Eyes on Bølles spreadsheet please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Member Since 2011
Hi everybody

As some of you know we had to lower Bølles levemir dose and start over because of some big bounces. For a while now we have raised his dose with 0,05 after some days on the same dose. He has more stable numbers but still not very low. A few days he almost stayed yellow for two days wich is really good. But when his pmps got pink we desided to raise the dose to .45. His +5 was close to being blue and then before his amps he had a big bouce and went red. Nina bølles mom lowered his dose to .40 again, but it seems like his numbers are not staying yellow so we kind of need to raise the dose. But everytime we get blue numbers his reaction is a big bounce. Any suggstions on how to handle this?

Bølles streadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html

Happy easter

Charlotte
 
He seems like he is very sensitive to the insulin changes. But a little bouncing is common right after raising the dose, so make sure to give each raise a proper settle time. If, after 3-4 days his numbers are still worse than before you can go back to the last best dose.

I would go back to .45u and see if he settles on it after a few days.

How is he doing otherwise? How is his eating, playing, etc?
 
Agree with Sheila on staying with one dose. It is common to see an increase in BG in response to a dose increase. That's why it is so important to stay with one dose for longer than 5 days for some cats. Bølle may be one of those kind of cats.

It is addressed in Tilly:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
 
Thanks Sheila
Bølle is fine. I have not noticed any changes in his behavior.
This morning amps is 299.
I have raised the dose to .45u according to your advise. Hopefully he will settle on that dose
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top