Feeding the diabetic and OTJ cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ang

Member Since 2017
So, why is it not recommended to feed our diabetic or formerly diabetic cats more frequent, smaller meals?
I would think [and what do I know?] that spreading out their caloric intake over the 24 hours, vs 2 large meals would mean that their BG level would hold steadier?
Info?
 
I've never heard it's not recommended. Both can eat all they want, with your diabetic you just have to time it so you test his BG before a meal and before injecting insulin, the non-diabetic can eat to his heart's content anytime. LOL
 
My understanding is that the rule to eat 2 larger meals was an earlier way of thinking about it, but now the general recommendation is to either free feed, or feed several smaller meals. The only time food is withheld is the two-hour window just prior to the pre-shot tests.
 
I've never heard it's not recommended. Both can eat all they want, with your diabetic you just have to time it so you test his BG before a meal and before injecting insulin, the non-diabetic can eat to his heart's content anytime. LOL

Is an Diabetic who is now OTJ considered non-diabetic?
And my cat is considered overweight to feeding as much as he wants seems counter-intuitive, esp considering the diabetes?
 
My understanding is that the rule to eat 2 larger meals was an earlier way of thinking about it, but now the general recommendation is to either free feed, or feed several smaller meals. The only time food is withheld is the two-hour window just prior to the pre-shot tests.

That withoholding pre shot's, is that for any treatment protocol/insulin?
The way I was treating was to test, feed, and treat only if his BG was >150 [he was on Lantus]
 
Cats who are in remission are considered diet-controlled diabetics. It can come back at any time, especially if they are allowed higher carb food again, or get an infection or other health problem. Or sometimes just because....

If your cat is overweight, you can calculate his calories based on his ideal weight, and then spread that out over the day. But yes, if he needs to lose weight, you would want to limit the total calorie intake, and try to increase his exercise.
 
Did you mean test/feed/shoot? Or did you mean test/feed/treat?

If you meant test/feed/shoot, then yes, that's the order. The withholding of food is just before the "test" part of that. As soon as the test is done, you want them to eat before the shot. On some insulins, that is more important than others. I'm not sure on Lantus, but I know they have very clear protocols, so you could ask in the Lantus forum, or check their stickies for insulin-specific information.

You just don't want them to eat in the two hours before the test/feed/shoot cycle because you want the pre-shot number to not be influenced by recent food (which often raises the BG). That's probably less important on lantus since the insulin is longer acting (hopefully someone who knows that insulin will chime in later to clarify).
 
To add onto Djamila's post #6.

The general formula for calories needed is:
Cat's weight (or desired weight in lbs) x 13.6 + 70 = Required calories per day

If he needs to lose weight this will tell you how many kcals he should eat and you can divide that by however many feedings he gets in a day :). Can also be used to find out how much to feed a cat that needs to gain weight ;)
 
I think the twice a day feeding thing is a remnant of the time when the only insulins available for cats were the fast acting, hit hard types. A good meal had to be on board before injecting.
 
Is an Diabetic who is now OTJ considered non-diabetic?
And my cat is considered overweight to feeding as much as he wants seems counter-intuitive, esp considering the diabetes?
A diabetic will always be diabetic even in remission so you do need to keep an eye on his weight. Smaller numerous meals through the day would be alright. Again just keep an eye on his weight.
 
A diabetic will always be diabetic even in remission so you do need to keep an eye on his weight. Smaller numerous meals through the day would be alright. Again just keep an eye on his weight.
So, when you wrote [below] you were calling the OTJ cat a Diabetic? You were not saying that the OTJ was the nondiabetic?
I think that confused me because in my query I didn't mean to ask about a non-diabetic cat, but I guess one on insulin and one OTJ.

'I've never heard it's not recommended. Both can eat all they want, with your diabetic you just have to time it so you test his BG before a meal and before injecting insulin, the non-diabetic can eat to his heart's content anytime. LOL '
 
OTJ means Off The Juice - it refers to a diet-controlled diabetic cat who is no longer receiving insulin (insulin = the juice) since their numbers are now in the healthy range.

A cat that has never been diabetic, we usually refer to as a civvie which is short for civilian - a cat who lives in our home, but isn't part of all of this feline diabetes stuff.
 
So, when you wrote [below] you were calling the OTJ cat a Diabetic? You were not saying that the OTJ was the nondiabetic?
I think that confused me because in my query I didn't mean to ask about a non-diabetic cat, but I guess one on insulin and one OTJ.

'I've never heard it's not recommended. Both can eat all they want, with your diabetic you just have to time it so you test his BG before a meal and before injecting insulin, the non-diabetic can eat to his heart's content anytime. LOL '

Sorry about the confusion... If you have two diabetic cats, one in remission (OTJ) and one still actively being injected that does change things a little. For the one in remission you still want to feed low carb food and keep an eye on his weight so he doesn't fall out of remission. For the one still getting injections, you also want low carb food and time the meal before his test and shot so it's at least 2 hours before so the test results aren't skewed by food. Other than that you can feed them both several small meals throughout the day, what ever works best for you and them.
 
Well thanks. He's actually started 'grazing' on his own.
I was thinking more frequent, smaller meals that did not go beyond his total calories/ day was a good way to insure his natural sugar levels would stay more even.
And of course sometimes I overthink things too, soo.....

But I kept to the 2x/day feeding we were doing when he got first Dx'd and injected and after a few days of eating it ALL, he's started to graze on it instead. So he's getting more frequent, smaller meals, without me having to do the work of doling it out. Thanks Meow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top