Felix, 3/17, PMPS 150, +3 143, AMPS 320, +3 328

Felixkitty

Member Since 2017
Hi! I’m pretty sure my kitty is due for a dose increase next cycle just wanted to make sure as this will be his highest dose? (This is assuming he’s doesn’t go low today, which I doubt. He seems to dip early in the cycle)

Also, he’s bouncing a lot - could this be a Somogyi effect or just bouncing as he hits lower numbers (my husband mentioned this possibility - he’s a medical dr - but not vet & obviously a cat is different than a human but that is why I mention it)? Early on in his diabetic treatment, the vet was pretty sure that’s what happened (Somogyi effect) But I’m almost positive it was before he was on Lantus (he was in Vetsulin initially for less than 6 months)

@Bandit's Mom - What do you think as you prob know my cat the best & have been extremely helpful




Previous thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-9-felix-pmps-222-2-127-3-60-3-5-39.244424/
 
Last edited:
could this be a Somogyi effect
No, Somogyi is an old vet's tale - based on research in the early 1900's on a small number of humans with fast acting insulin. None of which is relevant to cats on long lasting insulins. The paper disproving it is here: Rebound hyperglycaemia in diabetic cats.pdf

What you are seeing is bouncing. Some cats are just bouncier than others. I would see how he dose the rest of today, but if you don't see any greens by tomorrow, increase again. You may need to play with feeding early in the cycle somewhat, to try to prevent him from those fast drops. If you see a fast drop at +2, like you did at the PM cycle of 3/9, try slowing down his drop with some slightly higher carb food, either higher LC (8-9%) or some medium carb food. We call this technique Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
Thank you! I sorta figured that about the Somogyi effect but my husband thought maybe. I usually feed him at +3 but I’ve started trying to test at +1 & +2. The feeding the curve was suggested to me after the 3/9 earlier as well, hopefully he starts actually dropping some - I just tested this evening & he went from 183 at PMPS to 238 at +2, I’m guessing no greens tonight. I’ll plan on raising his dose tomorrow.

Can I ask you, was I correct in increasing the dose the last time after 7 cycles?
 
Can I ask you, was I correct in increasing the dose the last time after 7 cycles?
Yes. If following TR, after a reduction is earned we wait for the bounce to clear before deciding if the reduction is holding. If after the bounce is gone there are green, the reduction held. If not, the reduction failed. Reductions take up to six cycles to clear and you didn't see green, so good call on the subsequent increase.
 
Yes. If following TR, after a reduction is earned we wait for the bounce to clear before deciding if the reduction is holding. If after the bounce is gone there are green, the reduction held. If not, the reduction failed. Reductions take up to six cycles to clear and you didn't see green, so good call on the subsequent increase.

kk good, thank you! (I’m trying to follow the TR as much as possible)
 
Back
Top