FINALLY---Kitty AMPS 386

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Hopefully we are gettting the infection under control, the Ketones gone and falling back into a more normal pattern.

Now I can worry about the increased insulin dose being too high, once she gets back toher " normal". It is always something!!! ! But, I will take that worry today.

Kim
 
Yeah! You have everything ready? Ketone strips and something to put into the litter box in case you can't catch her in the act? High and low carb food?

I know it is hard to consider advice that might differ than your vet but I would be careful about the dose. She may need more insulin, but if you give the same dose they were giving at the vet, it very likely can be too high. Vet stress can raise bg levels 100 points in some cases. It will be a difficult balance at first, avoiding low and high numbers......If I were you, I would try to get a couple tests in right after she gets home so you have a real number to consider for your pm dose.
 
I purchased ketone strips last night. Please explain what I can get to put in the litter box and where I can purchase it.

I have high carb food and syrup.

I agree about the dose---I am thinking it is way high compared to where she was before this crisis. Considering she was only getting 2 units once a day and rarely was above 400 amps--it is hard to imagine she now needs 3 units twice a day. I will be testing frequently at home to be sure the dose is appropriate. I truly think 2 and 2 is where she should have been before the crisis.

So, what do I need to get for the litter box?

Thanks for all the help!

Kim and Kitty
 
Hi Kim (don't think I knew your name before :-D )

You can buy aquarium gravel. We always put Oliver in a room with the litter box with some, water and food. He couldn't stand the empty litter box and would go. The pee doesn't stick to the gravel. Other members here have mentioned torn up paper (seems like the pee could be absorbed....) and lentils (!) I haven't tried either. Lots of people can get a sample by stalking and then sticking a ladle under the stream - guess they can't stop once they start. But Oliver wouldn't even enter the box if we were lurking.
 
How often do you think I should check for Ketones? I am assuming daily until she is post DKA longer.
 
Kim-
SO glad to hear Kitty is coming home. Still sending hugs and prayers for you guys.

Also wanted to mention if Kitty isn’t shy about you being there when she uses her litter box, you can wave the ketone stick thingy right under her butt when she pees.
I know some cats are shy and you will have to use the paper or gravel and test after they pee, but my guys don’t care, so I just run down to the box right after Asher and do the quick wave.

All the best to ya!
:thumbup
 
YAY for Kitty coming home!

Like Donna, I just stick the strip under Sam when he's peeing. I can't let him see me lurking, tho, or he won't go. I have to hide behind the door. lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top