.:. in.active .:.
Member Since 2023
Hello everyone, I have been lurking around for the past 2 months (since diagnosis) and even after joining, I was (and still am a bit) reluctant on posting, taking up a whole thread to introduce ourselves, given that 1) all important matters seem to be covered on the site (although some, more specific ones are very hard to find, due to the astronomical amount of information provided) and I don't want to be 'that person' who asks something that has already been chewed to the bone and should be obvious and 2) my issues may be too specific, trivial and/or irrelevant to a lot of other members, which makes me feel somehow guilty for taking up space in the form of an entire thread.
Anyways, here goes in a nutshell:
First and foremost: We are in the UK. I have three cats, all with their own issues, but this is about the middle guy. He is turning 10yo in less than a couple of weeks, a black and white used-to-be stray gay boy, who's very loving and "beta". He is the kindest, cutest baby boy, ever. Meet Rorschach (as the projective psychological inkblot test). [Others are PuddyKat (12yo black alpha female) and Scrooge (8yo white alpha male) - when I said Rorschach is the middle guy, I truly meant it, in every aspect.]
Dx: 21st March 2023 (two weeks after symptoms started - I hoped I caught it early, but numbers say otherwise)
SLGS: Caninsulin
Vet: PDSA weekly/bi-weekly
Monitor: AlphaTRAK 2.0
Food: 2x wet feed (Felix ~10% carbs for now), dry for grazing (Kattovit diabetic - hardly touches it, mainly left out for the other two) and post-BG prick treats (shrimp or tuna... have been giving him Lick-e-Lix until today, when realised it's actually a high carb snack)
Here is what bothers me/need opinion on, preferably sooner rather than later, as we have a vet appointment at 14:00 GMT tomorrow.
Home Testing:
As you can see from my spreadsheet, I hardly test PS. There are various reasons for that, one being the vet's advice ("if you feel the need to do so, just do it at the 6th hour, the other times are just uselessly stressing him out, for no reason"), other both his behaviour and my mindset/capability at those times.
However, I have a reoccurring phenomenon, namely that I would test him at a certain time during the day (time X), then catch him grazing (not much, just a few mouthfuls) and afterwards when I test him again at X+1 his BG would be lower. First I thought it was a one off outlier, but it has happened a few times now, and I'm not sure what to make of it? Testing time X varies so I can't pinpoint it to being close to his NADIR either.
Vet and Insulin:
I have the (low income) luxury of being qualified for free pet healthcare via PDSA (government funded, donation based veterinary service in the UK), which includes free of charge visits (normally £50+/check-up with private vets) as well as free insulin and needles. I am eternally grateful for this opportunity, however, some things don't sit well with me, but I feel like it'd be too entitled of me to "complain" about these. Given the nature of this organisation, we tend to see different vets on every visit, and although they do have access to my boy's records, I feel like the visits are always rushed. So far we have been:
I've also just learned (although from a post from 2015-updated 2020) that the slower acting Prozinc was supposed to be prescribed for newly diagnosed patients, not Caninsulin. (I'm assuming the latter is cheaper for them to just give out.) It angers me, especially since I have asked them about slower acting insulin consistently for the past 4 weeks, and was always shooed away, with "Once he's stabilised, you can request those from a private vet based on our data" and "PDSA only has a certain list of insulins we can use, will ask the manager and get back to you" (cue: they never did). I'm wary about once my boy is regulated, they'll hit me with the "But he is fine, no point messing with it now" ... I want him in remission, and they know it.
Vet and Numbers:
His initial BG the day he was diagnosed, was 33+ mmol/L (594 mg/dl)... FASTED! (They seem to be reluctant sharing any numbers that go beyond 33 mmol/L as that is considered universally the "highest".
He has been and is now asymptomatic in the high 20s/low 30s, which indicates he was indeed in the dreaded 40s (700s) for at least those 2 weeks pre-diagnosis and pre-insulin.
His NADIRs at the vet are always in the 22-25 mmol/L range, but they keep shrugging it off as stress-BG numbers.
I have gone against their advice, and upped his dose a week ago, when again he showed DKA symptoms, and... Today I am ecstatic to see a PMPS of 22.8 mmol/L (410 mg/dl) which is for him considered low!!! (Note: he hasn't been eating much today, and received his normal dose of insulin, thus I can't help but wonder that's why his numbers are "decent".)
