Fa 20 Feb/amps 207(skipped insulin last night)/at vet/+6.5=185/pmps 70/+12.5=88

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by fafa's mum, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. fafa's mum

    fafa's mum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
  2. fafa's mum

    fafa's mum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    @Wendy&Neko Happy new year! I hope you have been well.

    we are here to get some help again.

    1. You might notice we have half dose insulin twice recently as BG was slightly under 90 each time. Not sure if this is ok or not as we thought it’s just slightly under 90.

    2. It seemed to us Fa has a pattern of getting a few days blue and green but again a few days pink or yellow. Until a time recently I was giving her insulin (it has been my husband doing the insulin all the time) on Feb 15 that I found out the area she got shot was quite stiff. We have been using this area for insulin even though we know it’s not good but our cat does not like change much. It came to my mind that it’s possibly scar tissue so we had to use other part for insulin from Feb 17. Our bad we did not pick up this issue earlier and to me, it seems to be an explanation why sometimes she would have blue and green days but again yellow and pink days.

    3. we went to vet today to ensure it’s really scar tissue and nothing else of concern. And vet confirmed so.

    4. I then mentioned to our vet that her paws seem to be a bit red. Fa is an indoor cat so vet thinks it’s the diabetes issue. What do you think? I will try to post a photo so you can see it if I manage.

    5. Fa hasn’t come to the vet for more than a year as our vet is happy for us to monitor and we went to get insulin every few months without the need of bringing Fa. She hates car rides. So vet wants her to do a blood test again and wants us to consider a dental clean for her if the blood test shows it’s ok to go ahead. Vet checked her teeth and thinks it’s bad so she suggested this. I trust this vet for her honesty and support all the time. Is there anything that I should note for dental clean? We haven’t tested her for acro since her BG seems to be under control with 4 units (more or less) of Levemir and also it’s not a regular test here. Just in case we need to be careful of anything as I remember you mentioned something about if acro is the case.
     
  3. fafa's mum

    fafa's mum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Hello, been a while, good to hear for you. :) How is Fa acting/behaving these days?

    Answering your questions.
    1. No shoot under the reduction point, some people lower the reduction for their cat once they've been doing this a while. I think you were OK with those half doses those day as long as you could monitor. If you are still using a reduction point of 90, you missed a few reductions, so I'm glad to see you went down to 3.75 units today.

    2. I shot scruff, or just below the shoulder blades on either side most of the time. But I did move it around in kind of a clockwise rotation so it wasn't the same spot all the time. Neko didn't like it elsewhere. :mad: The few times I tried it, I didn't notice a difference.

    4. I haven't heard of the red paws before as an symptom of diabetes. Food allergies maybe?

    5. At least a once a year checkup/blood work is a good idea with diabetics. Neko was more complicated so she went at least every 6 months. That way we caught her kidney issues early. I would go ahead with the dental. Irritations/inflammation in the mouth can make it harder to regulate the cat. A few things to mention for a cat that has acromegaly and dentals. First, they can have soft tissue growth in their throat, so the vet should check first and sometimes they need to do a kitten sized tube for the anaesthesia induction. Second, their can be soft tissue growths in the mouth which could mean teeth rub against gums. Neko once actually had a bony growth on her jaw too which her dental vet removed. Neko also had a slightly enlarged heart - it's a common acro thing but also Maine Coon thing, so I went to a dental specialist for the dental. They spend a bit more time/effort monitoring her vitals during the procedure, plus are used to dealing with older cats with issues. Good luck with the dental if you go ahead with it. Neko had a few of them and did just fine.
     
  5. fafa's mum

    fafa's mum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Thanks very much for your reply and the detailed information. @Wendy&Neko

    1. After twice the 'half dose' , I think we won't do that next time. We figured that if in the end, Fa's BG is still low like these two times, we ended up needing to skip the full dose. In total we skipped (full dose plus half dose) so it seemed it might be better we would just skip it at the beginning. As for reduction, I do like to ask, after we skip, is it ok that the first time we use the original dose & next time on we reduce? Just thinking will this help to catch up a bit after the dose skipped?

    2. We manage to give insulin around the left shoulder and right shoulder & avoid the scruff. I tried to touch her skin further closer to the tail, and she already started to bite me, so i guess we will settle for now around the shoulder area.
     
  6. fafa's mum

    fafa's mum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    4. It's good to know you don't think red paws are symptoms of diabetes. I was worried if it has anything to do with acro. As for food allergy, i will keep an eye.
    .
    5. I will discuss with the vet about the dental further and hope she can keep an eye on any special symptom. It's good to know dental work might be good for Fa. We tried to clean her teeth but we gave up. She just would not allow us to do it.

    Thanks again for your help. @Wendy&Neko I am starting another thread for 21st as Fa's BG seems to earn another reduction.
     

Share This Page