Finally...success with home testing but super high numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brenda Thompson

Member Since 2017
OK...I finally got enough blood to test at home. Cleo's BG is 507 and I'm seriously considering feeding and giving insulin shot 2 hours early just cause she seems sick. The vet said to increase to 2 units instead of 1. Is it bad to give this much earlier if her numbers are so high??
 
What type of insulin is your cat on?
Some fast acting insulins like vetsulin require feeding about 30 minutes before giving a shot. You could also post on the forum for the insulin you are using. It helps to have as many eyes as possible so members can advise you.
 
Can I suggest also posting on the welcome page? Members often look there to be able to help those who who new to the FDMB board. We usually suggest starting with one unit of insulin but it really does depend on the type you are using and any other health issues your kitty may have
 
You've only joined a week ago, how long was she on 1.0U? How long was 2.0U? I wouldn't jump to 3.0U just yet, especially if this is all within a week.
 
We just started on 1 unit on Wed. of last week. We haven't even jumped to 2 yet. It was supposed to be tonight, but her numbers are so high, vet suggested 3 this evening and then 2 in the AM. I have to check her numbers in the AM and call them with the info.
 
We will be able to help more once you get some more BG data and a Spreadsheet set up :). I would not jump from 1.0U to 3.0U if you haven't even tried 2.0U at all. Whole unit increases may miss her ideal dose OR be too much and drive her too low, which is why we recommend increasing by 0.25U or 0.5U and holding for a couple days.
Here is the Spreadsheet instruction link, if you need help just ask: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

And have this, better to be prepared: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
 
My vet did the same thing when Smoky was diagnosed. He started him on two units of vetsulin which is a harsh insulin.
I'm glad I found this board when I did since the members here helped me to avoid a potentially dangerous hypo. His blood sugar dropped so low from too high a dose I really thought I was going to lose him. My vet didn't tell me anything about the possibility of this happening and strongly advised against home testing.
I have since found another vet who is willing to work with me although her bedside manner is a little rough.;)
 
Mine jumped my cat from 1u to 2.25 ProZinc in four days. Since I wasn't home testing yet I went along with it when my kitty came home from the curve test. He went down very low one day and I knew something was wrong. When I tested him in the morning his BG was only 85 and did not need any insulin at all. Had I not been here and starting to home test I would have continued shooting the 2.25 and would have possibly killed him.
 
We just started on 1 unit on Wed. of last week. We haven't even jumped to 2 yet. It was supposed to be tonight, but her numbers are so high, vet suggested 3 this evening and then 2 in the AM. I have to check her numbers in the AM and call them with the info.
It's good that you've kept the 1 unit dose so far. Getting up to 3 u after only a week is far too fast and too much. You need to see what this 1 u dose is doing and that means a curve - testing every 2 hours between AM and PM shots. I know this seems daunting but it's the only way to get a baseline.

There are a few possibilities:
  • 1 u dose is too low
  • 1 u dose is to high causing rebound hyperglycemia
  • there's an infection or other stressor raising BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top