Since I did my own thing, and upped his dose slightly, he did gain some weight in this past week, but not much. I also bought Keto-Diastix and his ketones are at least "small" at the highest (his urine glucose is sky-high still). I'm worried they'll just say again tomorrow -due to the slight weight gain- to keep at the same dose for a few weeks, which I will definitely not do. I'm planning on printing out my spreadsheet, as well as a chart data and showing it to them.
He has lost a total of 1kg (2.2 lbs) in 2 months. He is literally deteriorating in front of my f*cking eyes, both physically, mentally and in spirits, and even though I am a strong spirited person, with a "solution finding" mindset, I'm finding myself crying to sleep every godd*amned night, because all I can think of is that if he's lingering in such heights for much longer, he'll develop further issues that will catch up with him and kill him sooner rather than later, just because I am advised to Stay-Low-Don't-Move.
I'm even considering biting the bullet and visiting a private vet for a second opinion, but I will not be able to afford that on the long run, thus I'm unsure whether I should just wait until he is regulated and do what my gut tells me to do is the best for him, regardless of it going against my vet's advice.
I don't anymore know how to approach these people tomorrow. It feels utterly pointless (apart from picking up more insulin and needles for him.) Any thoughts would be much appreciated.
Thank you,
Eve and Handsomest Baby Boi
(and Kiddy-Kiddy-Kiddy and Scroogie-Patoogie)
Anyways, here goes in a nutshell:
First and foremost: We are in the UK. I have three cats, all with their own issues, but this is about the middle guy. He is turning 10yo in less than a couple of weeks, a black and white used-to-be stray gay boy, who's very loving and "beta". He is the kindest, cutest baby boy, ever. Meet Rorschach (as the projective psychological inkblot test). [Others are PuddyKat (12yo black alpha female) and Scrooge (8yo white alpha male) - when I said Rorschach is the middle guy, I truly meant it, in every aspect.]
Dx: 21st March 2023 (two weeks after symptoms started - I hoped I caught it early, but numbers say otherwise)
SLGS: Caninsulin
Vet: PDSA weekly/bi-weekly
Monitor: AlphaTRAK 2.0
Food: 2x wet feed (Felix ~10% carbs for now), dry for grazing (Kattovit diabetic - hardly touches it, mainly left out for the other two) and post-BG prick treats (shrimp or tuna... have been giving him Lick-e-Lix until today, when realised it's actually a high carb snack)
Here is what bothers me/need opinion on, preferably sooner rather than later, as we have a vet appointment at 14:00 GMT tomorrow.
Home Testing:
As you can see from my spreadsheet, I hardly test PS. There are various reasons for that, one being the vet's advice ("if you feel the need to do so, just do it at the 6th hour, the other times are just uselessly stressing him out, for no reason"), other both his behaviour and my mindset/capability at those times.
However, I have a reoccurring phenomenon, namely that I would test him at a certain time during the day (time X), then catch him grazing (not much, just a few mouthfuls) and afterwards when I test him again at X+1 his BG would be lower. First I thought it was a one off outlier, but it has happened a few times now, and I'm not sure what to make of it? Testing time X varies so I can't pinpoint it to being close to his NADIR either.
Vet and Insulin:
I have the (low income) luxury of being qualified for free pet healthcare via PDSA (government funded, donation based veterinary service in the UK), which includes free of charge visits (normally £50+/check-up with private vets) as well as free insulin and needles. I am eternally grateful for this opportunity, however, some things don't sit well with me, but I feel like it'd be too entitled of me to "complain" about these. Given the nature of this organisation, we tend to see different vets on every visit, and although they do have access to my boy's records, I feel like the visits are always rushed. So far we have been:
- Not informed/briefed in detail on certain matters
- Given inconsistent and/or contradictory advice by different vets
- Given outright wrong advice/instructions by the vet (which I have followed through regardless, leading my boy into DKA)
- Told not to home test, not for BG nor for ketones ("you can, but it's not like you're allowed to change the dose without us seeing him anyway") and
- Constantly getting the topic of changing his insulin diverted
Again, these people do not benefit financially from seeing us weekly, so why not advocate for home testing?- Given inconsistent and/or contradictory advice by different vets
- Given outright wrong advice/instructions by the vet (which I have followed through regardless, leading my boy into DKA)
- Told not to home test, not for BG nor for ketones ("you can, but it's not like you're allowed to change the dose without us seeing him anyway") and
- Constantly getting the topic of changing his insulin diverted
I've also just learned (although from a post from 2015-updated 2020) that the slower acting Prozinc was supposed to be prescribed for newly diagnosed patients, not Caninsulin. (I'm assuming the latter is cheaper for them to just give out.) It angers me, especially since I have asked them about slower acting insulin consistently for the past 4 weeks, and was always shooed away, with "Once he's stabilised, you can request those from a private vet based on our data" and "PDSA only has a certain list of insulins we can use, will ask the manager and get back to you" (cue: they never did). I'm wary about once my boy is regulated, they'll hit me with the "But he is fine, no point messing with it now" ... I want him in remission, and they know it.
