Feb 3 Felix +11=116, AMPS=112, +4=56, +5=52, +6=49, +7=48, +8=68; start Levemir today

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
prior thread January 30, cardiology report

Felix is changing from Lantus to Levemir. I've thought about it for a long time because of his bounciness, but figuring out a schedule that would accommodate the later nadir was a problem. Then, after his heart failure, it didn't seem as important to try to get him more tightly regulated since he was doing all right. But I'm running out of Lantus (at this awkward time of year), and Lev seems worth a try.

I used to be somewhat able to rely on early nadirs or be able to tell from the preshot when he'd go low if he was going to, but his rapid bouncing and bounce-clearing often make that moot. This week, for example, he's had very late nadirs in the PM cycle, so a later nadir won't necessarily feel like much of a transition.

I've been adjusting his shot time later in hopes:rolleyes: of getting the new nadir to be about the time of his former shot time. Felix and his pancreas think that's hilarious: "We'll see about that, purrsnort!"

The Lev arrived earlier today than expected, so I guess I'll start right away. Based on starting at 70% of his current Lantus dose of 2.75u, I'm thinking that if his PS is rising from his +11 I'll shoot 2u, but if it's falling I'll shoot 1.75u. That will be at the top of the hour which doesn't leave much time, but I'm interested in opinions of that plan. Thanks!
 
Ha! I had my plan for whether he was rising or falling at preshot, so he pretty much did neither. [Felix and his pancreas: "Purrsnort!"]

Shot 2 units Levemir.
 
Good luck with the switch. I am glad you started with the higher dose. Most kitties end up around the same dose of Lantus. We just start lower because some kitties have a strong reaction to the Levemir initially. I would get a +3 or +4, mid cycle and +8/+9 today to start. Today the Lantus depot is depleting and the Levemir depot is building, plus Lev onsets later, so often the switch is a non event at the lower dose. But as you know, kitties love to surprise us!

Since Neko's onset was +5 (she was fashionably late with everything :rolleyes:), most times I couldn't get test at onset before bed. Instead, I relied trends of +9ish to PS and what she was doing before onset. Flat from PS to before bed meant, set an alarm.

Make sure you are testing for ketones with the lower dose.
 
Thanks, Wendy, what you're saying makes me feel a little more oriented. Although that 52 already at +5 has me a bit disoriented--maybe that's the Lantus depot talking? And thanks for the reminder about ketones. I tend not to worry about them so much since he's been clear of them for so long, but I know how fast they can develop and how his heart condition would complicate treatment. Need to stay on top of that, despite how scandalized he looks when he sees the long-handled spoon!

Helps cats? Or dogs? I had no problem finding a food that worked for Neko's diabetes and heart - just watch the sodium. I am curious to hear what your cardiologist says about that, instead of just the tech.
I think they're getting it from the cardiologist and it applies to cats, too, but we didn't pursue it when I talked to her. After seeing his improvement, she was asking me for more details about his food. And it's not that I'm 100% sure they're wrong about the grains, but that I'm quite sure that what was suggested last May as alternatives didn't seem well thought out, leaving me skeptical altogether. I hope we'll be seeing her again in 4-5 months, and I'll ask what her theory is on why grains would help cats.
 
Yo Felix, weez Leevemoew buddies...iz hoping we gets lots of tyme in the lagoon together soon. Mama seyz I can come visit you in the lagoon as long as I bring my water wings

Your pal, Mav

Good luck with the Lev, Susan, happy to have an old friend relearning things just as I am...we can compare notes ;)...flatter green cycles, with a dash of blue would be lovely...we can dream :D:D:cool:
 
Sheesh! Could be that "strong response some cats do" or breaking a bounce. Or the Lantus depot, as that dose was getting him into the 40's.
 
Back
Top