EVO question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
Rex was getting 0.5U, but I just bumped it up to 1U because his bg's were staying in the 400's. I suspected maybe he was still snacking on the Fromm's dry food (high carbs), even though I didn't see him at all until I finally caught him yesterday. I'm picking up EVO dry food today after work. My question, I was told to start at 0.5U if he gets only wet food and 1U if he eats dry food. But if EVO is 8% carbs and it will be more of a snack, is 1U still good? He gets a full can (5.5 oz) a day in 2 feedings. I don't want to do more feedings so all the cats are used to getting wet food 2x a day for when I'm gone over a weekend or on vacation and the petsitter comes over 2x a day.
 
I would probably stick to your .5u. I free feed EVO and haven't noticed any BG spikes related to it. But every cat is different. If you do a curve after you switch over food you'll be able to see if/when it effects his levels.
 
Thanks. I already bumped Rex up to 1U 2 days ago because he wasn't getting out of the 400's. I will do another curve Friday and see what I get.. I am going to gradually switch from Fromm's to EVO this week.
 
I'm not a Lantus user but I think you can stick with the 1U. You had a yellow +5 the other night, so adding the EVO dry is either; 1) Not going to impact BG numbers or 2) Mild to medium impact and raise BG numbers. I'll tag some Lantus members
@Bobbie And Bubba @Kris & Teasel
 
You tend to get answers geared more to your particular situation if you post on the forum for the insulin you are currently using, because the folks on that forum have more experience with it.

I think you are probably safe to bump him up to 1U. With Lantus we usually raise the dose by 0.25U, to make sure we don't go past our target dose, but Rex's spreadsheet would indicate that he's probably okay with the 0.50 increase. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top