Vet and Numbers:
His initial BG the day he was diagnosed, was 33+ mmol/L (594 mg/dl)... FASTED! (They seem to be reluctant sharing any numbers that go beyond 33 mmol/L as that is considered universally the "highest".
He has been and is now asymptomatic in the high 20s/low 30s, which indicates he was indeed in the dreaded 40s (700s) for at least those 2 weeks pre-diagnosis and pre-insulin.
His NADIRs at the vet are always in the 22-25 mmol/L range, but they keep shrugging it off as stress-BG numbers.
I have gone against their advice, and upped his dose a week ago, when again he showed DKA symptoms, and... Today I am ecstatic to see a PMPS of 22.8 mmol/L (410 mg/dl) which is for him considered low!!! (Note: he hasn't been eating much today, and received his normal dose of insulin, thus I can't help but wonder that's why his numbers are "decent".)
- The vet keeps saying not to bother about numbers, just focus on symptoms. But... aren't symptoms the indicators of things are being beyond control in his system?!
- The vet also keeps telling me to keep him on the same (low) dose for prolonged times, such as up to 3 weeks! With no home testing... WTF?
I feel like I'm running out of time. Maybe it was wishful thinking on my part to have him regulated 2 months post Dx and even in remission sometime soon, but his daily averages still do not go below 20 mmol/L (360 mg/dl) and the vet... well... I don't even think they care?! Especially so, because they don't even ask/take into consideration when I'm explaining the change in his behaviour (which is incredibly apparent and worrying).- The vet also keeps telling me to keep him on the same (low) dose for prolonged times, such as up to 3 weeks! With no home testing... WTF?
Since I did my own thing, and upped his dose slightly, he did gain some weight in this past week, but not much. I also bought Keto-Diastix and his ketones are at least "small" at the highest (his urine glucose is sky-high still). I'm worried they'll just say again tomorrow -due to the slight weight gain- to keep at the same dose for a few weeks, which I will definitely not do. I'm planning on printing out my spreadsheet, as well as a chart data and showing it to them.
He has lost a total of 1kg (2.2 lbs) in 2 months. He is literally deteriorating in front of my f*cking eyes, both physically, mentally and in spirits, and even though I am a strong spirited person, with a "solution finding" mindset, I'm finding myself crying to sleep every godd*amned night, because all I can think of is that if he's lingering in such heights for much longer, he'll develop further issues that will catch up with him and kill him sooner rather than later, just because I am advised to Stay-Low-Don't-Move.
I'm even considering biting the bullet and visiting a private vet for a second opinion, but I will not be able to afford that on the long run, thus I'm unsure whether I should just wait until he is regulated and do what my gut tells me to do is the best for him, regardless of it going against my vet's advice.
I don't anymore know how to approach these people tomorrow. It feels utterly pointless (apart from picking up more insulin and needles for him.) Any thoughts would be much appreciated.
Thank you,
Eve and Handsomest Baby Boi
(and Kiddy-Kiddy-Kiddy and Scroogie-Patoogie)
Attachments
Last edited:
)

) His signature "fave spot" was never the bottom of tail-, headtop- or chin-, but ear rubs, and recently it was taken away from him with the pricks.
So was the set-up of having to scroll far right for notes, thus I cram them in-text instead, and other comments at the bottom of the month.
