Eukanubo March Madness

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
I just had to put the March Madness in the title somewhere, but it's not really that bad right now, still, there's a full moon, a solar flare, we are in March and the time changes this weekend, so what could possibly go wrong?? :mrgreen:

Anyway, I don't think I need to post a whole lot as long as he is stable. Euk had a mostly good week, except for yesterday, when he seemed flat and had a very high PMPS. I attributed the higher than usual +7 reading yesterday daytime to his getting hold of some carbs early that morning, he dropped during the afternoon but then ate ravenously about 1 hour before the PMPS reading, so I wasn't too alarmed by the high reading of over 500, attributing it to his eating. When I checked his +4 reading last might, it had dropped nicely to 302 so I went to bed. As usual, he got me up at the ungodly hour of 4:30 AM (actually, earlier but I refused to go out of bed until then), and his AMPS was 307, which I'm not sure what to make of as it's virtually unchanged from last night. He was very hungry and cranky (as he was yesterday), sort of what I would expect if he had low sugar, only it wasn't.

Still, I plan on increasing his dose this weekend, as I think he has plenty of room, but I'm sure it will be interesting. Not sure what to do about the time change. I usually try to dose around 5 AM 5 PM +/- 30 min, so should I try dosing 1 hour earlier today and tomorrow before the time change? How you guys do it?

Thanks!
 
Since PZI is pretty flexible, you can change the time by 30 minutes for 2 preshots and get it right. Or if you have time, do the same with 15 minutes for 4 preshots. (As long as you have a rising number....)

I think an increase is a good idea. Hope you can get some numbers - even a partial curve - so you can see what happens. He seems to be a cat who reacts strongly to food so that relationship would be good to try to figure out too.
 
Good afternoon!

Came home to do a PMPS, and it is a lovely and much improved 297, first time he's under 300 for a preshot in quite a while, but...do I go ahead with the dose increase to 1.2 units or do I stick with the 1.0 units for now?

I lean towards the latter and be more conservative, but I'm also concerned about his being under-treated and still unregulated, so I'm not sure how to deal with good numbers.

Thoughts? If I don't hear from any of you by shot time, I'll stick with 1.0 units but your feedback will be helpful in making up my mind.

Thanks!
 
Good afternoon HB -

The other night I was prepared to up Grayson's dose, then he came in w/ a lower-than-usual preshot, so I decided to hold where I was for one more cycle. The next time I upped it. I considered that playing it safe. If you're going to be around, you might want to experiment, but I'd probably err on the conservative side, since I'm still relatively new (2 months).

Lu-Ann
 
I think I would stick with the 1 unit tonight and do the increase tomorrow when you will be awake and can test the cycle.

Nice PMPS.
 
Thanks!

We have a storm coming, which means kitty will be hiding under the bed, thus hard to monitor, so 1.0 units it is right now. I do feel at some point he does need an increase in dose as I feel he's been under-treated, but it's hard to do the right thing when he keeps swinging.
 
I know. If you are going to be around tomorrow to test I would do the increase in the morning.

Does Florida go on Daylight Savings time? If so I posted how to move your shot time to adjust for the difference.

Have a great night, I hope the storm isn't too bad.
 
If anybody out there is awake right now (1:00 AM EST), what do you make of the numbers I got today? These are fantastic although I can't tell if the 136 i just got means that it is still going down or that it already reached the nadir and it's going back up. I made sure he ate a lot and have to go back to bed, but I'm soo glad I didn't go up on his dose last evening!

Any suggestions for dosing tomorrow? Honestly, I don't know what it will be like, AMPS could be in the 500s, the 200s or anywhere in between (or beyond) so, maybe, under what numbers should I shoot 1.2 instead of 1.0? under what numbers should I reduce the dose?

Thanks! I'll probably get up again around 3:00 AM since that's when he normally gets me up usually, I'll check another reading then. G'night!
 
OK, so I don't expect anybody to be up at this hour, so if somebody sees this before his shot time of 5:00 AM (assuming I'm able to wake up at that time), I'm not certain how to proceed. His +10 reading is up to 190 (it doesn't look like he's eaten since the last post 2 hours ago), so I'm not worried about hypo, but I don't know how much more it will go up before shooting. I'm concerned that he may have a great number like 220 or so but in that case I would be fearful of giving a full dose of 1.0 (at this point I say forget the planned dose increase), so what should I shoot?
 
Still up?

I just got up w/ the dogs - and of course to check Grayson... geez, sleeping through the night is such a treasured thing now!

How's Euk? Have you tested him since 3?
 
Good (yawn!) morning!

AMPS of 218????? It seems that Mr. P has dropped in for a visit, yeay?

But, do I even dose at all? If so, how much? I'm certain he hadn't eaten since midnight, although he is eating now.
 
I just checked out Euk's spreadsheet and it looks like he's done pretty well on 1u when he's been toward the lower numbers. Last night especially good. But a 218 preshot would make me want to go w/ probably .5 or .6 - again, erring on the side of caution. What number are you thinking?
 
I just rechecked 1/2 hour after he ate, it's up to 312, so I believe it is safe to dose at 1 full unit, correct? (I moved the 218 number to +11 the night before and put the 312 as his "official" AMPS. Gotta get the insulin ready, will be right back...
 
