Extremely high AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

BellaBlue82

Member Since 2021
Hi all, haven't posted in a while, everything has been going smoothly for a while. Well, that is until this morning.
Nico's numbers aren't always going to be the greatest since he has HBP, but I felt we have him stable enough that he's healthy and happy. Just had a vet check on 3/20, kidney values are ok, and I test for dka regularly.
So he was happy go lucky last night, but I noticed his BG was elevated this week - usually a sign he's constipated. Gave him some miralax and they went back down.

This morning I woke up to puking sounds and I thought it might be him. Did the AMPS and was alarmed he was near 500!!! Can that be constipation??? He doesn't want to eat either and he's usually pretty ravenous. He's just kind of laying next to me, and I did hear his stomach make a god awful noise. I'm just not sure what could make BG spike that high???

I'm looping in some ladies who have been grateful enough to help me in the past.
@JanetNJ
@Panic
Any advise is appreciated!!
 
Last edited:
You are doing very few tests in between the preshot BGs so we don’t know how low he could be dropping during the cycles.
It is possible he is bouncing. I would not have increased the dose this am. Dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle not the preshot. I think you should go back to the precious dose and try and get some mid cycle tests in if you can.
In saying all that, if you think he is unwell, I would suggest a vet visit.
When did you last test for ketones.?
 
You are doing very few tests in between the preshot BGs so we don’t know how low he could be dropping during the cycles.
It is possible he is bouncing. I would not have increased the dose this am. Dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle not the preshot. I think you should go back to the precious dose and try and get some mid cycle tests in if you can.
In saying all that, if you think he is unwell, I would suggest a vet visit.
When did you last test for ketones.?

I feel bad, with my work schedule it's very hard to get in additional tests. Do you think he could have gone that low? I'll be home all day so I'm testing every few hours.
Ketone test was just a few days ago, no ketones or glucose in his urine. The horrible thing is there is a lacking of vet hospitals that are open or willing to take patients near me lately, it's been a struggle. And he absolutely hates car rides. But I'd he doesn't improve I'm going to have to find someone that will see him.
 
Twice now, he's gone into the litter to pee - and left without peeing.
Or he could be blocked which is an emergency. I would try to make a vet appointment for today. If you go, bring your glucometer in case you have to wait. It looks like he's coming down fairly fast.
 
How frequently is he going w/o urinating?
When is the last time he urinated? How much (little clump size) was that?
My experience is that if blocked they well go to the LB very very frequently. Also sometimes they will try urinating on floor. Can you feel if the cat's badder is full?
See about 1/5 the down on this page
https://www.catsworldclub.com/how-to-feel-a-cats-bladder/
If UTI then my experience is frequently trips to LB and maybe a couple of drops of urine. Same symptoms if just bladder inflammation w/o infection.
 
How frequently is he going w/o urinating?
When is the last time he urinated? How much (little clump size) was that?
My experience is that if blocked they well go to the LB very very frequently. Also sometimes they will try urinating on floor. Can you feel if the cat's badder is full?
See about 1/5 the down on this page
https://www.catsworldclub.com/how-to-feel-a-cats-bladder/
If UTI then my experience is frequently trips to LB and maybe a couple of drops of urine. Same symptoms if just bladder inflammation w/o infection.
I would say he made three trips in about 2-3 hours. He went just last night, he pees a little larger clumps than the others because of his DM but didn't appear out of the norm. We just got back from the vet, he had a slightly elevated temp and extremely small bladder vet said she did not feel any blockages. They tried to get a urine sample but poor guy was about empty. We came home with clavamox as they feel it's a bad UTI, and a collection cup so I can get a sample next time he goes. Good news is now he is drinking plenty of water, so hopefully I can get a sample soon!
 
Quick update - Nico did finally pee, so that is confirmation on no obstruction, and I got my pee sample for the vet. He ate a little bit too, so that's a plus! It looks like BG is going down a bit after Clavamox as well, so hopefully we're on the right track. This must just be bad UTI this time around, poor guy.
 
What does the urine look like?
That is what is color? Especially look for any red tinge that would indicate red blood cells.
Is the sample clear or cloudy?
Your sample can't really be used for culture since it was not obtained sterilely.
 
What does the urine look like?
That is what is color? Especially look for any red tinge that would indicate red blood cells.
Is the sample clear or cloudy?
Your sample can't really be used for culture since it was not obtained sterilely.
There's no red tinge, but I was able to capture it using the collection container provided by the vet and I caught it mid stream. I didn't have a choice since his bladder was empty when we went there initially, so we'll see what the vet says after they review his sample.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top