Fern week of 2/28 there you are bouncy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ferndoc

Active Member
Well he's as confusing as ever. Gave 3 units and 2 unites yesterday. The PM number was at 12.5 hours. Got a before bed reading and set the alarm for a 3 AM reading. It looks like he stayed low for most of the day and bounced back up for his AMPS.

AMPS of 396; I gave 3u-2 drops

Dropped down to 259 at +4 and then at just shy of +9 100. I guess I should have grabbed a number closer to the Nadir, should have/would have. At least I know he is feeling good. He was all about the where are my bonita flakes during the +9 test making the poke harder of course.
 
Glad he is feeling good. His numbers aren't bad. Maybe the +13 might work for tonight, with the +11 catching him a little lower tomorrow am?
 
Yeah, the only "problem" with that is since I'm home I'll be getting the we're starving looks for 3 cats when dinner doesn't appear until 7pm. Although I guess A snack at 4pm could lessen that issue.
 
Yes, a snack before that 2 hour window will help. I remember someone saying they got away from hungry ankle biters by taking a bath and locking the door. :p
 
Today 2/29, Fern was lower (366) AMPS so I only gave 2.5u. What I learned it needs to be at that 3u minus 2 drops or so as his PMPS was high at 396 so he was given a full 3u. He had dropped to 296 at +2.5 hours tonight. It'll be interesting to see the AM numbers.

I also realized work was even crazier at the end of the week than I was thinking about. I thought I was "only" going to miss Thursday's PM shot. I realized that I might miss 50%+ of the shots from Thursday to Sunday. So Fern is booked into the spa that is the vets office for the weekend. (His civve bros will get some kibble thrown down and the box clean out when I can stop by home Friday sometime and hopefully I'm home before 6pm on Sunday so Fern doesn't have to stay at the Vets until Monday.) I kind of decided on the vet route to see if somewhat late scheduling with the vets will work. (I don't get much lead time on a lot of my work trips)

I made the arrangements before calling the cats Grandparents who of course said well we (meaning your father) would have come. I did not want to assume they are across the state (2 hours away) so it's not like they just stop by in the AM and the PM. I have been told to ask them first in the future. Before meds they did spend most of July-October at my house since work was crazy but again I told them I didn't want to assume. Hopefully Fern won't be too stressed out at the vets. He'll be on the boarding side this time instead of the Medical and allowed out into the play room daily. (All 3 will be there in April when I'll be gone for a weekend with my mom and sister.)
 
I know it will be stressful with Fern at the vet - he is most likely to be fine; it'll be harder for you. You might leave him an unwashed tee shirt of yours for him to sleep on, the food you want them to feed him and written directions for shots/food that you can post on his cage. His numbers are high enough that your present dosing should work. Once you get home, you can get more aggressive with dosing.
 
I agree with Sue. All should be fine. Fern will have care and they will be able to handle anything that happens. It's nice that you can board him with his vet so at least you know they are familiar with him.
 
Overall my vet's office is decent. His current dosing is about what the vet thinks I give him with me dosing at a bit lower than 250 and being a bit more aggressive on the low end. One of the techs has a sugar kitty herself but I think she falls into the well I work at the vets office syndrome and is not as aggressive as those here but we mainly talked at diagnosis so it might have been the don't scare the newbee.

Fern is one of those cats who kind of turns inward when he is stressed so I expect he will just sleep a lot. I could have boarded all 3 so he'd have friends but honestly I'd then be a lot more stressed about one of my civvies who tends to have such a racing heart at the vets it might cause him a heart mummer.
 
Found out I will be doing mostly long days but sleeping at my house except for 1 night. So I canceled the vet. I figure 1 skipped shot is better than 4-5 days at the vet.

Of course now I have 3 cats saying we are starving because someones 12 hour PMPS reading was 149 and we are stalling until the 13th hour.
 
I was really happy to have another low 300 number this morning. And surprised. I was thinking it would have been higher. Welp, that was this PM 497. And here I thought we were finally getting into a rhythm. We were are +13 today due to necessity so we shall see tomorrow.
 
On cycles like today, you really have no way of knowing what happened - was there an earlier nadir and then a bounce? I'd just figure you're keeping him safe till you have the time to get enough data to know what to do
 
3/3 AMPS 180. giving 1.5u which I feel comfortable with even with the lower number based on his recent past. I think I am good to always give a max of 3u-2 drops now. I have some 100u syringes with 1/2 markings coming from AWD so will likely use them to give a max of 2.8u once they arrive. So overall we at least have seen to have found our maximum needs and are coming back down.
 
3/4 Fern is having an awesome day. Both AM and PM are Yellow. First time Ever. Now I wish I knew for sure what dose I gave him in the at when he was 281. It was either 3u-2 drops or 2.5u. I thought I recorded it but didn't. This afternoon 214 so I went with 2u-2 drops (which made it just above 1.5) PM shot was at about +12.5 again.
 
Looking good! It looks like 3 units worked well for 386 and 2.5 was great for 281 ( or whatever you gave). We will guess he needed an increase. :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top