Feeding and testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rochelle

Member Since 2017
Today is my and Eddie's first day. We went to the vet this morning to see how to test the glucose. His reading was 515. I gave him his first dose of Lantus, 1 unit, at the scruff. At that time, the vet assistant told me she would call me later to tell me how often to test and when to dose. I don't have a glucometer yet, but will buy one in the morning. Vet tech called this afternoon and said to inject and feed at the same time and test 2 hours after. This morning she said to give the doses 12 hours apart. What if that doesn't coincide with the feeding times?

The current schedule for feeding is 5:30 am and 4:00 pm. I would not be here to test at 7:30. Should I give him the Lantus at those times even though they are not 12 hours apart? What if he gets hungry in the evening? Lately I have been feeding him whenever he asks but he has been hungry because of having diabetes and I didn't know it so not sure when he's going to want to eat now.

Also, I don't quite understand how to fill out the spreadsheet. Where should I post a question about that?

In some people's signature line I see the abbreviation OTJ. What does that mean?

Thanks all. Rochelle
 
Hi Rochelle.

OTJ is off the juice meaning the cat is in remission and no longer receiving insulin. He/she is still "diabetic" but being controlled with diet.

Generally it is recommended here to test AMPS (AM preshot so before feeding and giving insulin), PMPS, and somewhere mid cycle to see how low the insulin dose is taking the BG. I use a different insulin so others familiar with Lantus will answer specifically. For my insulin I test, feed, shoot at 6am and 6pm. I also feed another meal at +8 which is my time 2pm (8 hrs from 6am). The only reason it is at +8 is because our dogs receive a meal then and Morris wants to also.
If Eddie is hungry in the evening you can feed him then. Just don't feed him 2 hours before testing his BG because the number you get will be influenced by the food.

You can post your question about the spreadsheet in this same forum. If you need help setting it up, we can help you do that.
 
Maybe it doesn't matter at this point, but since I fed him this morning at 6:30 and then his first BG test was at 8:30, what would a reading of 515 indicate? Would the food he ate earlier make his reading higher?

Later in the day, I fed him as usual at 4:00 but hadn't heard from the vet tech yet so I didn't know to give him his shot then. I gave it to him at 5. I'm nervous that I'm going to do this wrong and hurt him, not with the shot, but with my ignorance.
To clarify what you said Pati, you feed at 6 am and shoot, then feed at 2 pm (no shoot), then feed and shoot at 6 pm?

On my spreadsheet which I posted, I was confused about where to record the 515 reading. I put it under AMPS. Is that right? Do the number ranges at the top correspond to the columns or is that a guideline. It seems like you enter the BG in the +2 column if you took the test 2 hours after feeding. Is that correct?

I don't know how often to test starting out. Is there a point at which things settle into a routine or do you just have to stay loose with it.
 
The current schedule for feeding is 5:30 am and 4:00 pm. I would not be here to test at 7:30. Should I give him the Lantus at those times even though they are not 12 hours apart?

What we suggest is that you Test/Feed/Shoot....all within 5-10 minutes....you Test (to make sure they're high enough for insulin at all), Feed (to make sure they're not sick and at least willing to eat) and Shoot

With Lantus, it's not necessary that they eat a certain amount before the shot....it doesn't "kick in" for usually 2-3 hours so you have time to get food into Eddie

It IS important that the shot stay as close to every 12 hours as possible...Lantus craves consistency

As for feeding, the only time it's really important that Eddie not eat is for the 2 hours immediately before Test/Feed/Shoot times....we want the Pre-shot test without any influence of food.....other than those 2 hours, you can feed anytime.....with one caveat.....some cats do better if they get most or all of their food before nadir.....after that, the insulin is starting to wear off and feeding can "slam the brakes" on the insulin. "Nadir" is the lowest point in the cycle....usually around +4 to +7

On your spreadsheet, the AMPS is the AM Pre-shot....the test you should get immediately before feeding/shooting in the morning....then if you get more tests in later, they go in the "+" columns.....if you test again 3 hours after the shot, that test result would go in the +3 cell.....if you test 8 hours after the shot, that result goes in the +8 cell.....all the way up to +11 and then you're on the PMPS cycle (PM Pre-shot)

I noticed you have the "World" spreadsheet but it looks like you live in the US. The "World" spreadsheet is designed for people who live in other countries than the US. It's not a terribly important detail, but it might be better to start out on the correct version of the spreadsheet. If you'd like some help, I'd be happy to help you with it. Just click on my name and choose "Start Conversation" to send me a private message
 
I don't know how often to test starting out. Is there a point at which things settle into a routine or do you just have to stay loose with it.

You always test before shooting....after that, we'd like to see at least a mid-cycle (+4 to +7) on the AM cycle (if you can get one) and a "before bed" test at night....most cats go lower at night, so it's important that you get that test in to make sure Eddie will be safe overnight.

There's really no such thing as "too much" testing, but you need to get at least 3 tests in (2 Pre-shot tests and a "before bed" test) each day.

Think of your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle....if you only have a few pieces filled in, it's hard to determine what the picture is, but if you have pieces (tests) sprinkled all over, the picture becomes clearer, sooner
 
To clarify what you said Pati, you feed at 6 am and shoot, then feed at 2 pm (no shoot), then feed and shoot at 6 pm?

Correct.

On my spreadsheet which I posted, I was confused about where to record the 515 reading. I put it under AMPS. Is that right? Do the number ranges at the top correspond to the columns or is that a guideline. It seems like you enter the BG in the +2 column if you took the test 2 hours after feeding. Is that correct?

Correct. 515 for AMPS. Then the next space is how much insulin you gave. Then if you tested at 6 hours from the AM injection you would put the BG number in the +6 space.

I don't know how often to test starting out. Is there a point at which things settle into a routine or do you just have to stay loose with it.[/QUOTE]

For sure AMPS and PMPS and once mid way through the cycle. If you work you might do a mid cycle test on your days off. You could grab a before bed test when you can. Sometimes you test more because you are trying to see how a dose is dropping BG. I am testing tonight for example because Morris has not been going lower at night. I am trying to see if there is a pattern.
 
Okay, trying to take it all in. I'm sad about this. I'm glad there's a treatment, glad you're all here. I think I'll feel better once I get some tests under my belt and can see where he's at and how exactly the insulin is working. It's all a mystery right now even though I read everything on this forum yesterday and today. Will switch up my spreadsheet to the right one tomorrow.
 
Okay, trying to take it all in. I'm sad about this. I'm glad there's a treatment, glad you're all here. I think I'll feel better once I get some tests under my belt and can see where he's at and how exactly the insulin is working. It's all a mystery right now even though I read everything on this forum yesterday and today. Will switch up my spreadsheet to the right one tomorrow.
I cried on and off for 24 hours when my cat was diagnosed. I was devastated not only that she was sick but mourned the impact it would have in my family's life. It got better. We learned to work around her schedule and even went away on a short getaway. It gets easier!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top