Feeding mistake

Status
Not open for further replies.
At 3am I saw his BG was 88. I'm so use to seeing readings in the 5.6,7 hundreds that I had a lapse in judgement and fed him the other cats high carb kibble to make sure it didn't drop lower. How much damage, if any, did I do?
 
At 3am I saw his BG was 88. I'm so use to seeing readings in the 5.6,7 hundreds that I had a lapse in judgement and fed him the other cats high carb kibble to make sure it didn't drop lower. How much damage, if any, did I do?

we al have made mistakes along the way with our furr babies, in order for you to handle low BG s such, you need to have handy what is called a HYPO KIT, this should contain - KARO syrup Honey, some Medium carb foods between 11-15% also some High Carb food between 16-24%(gravies) this is only when the Bg is very low, I use ProZinc the procedure on how low it can be I am not familiar, but normally, you would began by giving tsps at a time every 1/2hour, test and repeat, until the BG is in a safe number, again too low, would be the % of carbs you feed, KARO and Honey are a quick fix to avoid Hypoglycemia, I will tag a few knowledgeable member on Lantus, so they can help you with the correct procedure for the BG numbers and on dosing, also when the Hypo kit is to be used and how, but a HYPO KIT should be handy with a diabetic cat. like what are you feeding is important, most members enjoy Fancy Feast Pates, Diabetic cats need to consume a diet between 0-10% carb wet can foods:bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
First of all, congrats on catching that 88! That explains why you've been seeing some of the bouncy higher numbers. If you are still feeding him the Epigen 90 as part of his regular diet, the dry food means reducing his dose by 0.25 units whenever they go under 90.

No long term damage to giving the higher carb food. He'll have some higher numbers for a couple days. Any chance you can switch the other cat to the lower carb dry too? It'll be better for the other cats too, and make it easier to ensure Toby isn't getting into contraband.

I'm pretty sure most of us over reacted to low numbers at one point or another. I've even seen someone give a tablespoon of karo. I'm sure that was a sticky mess. :p Typically a drop will do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top