EXTREME HIGH BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Checked Corky's BG as usual for his 4PM meal/dose. Since he came home July 5th from the hospital he has not had this extreme BG, he just finished eating i am sort of panicking, As instructed, I read over the ProZinc Dosing page to refresh .
He is already on 0.25 I dared not increase without advise, he just got the insulin 4 minutes ago
PLEASE ADVISE, for it's been only a few minutes if in need of increase I should inject now?
 
You don’t give a second shot. Any dose adjustments will have to wait till the morning shot. I think he could go up to .5 since it’s been 7 days since his last 80’s-90’s bg. But I’d like others to chime in as well
 
Do not increase. Stay with 0.25 units tomorrow.

Following SLGS we hold if nadirs are between 90 and 149.

Going from 342 to 103 was a 70% drop in 3 hours - definitely the kind of fast, steep drop to trigger a bounce to higher numbers.

We need to give it time for the bounce to clear.

We need to give it time to see what removing the MC carb food will do.

Did you give Karo this morning when his BG was dropping?
 
Do not increase. Stay with 0.25 units tomorrow.

Following SLGS we hold if nadirs are between 90 and 149.

Going from 342 to 103 was a 70% drop in 3 hours - definitely the kind of fast, steep drop to trigger a bounce to higher numbers.

We need to give it time for the bounce to clear.

We need to give it time to see what removing the MC carb food will do.

Did you give Karo this morning when his BG was dropping?

no Karo as all suggested that I was to quick on administering nor high carbs...I''m learnig
 
I am bit concerned about Corky's continuous high BG even after the +2 can someone be kind to check and review his spreadsheet to advise me on any concern as well, nothing has changed with the exception of the dosing time starting on the 26th from 4:00 AM to 6:00 PM I am now stretching testing since I'm only using the ReliOn now, I was waiting for the last sensor to finish, but always on cue testing hours, always tested I tested with the ReliOn, extreme accuracy on that. advise
 
You can increase. New dose 0.5 units.

Will all your tests be with the Relion now? No more sensor?

I was using both on non critical times I used the sensor during the day
with minimum 2 ReliOn testing, as of Friday it's only and will be the ReliON, So no more sensor, removed last Friday
Thank you for advise, increasing dose to 0.5
 
Last edited:
Maria --

Please take some time and re-read the dosing guidelines. If you have a question about raising the dose, please ask. Doses are generally held for a week. You held Corky's dose for 14 days.
 
I have been avoiding asking for advice to the Forum, trying to study and learn which I have. When I ask for guidance, about Corky's high BG's, I am quickly asked to refer to the dosing guideline, if I ask guidance, is not because I don't refer to this guideline, is because changing dose to me, is a serious matter, so I ask first just to be safe, Corky and Coco are the world to me, I am grateful again for your assistance, you said to raise the dose which I did, I blindly trust your advice. I just checked his BG and is still pretty much the same on the 6:00PM testing, in the past raising the dose in previous occasion, it has caused Corky's BG to turn over to low BG's yet this time it seems the adjustment has not done its job, it seems by the spreadsheet that after the PM dose his BG is quite high, so again I am referring to you, I will test again at 10:00 PM, yet my concern for Corky remains. I appreciate your patience to assist me.:banghead:
 
VIRUS
I am curious to know if any member has gotten a virus on they're lap to or the forum, after downloading the spreadsheet or the Forum site.
my first time ever actually using a fixed sites I have no downloaded sites here, I only have used this laptop to pay bills,
and is a brand new HP
 
I popped in for a quick sec to see how you're doing with the increase to 0.5 units.

Any reason why you only gave 0.25 units yesterday morning and this morning? Was it a typo?

I won't be back to check for your answer until later today.

I don't know of any computer virus.
 
(GA), post: 3110774, member: 28971"]It looks like you did .5 2 nights in a row but went back to .25 in the mornings. You need to stick with .5 for 7 days now. That’s the process. Also I think .05 was a typo right?[/QUOTE]

YES Typo

This is why I STARTED ON .05
[QUOTE="Ale & Bobo & Minnie
le & Bobo & Minnie (GA) said:
You don’t give a second shot. Any dose adjustments will have to wait till the morning shot. I think he could go up to .5 since it’s been 7 days since his last 80’s-90’s bg. But I’d like others to chime in as well
 
(GA), post: 3110774, member: 28971"]It looks like you did .5 2 nights in a row but went back to .25 in the mornings. You need to stick with .5 for 7 days now. That’s the process. Also I think .05 was a typo right?

YES Typo

This is why I STARTED ON .05
VIRUS
I am curious to know if any member has gotten a virus on they're lap to or the forum, after downloading the spreadsheet or the Forum site.
my first time ever actually using a fixed sites I have no downloaded sites here, I only have used this laptop to pay bills,
and is a brand new HP
In all the time I’ve been here and worked with the SSs, I’ve never heard of anyone getting a computer virus from their use.
 
