Extremely low (2.6) at +4 hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Liz

Member Since 2016
Advice needed please. Lila is 2.6 at +4 hours. She is tucking into her usual meal of low carb right now and seems OK. How long before we should test again please. ?
 
I just realized you are using an Alphatrak..... So 2.6 is way too low. Do you have any high carb food? If not add a little Karo or honey to the regular food.
 
If you don't have any high carb food is there an emergency vet you could get to? Is he still acting normal?
 
All OK regards behaviour etc. We have high carb and gluogel right here. To test now.
Ok good. I was worried when you hadn't responded. Cats can go from no symptoms to seizure in a snap so you need to stay vigilant right now.
 
You will want to test every 20 min until the number is up to 3.8 for 3 consecutive tests without the need of food.
 
Yes we are monitoring closely. Lila has 3 meals usually each cycle. And has almost half of that at +4. So as she ate that totally normally we were slightly less worried although know 2.6 is far too low. Wondering about our dosing scale, as to needing to be lowering to 1 possibly at the lower pre shots? Lila does seem to vary greatly at times and difficult to predict her nadir readings.
 
Yes we are monitoring closely. Lila has 3 meals usually each cycle. And has almost half of that at +4. So as she ate that totally normally we were slightly less worried although know 2.6 is far too low. Wondering about our dosing scale, as to needing to be lowering to 1 possibly at the lower pre shots?
I think a sliding scale would help. 2.6 was very low..... I'd go to 0.8 when the preshot is yellow.
 
3.5 now ( at + 5.5 hrs)
That's better. But you do need to watch that she doesn't drop again. Maybe another test shortly just to be sure...?

You really don't want the kitty's BG dropping below 3.6 mmol/L (65 mg/dL) on an AT meter, as this is getting into hypo range. And some cats may even show symptoms at a little above this level.

Also, for kitties on Caninsulin/Vetsulin it can be helpful to 'aim' to not let the numbers drop below 5 mmol (unless you have very good control of your kitty's BG); as this gives some buffer of safety if the BG actually drops lower than that.

Even though your kitty didn't show symptoms (?) that doesn't mean that she didn't experience hypo. Not all hypos have symptoms. ...So, do keep an eye on her over the next few days, and if you see any behaviour that seems 'off' (lack of appetite, depression...) take her for a vet visit.
Also, 'if' she's experienced hypo her sensitivity to insulin may increase. So, be cautious with your insulin doses (and monitor closely) over the next few cycles just until you can establish how she is responding to the insulin.

Eliz
 
That's better. But you do need to watch that she doesn't drop again. Maybe another test shortly just to be sure...?

You really don't want the kitty's BG dropping below 3.6 mmol/L (65 mg/dL) on an AT meter, as this is getting into hypo range. And some cats may even show symptoms at a little above this level.

Also, for kitties on Caninsulin/Vetsulin it can be helpful to 'aim' to not let the numbers drop below 5 mmol (unless you have very good control of your kitty's BG); as this gives some buffer of safety if the BG actually drops lower than that.

Even though your kitty didn't show symptoms (?) that doesn't mean that she didn't experience hypo. Not all hypos have symptoms. ...So, do keep an eye on her over the next few days, and if you see any behaviour that seems 'off' (lack of appetite, depression...) take her for a vet visit.
Also, 'if' she's experienced hypo her sensitivity to insulin may increase. So, be cautious with your insulin doses (and monitor closely) over the next few cycles just until you can establish how she is responding to the insulin.

Eliz
Thank you, she can be hard to predict. Will keep a very close eye on her. Still regular testing ( every 20 mins ) at present.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top