Si am cat mom
Member Since 2019
I don't post a lot because my sugar kitty guy never read the FD rulebook and just does whatever he likes, but I was wondering if we could clear up somethings. Not to further confuse folks- but here goes.
I have seen the terms failed reduction and failed increase be thrown around here. I thought a failed reduction was when you give a reduction and the numbers act like you never did- they continue to drop to an unsafe range....fail, right? Now, I understand that it just means that you gave the reduction hoping that the cat would return to previous BG range, but then are a bit higher than before the drop occurred. Confuses me , but okay
(it's explained well here)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...amps-292-11-196-pmps-218.223067/#post-2494677
My question is ...how do you differentiate clearing a bounce from that failed reduction? Also, if there is a failed reduction, why can't you have a failed increase- where you up the dose and after maybe giving you one numbers in the range you were aiming for, the BGs climb to numbers that were higher than before the increase? Seems like it would be possible on both ends, but I am likely overthinking.
My guy seems to have NDW when we change doses in general so determining bouncing from just weird numbers has never been my strong suit with him, but I was just curious in regards to the reductions that don't hold or increases that are not quite enough...
Sorry for the novel
I can post this in the think tank if that would be more appropriate too
I have seen the terms failed reduction and failed increase be thrown around here. I thought a failed reduction was when you give a reduction and the numbers act like you never did- they continue to drop to an unsafe range....fail, right? Now, I understand that it just means that you gave the reduction hoping that the cat would return to previous BG range, but then are a bit higher than before the drop occurred. Confuses me , but okay
(it's explained well here)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...amps-292-11-196-pmps-218.223067/#post-2494677
My question is ...how do you differentiate clearing a bounce from that failed reduction? Also, if there is a failed reduction, why can't you have a failed increase- where you up the dose and after maybe giving you one numbers in the range you were aiming for, the BGs climb to numbers that were higher than before the increase? Seems like it would be possible on both ends, but I am likely overthinking.
My guy seems to have NDW when we change doses in general so determining bouncing from just weird numbers has never been my strong suit with him, but I was just curious in regards to the reductions that don't hold or increases that are not quite enough...
Sorry for the novel