Feisty feline issues - hypo, libre, testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

rowena

Member Since 2019
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Misty still has not peed and she's now hiding under my bed. She ate more Whiskas into which I put water. I googled and it said they could go for 48 hours without peeing. She hasn't come out all day, so I haven't been able to apply the libre or test her. I am stuck on the phone to centrelink at the moment and have been for an hour. I will try to tempt her out with a broth when I finish this. I'm starting to wonder if something else is going on with her. Are there any common diseases or ailments that cause lows/what's happened to her? Cancer? I really don't want to have to take her back to a vet and, of course, its the weekend again.
 
Just seeing this.
Can you put her into the kitty litter and see if she pees.
Can you shut her out of where she’s hiding.?
I’m a bit concerned you haven’t been able to test her with the AMPS of 189

don’t overthink things. I think it is most likely she is just out of routine.
I’ll be around for a few hours yet so tag me if you need help.
 
Misty came out from under the bed. I tried to do a +6 test, but had problems. The first time the poke took too long, so the machine turned off. I had to get another strip and Misty doesn't like the sound of the container, so I had to go downstairs. I went back up and poked her again, but initially couldn't get enough blood, then did, but had an error with the strip. The third time the same thing happened and now Misty is back under the bed. I've failed.

I feel like I'm back to square 1, ie where I was at diagnosis. I can't emotionally do any more testing or put on the libre or take her to the vet for them to put it on. I think I will just give her 0.75u am and pm and do urine tests as much as possible for 3 days, then up to 1u if there's still glucose in the urine. It's better than euthanasia, but not as bad as how we are living now. I can't envisage doing TR or go slow. I had high hopes for a while there.

Thank you everyone for your help and caring. Some people and cats just can't be helped.
 
First and foremost you are definitely NOT a failure. It is frustrating when our kitties don’t cooperate.
Are you still feeling bad from the covid booster? It’s very hard coping with anything when you feel unwell.
You are definitely not back at square one. But I think you are probably very exhausted from the last several days.
It is just not good enough that the vets have failed you so miserably over the past week.
Are there any good vets in Maitland? That’s not too far from where you are.
Maybe they could put on the libre for you. If you could just get the libre on it would solve a lot of problems and you would be in a much better place.
See how you feel in the morning after some sleep.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks for your patience. I couldn’t get a mid cycle test again, but was excited to get a pre shot test (14.9). I also got a urine sample - no ketones and the second highest glucose.
I am feeling a lot better today re the booster and emotionally. Not 100%. Thanks.
I was excited this morning when making my coffee to feel Misty rub on my legs. She was up! She ate, toileted, went outside for a short while, then back under the bed. Then at 11.30am she was downstairs again. She ate, was tested and went outside. I gave her the shot and she’s sitting on her chair outside - in spite of the wind. I feel this is major progress.
 
FANTASTIC!!:cat::D:)
Well done getting the preshot. She’s looking good with the 0.75 units.
And really good to see no ketones in the urine.
It certainly sounds like major progress with Misty. What a good girl. It is windy here as well but it’s lovely in the sun if you can find a sheltered spot.
I’m sure she is feeling better after a few very unpleasant days for her.
I’m so glad you are feeling a lot better today as well.:bighug:
 
If she is not peeing and drinking lots of water then surely this means that she is not hyperglycaemic? I think it looks like you are doing a fantastic job Rowena! We have had an awful afternoon with the Libre sensor. I would put it on yourself. The videos are really good. The vet nurse injured Benny today by messing up sensor application (limb injury). You should be kind to yourself! It will be ok. Keep an eye on behaviour for the hypos. Humans have them a lot and that is why they invented the sensors. You will get good data for 2 weeks and be able to see if there is anything going on.
 
If she is not peeing and drinking lots of water then surely this means that she is not hyperglycaemic? I think it looks like you are doing a fantastic job Rowena! We have had an awful afternoon with the Libre sensor. I would put it on yourself. The videos are really good. The vet nurse injured Benny today by messing up sensor application (limb injury). You should be kind to yourself! It will be ok. Keep an eye on behaviour for the hypos. Humans have them a lot and that is why they invented the sensors. You will get good data for 2 weeks and be able to see if there is anything going on.
Poor Benny and poor you. That’s dreadful. I hope he feels better.
I have lost confidence in being able to put it on myself because she has improved so much today, she will be so much more feisty. She’s been behaving her normal self. She doesn’t like being held at all. I have a busy morning, but may try tomorrow afternoon.
Each time I manage a poke test I feel like it’s a miracle. She won’t let me do them mid cycle at the moment, but let’s me pre-shot so far (hope I have not jinxed it).
 
