feeburt amps 357 +3 311 +5 397 PMPS 544 +4 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly and Spaceman

Active Member
This is the lowest preshot I have gotten so far. I decided to keep his dose at 2U for now. I won't be home for PM shot (unless it starts snowing) so BF will be doing it. I will be home for a while to do some checks and will decide about a raise for tonight based on what I see. How does that sound?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7076

Finally some action. I may actually get to see some yellow today.

Ok...what happened? I guess he will get a dose increase tonight.

WTH...Oh well. I guess we will see what tomorrow brings. Raised to 2.5U
 
Re: feeburt amps 357

ShellyandCosmo(GA)andFeeburt said:
This is the lowest preshot I have gotten so far. I decided to keep his dose at 2U for now. I won't be home for PM shot (unless it starts snowing) so BF will be doing it. I will be home for a while to do some checks and will decide about a raise for tonight based on what I see. How does that sound?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=9&t=7076

hi Shelly

does DBF do testing? will he be able to get a preshot test if ur not home?

if u can, post updates as u go, up until u have to leave and we'll see what others suggest.
 
Re: feeburt amps 357

BF tests. He's a good one! he was here the entire time for Cosmo. My last job had me traveling and he did great with Cosmo. He has not yet had to test Feeburt. I hope he does ok. Cosmo had thicker ears and poor Feeburt has some thin, flimsy ears and I end up poking myself through the ear about half the time.
Feeburt seems to feel much better today. He got a good drop between +3 and +4 last night. I'm hoping that he does well today. He was NOT happy last night and it made me miserable that I couldn't do anything for him. I have experience using R with Cosmo and PZI but I'm not ready to do that yet... Although I was tempted to last night just to make him feel a better. At least the kittens are staying off of him. They seem to be obsessed with attacking each other this morning.
I'll check him in a couple of hours. I'm afraid that if I check him too soon I will only be disappointed. I would LOVE to see some yellow sometime soon!
 
Re: feeburt amps 357 +3 311 +5 397

Hm.. I'm not gonna kill you about the dry but... I took away a pea based (no grain) dry food from a possible acrocat and got him into yellow and pink from pink and red while I was kitty sitting him for a couple weeks. It's amazing how just a little dry can have a huge effect.

Also agree, time for increase, and I'd concur he needs 1/2u, you've got plenty of room to move and with dry in the picture, I think you're going to have to be more aggressive, maybe 8 cycles (if numbers don't move) next time instead of the normally recommended 10? I do not think R should be used... really shouldn't be used at all til you get to the 5u dose with Lantus, and only if the 5u dose is causing the same pink/red combo you're seeing now. Lantus is a funny monkey when it comes to R, and IMO should never be used without acro/iaa involvement. He has not been diabetic long enough that I would think R would be necessary.. yet.

Nice to see his WCR is improving!
 
Re: feeburt amps 357 +3 311 +5 397

I would increase to 2.5 units tonight. The protocol calls for increases of 0.5 units at a time when the nadirs are pink so we're well within protocol to do so. We usually do increases every 6 cycles when the numbers are at this level, and we'll slow down to every 10 cycles once he starts getting nadirs in the blue. Ok? No worries, lots of us started out with high numbers, we just have to work our way up to Feeburt's breakthrough dose.

I agree with Carolyn that it's not the time to introduce R.
 
Re: feeburt amps 357 +3 311 +5 397 PMPS 544

Shelly,

I'd like to make a suggestion ok?
In ur SS, can u keep track of when (+hour)and how much dry food Feeburt had...

It's possible this might be having an effect on the high numbers.. and it would be good to know when dry was eaten as it would give you some higher numbers.

Other than that, don't feel discouraged, things have a way of falling into place, and Feeburt will find that
(((hugs)))
 
Re: feeburt amps 357 +3 311 +5 397 PMPS 544

that would be my guess, too (high before break) but you never know. it's gonna take at least a few more dose increases before you see some solid movement, i think.
don't worry. we need to build up to the right dose. you will get there. with this insulin, methodical is best.
 
Big drop for 2 hours but at least he is going in the right direction. What is the high before the fall that you guys are talking about. is this a regular occurrence?
 
ShellyandCosmo(GA)andFeeburt said:
Big drop for 2 hours but at least he is going in the right direction. What is the high before the fall that you guys are talking about. is this a regular occurrence?

Some cats tend to throw an unusually high number right before they drop. I'm not sure why! Some cats don't do it at all, but those who do have a neat clue for when they're about to have a lower cycle. Maybe this means that tomorrow will be a good day for feeburt.
 
Whew, happy to see this drop. :mrgreen: We don't like those blacks (they'ze just scary).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top