


...This dance is tough on both us beans AND our kitties! We are very numbers oriented here at FDMB, so sometimes it is hard to forget the big picture and what really is most important: how a kitty is actually feeling and doing. It sounds like Frankie is feeling pretty good, and that is a huge thing when it comes to treating FD!
With that said, since you are following TR, you can be a little more aggressive with your increases until you do consistently start seeing better nadirs. If Frankie sits in higher numbers for too long, his body will think these numbers are normal and therefore it will become harder to find that magical breakthrough dose. This is from the TR stickie at the top of the forum here:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You could start increasing every 6 cycles until you hit the breakthrough, keeping in mind that you may need to monitor just a little more in case you suddenly hit that magical dose!
Another possibility and/or option is that, since Frankie is a longer-term diabetic, you can use the "Three under 68AT" rule for giving reductions. It seems that Frankie doesn't hold reducies too well right now, so you can wait until he drops under 68AT three times before taking the reduction, rather than giving the reduction after just one drop under 68AT.
Also remember that you are not alone....many other folks here have been in your shoes, too. We all understand, we've all had the FD frustrations. Take comfort in that - vent as you need, ask for help as you need...we are here for you!