. I would like to see some overnight values too so... We also discussed checking ear sticks vs paw pads to see if there was variation in the values for the curve

So far, he is eating the same canned food he was before- without his C/D now - Blue Wilderness Chicken recipe, Blue Wild Delights in chicken/trout and instead of the salmon he was getting I now have chicken/turkey in this food type also. I have added Purina Beyond Grain Free Duck and Sweet Potato ( for the liver ingredients ) and found Beyond Willd Quail, turkey Liver Pate ( with heart in it also) I will try. I used to give him the Purina Beyond indoor chicken and might rotate back to it, but that is a flavor he gets tired of quickly so I had recently phased it out- although I did have a few cans of the KITTEN formula that I gave him on the day he was diagnosed.
For snacks, he's been getting broiled dark meat (turkey), sliced turkey with his shots, and we just got the Pure Bites Raw Chicken and Liver treats in.
Whew ! I mostly just stopped the C/D dry he WAS getting for lunch and replaced all the fish flavors in our Blue stock with more poultry. He's also back on his fish oil for the winter at 800mg- he likes it as a gravy :)
He's not PU/PD anymore and I have been testing for Ketones since I got the strips on Wednesday. Still drinking well- I only see him at the fountain 3-4x a day instead of the 7-8 it was before which is better. The prince does still seem hungry all of the time but he is also cruising in the 300s most of the days. Makes me wonder...if he is so normal at 300- what will normal in the target range look like?
Sorry for the long post !
 
Well done getting the SS up and running.
Getting a curve done will tell us lots of information.
A 12 hour curve is fine but if you can get some pm tests in as well, all the better.
Always try and get a before bed test in. Cats often go lower at night.
If the BG is the same or lower than the Preshot than it will probably be an active cycle and you will need to set the alarm and get up and test later to make sure Makoto is safe.

If the vet wants to increase the dose on Monday after the curve, we recommend only increasing in 1/4 unit increments. That would take him up to 1.25 units. Most vets like to increase in 1 unit increments but that is too much for a cat and you may go past the best dose.
Please let us know how you get on.
 
Well done getting the SS up and running.
Getting a curve done will tell us lots of information.
A 12 hour curve is fine but if you can get some pm tests in as well, all the better.
Always try and get a before bed test in. Cats often go lower at night.
If the BG is the same or lower than the Preshot than it will probably be an active cycle and you will need to set the alarm and get up and test later to make sure Makoto is safe.

If the vet wants to increase the dose on Monday after the curve, we recommend only increasing in 1/4 unit increments. That would take him up to 1.25 units. Most vets like to increase in 1 unit increments but that is too much for a cat and you may go past the best dose.
Please let us know how you get on.

I am definitely not going up a full dose...I've seen too many cats crash after jumps like that and since my guy isn't as symptomatic, I'm more comfortable with conservative changes right now. I work overnights 4 days a week, so getting bedtime checks isn't possible for me as much. I am off for a week and have been trying to get them over the past few days. I actually did send a email to my boss letting him know that I either need to be able to leave work and come home for checks- or that I would have to change my schedule to work 11Pm- 7 am for a little while until his numbers level out a bit. I hate injecting him and then leaving. I can't imagine that if the dose does change that I will feel any better about it :/
 
Do you have an automatic feeder for Makoto?
They are invaluable for when you are not there. I would highly recommend you look at getting one.
 
Do you have an automatic feeder for Makoto?
They are invaluable for when you are not there. I would highly recommend you look at getting one.

I have one. I hadn't been using it for overnight meals, but I started using it on Wednesday last week which is when I actually started to notice better AMPS values. They were always 400s before then.
Just took another BG before his snack- 112. Will likely check it again in 2- 3 hours just to be on the safe side.
:)
 
I have one. I hadn't been using it for overnight meals, but I started using it on Wednesday last week which is when I actually started to notice better AMPS values. They were always 400s before then.
Just took another BG before his snack- 112. Will likely check it again in 2- 3 hours just to be on the safe side.
:)

Yes I would get another test in if you can.
Good to see the blue BG.
I’m glad you have an auto feeder and are using it overnight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top