hbs60
Active Member
Hello, all,
I started this thread on the general Feline Diabetes Health forum, and it's been suggested that I move it here. I hope I'm able to link to the thread by cutting and pasting as follows: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5769
In summary, Eukanubo is a 12 y/o Russian Blue, diagnosed in October 2009. After a brief 2 week course of Vetsulin while boarding, for a while it looked like he was in remission, but then I discovered that the meter was off by at least 100 points, no wonder the poor cat kept losing weight! So he was put on ProZinc 1 unit twice a day. His sugars wouldn't budge, but a week ago I switched him to wet food, and that HAS made a big difference. However, I'm not sure about when to dose with insulin and when to withhold the dose. The vet doesn't want me to give insulin if his BG is less than 300, but then his sugars stay high. So, I've been using the cutoff of dosing above 200 mg, his numbers overall look much better, but I'm fearful of dosing when his BG is less than 200 (like this morning), due to fear of hypoglycemia, however, when I don't give the insulin, the BG skyrockets again into the 300's. What would be a safe cutoff? One more problem is that it is becoming VERY hard to test his BG, especially in the mornings, when he is especially combative and hates that I have a hard time getting a good specimen (for some reason, his ear bleeds much more easily later in the day).
His spreadsheet is under my signature, any help/advice will be appreciated.
Thanks!
HB
I started this thread on the general Feline Diabetes Health forum, and it's been suggested that I move it here. I hope I'm able to link to the thread by cutting and pasting as follows: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5769
In summary, Eukanubo is a 12 y/o Russian Blue, diagnosed in October 2009. After a brief 2 week course of Vetsulin while boarding, for a while it looked like he was in remission, but then I discovered that the meter was off by at least 100 points, no wonder the poor cat kept losing weight! So he was put on ProZinc 1 unit twice a day. His sugars wouldn't budge, but a week ago I switched him to wet food, and that HAS made a big difference. However, I'm not sure about when to dose with insulin and when to withhold the dose. The vet doesn't want me to give insulin if his BG is less than 300, but then his sugars stay high. So, I've been using the cutoff of dosing above 200 mg, his numbers overall look much better, but I'm fearful of dosing when his BG is less than 200 (like this morning), due to fear of hypoglycemia, however, when I don't give the insulin, the BG skyrockets again into the 300's. What would be a safe cutoff? One more problem is that it is becoming VERY hard to test his BG, especially in the mornings, when he is especially combative and hates that I have a hard time getting a good specimen (for some reason, his ear bleeds much more easily later in the day).
His spreadsheet is under my signature, any help/advice will be appreciated.
Thanks!
HB