I was a bit disappointed that her PMPS was 18.7 tonight. I was hoping we were out of the pink. We shall see what tomorrow brings.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Today Misty was a bit more inactive, but the weather hasn’t been very good, so that may have deterred her from going outside. I couldn’t get a mid cycle reading again. I tried. No ketones in urine.
I now need to decide whether to take her to the vet in the morning to stay probably for several hours, be sedated and have the libre applied, or keep going as I am, which means she will probably only allow me to do preshot tests. Is that enough data to go on?
I feel at least getting some testing done is a greater chance of preventing a low than nothing, but it may be harder to get the correct dose. She seems higher over the last 24 hours. I’d be happier if she could stay in the blue. What do you think? I don’t want to disrupt her recovery, but if it will help ultimately her recovery longer term, I will do it.
 
Mmmmm. That’s a hard one. it’s great you are getting the preshot BGs, but not knowing the nadir makes it tough.
The thing is we don’t know if she is going up a bit higher because she needs more insulin or because she is dropping lower and bouncing.
Yes it would be better if she stayed in blue.
Do you think there is any chance you could get a couple of tests in around +5 or 6 at some point? What about at night when she’s sleeping, can you do the test while she’s relaxed?
Is there any way they can put on the libre without sedation.? If they need to sedate her can’t they do a light sedation where you could collect her shortly afterwards. I’m just thinking aloud. I certainly don’t think it’s a good idea for them to keep her all day and not feed her.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I just went to my bedroom to get a jacket and she woke up and was very smoochy. I got her a broth and got a reading of 15.4 at +6.5.
This is telling me that she's not bouncing. I know it's a one off and I will keep trying at around +6, but that doesn't seem to coincide with Misty's cooperation very often.
As for the vet, she'd have to be there for a long time because the appointment is in the middle of clinic time (I made the appointment before all this happened and its with my regular vet who has been on holidays. She has no experience with a libre), so they wouldn't get to her for a couple of hours. I think even if they offered her food, she wouldn't eat it and she wouldn't drink. I was thinking maybe I could just ask the vet to help me do it in the consult room. Trouble is, Misty will be heightened before we even go in. My gut is telling me to cancel, but Misty is already shaven. I'll keep pondering. Thanks for your thoughts.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
I just went to my bedroom to get a jacket and she woke up and was very smoochy. I got her a broth and got a reading of 15.4 at +6.5.
This is telling me that she's not bouncing. I know it's a one off and I will keep trying at around +6, but that doesn't seem to coincide with Misty's cooperation very often.
As for the vet, she'd have to be there for a long time because the appointment is in the middle of clinic time (I made the appointment before all this happened and its with my regular vet who has been on holidays. She has no experience with a libre), so they wouldn't get to her for a couple of hours. I think even if they offered her food, she wouldn't eat it and she wouldn't drink. I was thinking maybe I could just ask the vet to help me do it in the consult room. Trouble is, Misty will be heightened before we even go in. My gut is telling me to cancel, but Misty is already shaven. I'll keep pondering. Thanks for your thoughts.
Sorry I am just getting back to you.
Well done getting the +6 test in…….you are becoming a dab hand at this!
The 15.4 (277) actually could be a bounce. She could have dropped lowish yesterday morning and started to bounce at the pm preshot and still be bouncing.
It’s also possible that the 0.75 is not enough insulin. Only some more testing will tell us that.

I think getting the vet to put it on in the consult room with you there helping is a very good idea. I don’t think having to sedate her and leave her there all day when she won’t eat is a good idea at all. Can you put a cover over the carrier so she can’t see what is happening? . Have you tried a feliway spray? It could calm her down.
Anyway I think you have made a lot of progress and you are doing really well with the testing. :)
 
Thank you for the compliments.
She has now been on 0.75u for 6 doses. If she continues in the yellow mid cycle and/or pre shot during this cycle, should I increase to 1u? I think the vet will say yes. I have emailed them the spreadsheet, but they probably won't have a clue how to read it anyway.
I still haven't decided about the appointment. I am all doom and gloom at night, so I will see how I feel in the morning.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
See above message, plus she had a bit of food 1.5 hours before the test, so I'm not sure if that has affected the reading very much. I know she isn't meant to eat for 2 hours and I've been careful about it up to now. The same may have happened with the previous pre shot test because I was out and left a small amount of food, but who knows when she ate it, as I was out for 5 hours. It's been a bit of a mixed up day.
 
Well done getting those 2 mid cycle tests in. With those, I think you can increase to 1 unit.
If you can continue to get a test at Preshot and a test at a lot of the mid cycles, I think you could do without the libre at the moment. If you can continue like you are for a week or two, then you can revisit the libre issue. Just my thoughts but you must do what you think best. I think you are managing really well
 
Rowena, here is a photo of how short the hair is clipped or Benny's sensor applied Yesterday.
 

Attachments

  • Benny libre 6.2.22.jpg
    Benny libre 6.2.22.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 109
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top