Hi Maria,

We need to fix the doses recorded on your spreadsheet - you've got a '0' after the decimal point that shouldn't be there.

0.5 is the dose you're giving
0.05 is not right

See the difference? 0.05 is a really teeny, tiny dose and not what you're giving Corky.

Can you change all the 0.05 to 0.5 please?

I don't want anyone that looks at your spreadsheet confused, they may think you're giving a smaller dose than you really are.

Also, it's time for an increase. I'll wait to hear from you to discuss.
 
Hi Maria,

We need to fix the doses recorded on your spreadsheet - you've got a '0' after the decimal point that shouldn't be there.

0.5 is the dose you're giving
0.05 is not right

See the difference? 0.05 is a really teeny, tiny dose and not what you're giving Corky.

Can you change all the 0.05 to 0.5 please?

I don't want anyone that looks at your spreadsheet confused, they may think you're giving a smaller dose than you really are.

Also, it's time for an increase. I'll wait to hear from you to discuss.

Done. the reason he has had high BG's yesterday I had no more low carb foods, only the gravy I washed off the gravy before feeding, completely, I presume that did not help, it was the fancy feast, which I was getting ready to go to Walmart to buy non gravy and exchange a box I bought also which I did not see it was the same and decided to look at the post and saw yours, Wow, yes, I've been seeing a high increase in BG numbers at both 6AM and 6PM I thought it was still a curve so I did not wanted to post with preoccupation for the Forum, I was not testing quite as often, the las 3-4 days because the yellow numbers made me very happy, until I started to see RED but yes if your recommendation to increase
please advise the increase. Thank you, if not too much trouble can you send needle diagram
 
Done. the reason he has had high BG's yesterday I had no more low carb foods, only the gravy I washed off the gravy before feeding, completely, I presume that did not help, it was the fancy feast, which I was getting ready to go to Walmart to buy non gravy and exchange a box I bought also which I did not see it was the same and decided to look at the post and saw yours, Wow, yes, I've been seeing a high increase in BG numbers at both 6AM and 6PM I thought it was still a curve so I did not wanted to post with preoccupation for the Forum, I was not testing quite as often, the las 3-4 days because the yellow numbers made me very happy, until I started to see RED but yes if your recommendation to increase
please advise the increase. Thank you, if not too much trouble can you send needle diagram

Accurately his BG has been high since the 29th without the high carb foods, I was so fixed on the yellows that did not look above-mentioned.
 
If we look at the Start Low Go Slow Prozinc Dosing Method it says:
  • "Hold a dose for a week" - which you did.
  • "After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours" - you did that yesterday/day#7 during the AM cycle.
Then, after you do the curve, the instructions from the Prozinc SLGS Dosing method say:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Corky's nadir has stayed above 150 mg/dl, so we increase the dose by 0.25 units.
0.5 units (current dose) + 0.25 units (increase) = 0.75 units new dose.

You'll need to eyeball the measurement halfway between the 0.5 mark and the 1.0 mark.

I recommend starting the new dose tomorrow morning, it's easier to test & monitor the cycle at the new dose during the day when you're awake.

**If at anytime Corky drops below 90 you immediately reduce the dose by 0.25 units - you don't wait for a week when he earns a reduction**


upload_2023-10-8_14-43-19.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-8_14-43-19.png
    upload_2023-10-8_14-43-19.png
    136.2 KB · Views: 185
I just received a lot of U40 /3/10cc /29g 12.7mm syringes I use the syringes displayed in the diagram above
could I get a diagram for this new syringes for 0.75 dosing? thank you,

I just received a package from a member, Nick and Josie with these syringes, ProZinc, toys, lancets cotton strips, and a box of chocolate... OMG! I got all emotional what an amazing gesture, this is the couple I send the extra monitor I was donating. I wanted to thank this couple in this Forum to let other members struggling with their diabetic furr baby, that we have amazing members in this Forum, Thank you Nick Josie and Furr baby Binks :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just received a lot of U40 /3/10cc /29g 12.7mm syringes I use the syringes displayed in the diagram above
could I get a diagram for this new syringes for 0.75 dosing? thank you,

I just received a package from a member, Nick and Josie with these syringes, ProZinc, toys, lancets cotton strips, and a box of chocolate... OMG! I got all emotional what an amazing gesture, this is the couple I send the extra monitor I was donating. I wanted to thank this couple in this Forum to let other members struggling with their diabetic furr baby, that we have amazing members in this Forum, Thank you Nick Josie and Furr baby Binks :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

does anyone has an input on my question??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top