I would say he's probably climbing - I get about 25-40 point food spike.

I'm with you, I think I'd do the full 1.0. That's a good number to shoot into.
 
Thanks! 1.0 units it is.
Here, kitty kitty kitty, daddy has some medicine for you! Here, kitty kitty kitty... :smile:
 
Actually, he was fine with it for a change, luckily it was brief and he stayed with me and laid down on the desk right in front of me for hours last night. Many times he sits on my lap and purrs, but never if there's a hint of a storm.

Off topic question, does his munching on grass in the backyard makes a difference in the food absorption/readings?
I'm starting to suspect that it seems to help but can't prove it. Anybody knows?
 
Going to pass that baton to someone who might know, as all but 2 of my guys are strictly indoor kitties.

Hope you guys have a great Saturday!
 
Yes, last night he had a great cycle. Me, on the other hand, woke up several times to check on him so I'm dragging today.

+6 reading right now is 166. This is absolutely fantastic provided he doesn't go hypo later on. It seems that something is turning a corner here, so of course I'll refrain from increasing the dose. Then again, he could run 400s or 500s tomorrow for all I know, Same Cat, Different Day, but for today, I'll enjoy the good cycle. One day at a time. One cat at a time. One cycle at a time...
 
Does he throw up at all after eating grass? If there is a little less food in there on the same insulin, it could make for better numbers. If not, then it is probably SCDD :lol:
Good weekend numbers to you guys!
 
Not usually, once in a while he would try to hack up a hairball but Molly is the official vomiter of the house, so SCDD it is!
 
It is +8 and I got a 120. He just ate about 15-20 minutes ago, not a whole lot, but he is up and about and alert, looks fine. Should I start worrying and making him eat more or do I let him be?
 
That is a nice safe number, just coming a little late in the cycle. We don't get nervous until they are in the 50-40s and heading down. It will be interesting to see whether he surfs awhile or starts back up.
 
+9 is 183, so I'm not as nervous, although I'm not sure if it's a little up because he ate earlier, maybe he is really at the plateau?

Now I'm starting to wonder if I need to go down on his dose instead of up as I was planning for this weekend?
Kind of a nice problem to have, isn't it?
 
+11 is 288, and that's without eating most of the afternoon, and after he coughed up a hairball around +9.5 and munching on some grass. Really, really good numbers today. I'll wait 1 hour but I'm not sure I want to recheck for PMPS because he's been poked non-stop now since last night and he is getting fed up and he needs a break. I know it will be probably in the 300s after eating, so I feel safe in dosing at the full unit, still I need to prepare for the eventual dose decrease that seems to be around the corner. By all means let me know if I'm not correct in my reasoning. Thanks!
 
You have had two really nice cycles, I would stick with the 1 unit and see if he can have a few more predictable cycles before you increase.

Have a nice night.
 
Good morning!
It's almost 3:30 (4:30 new daylight time), Molly got me up demanding food, checking Euk's glucose is an interesting 323. Last evening, I had the hardest time giving the insulin shot because he was extremely angry, hissing, biting, clawing, which I attribute to all that poking yesterday, so I'm not sure how well the shot went in. Still I see that the evening curve was flat, in the mid 300s, and is actually a bit lower a few hours later. It is still too early for his next shot but at least he's not in the 400s/500s, he might get there in a couple of hours as he is eating now, although not much. That evening curve totally throws me off as it is so different than the daytime one, any thoughts why it would be so different? (I'm positive he didn't get any carbs, he did have some food mid-cycle but that's not so unusual).
Anyway, I'm going back to bed, will be back in a couple of hours (if I can get up) as it will be shot time then.
 
It looks like last nights numbers are his liver panicking from seeing all those pretty blue numbers during the day. Don't react to last nights numbers, the bounce will clear by itself in a cycle or two.

Hold steady with your 1 unit dose.
 
Definitely he's been having good numbers, almost too good.
I'm a bit worried that it's Sunday night, his +4 reading is already down to 120. He seems fine but I made sure he ate. I'm concerned because his nadir may not come until +7 or +8 as I've seen it happen, and I'm fearful that I'll sleep through a hypo episode. Will check another glucose at midnight (+6) hopefully I'll have an idea then.
 
Keep checking HB. If he keeps dropping too fast, you can always give him a little food to slow down that drop. Do you have medium carb or high carb wet food on hand?

Our Asher is going low tonight too, so I just fed him a good fork full of wet food with gravy in it. I’ll test again in 45 mins to see if it slowed the drop enough, if not, I’ll feed a little more.....
 
Yes, I have high carb food, but I'm not sure I should give it now. He ate his regular food for a while so I'm hoping this will help. I'm thinking I need to start cutting down on the dose to 0.8 bid, or should I cut it further?
 
Test him in a little bit if he ate some regular food and see where he is. If he keeps dropping you can slow it more with the higher carb stuff, doesn’t have to be a ton of food, just a fork full at a time.
 
I don’t know what to say about the dosing HB. I just know that if you are not comfortable shooting 1 unit when you are at work all day, you have to lower a little. See how he does with a little food tonight.
Do you have an auto feeder he’ll eat from when you are at work?

Here is an example of how food just effected our numbers: we were at 85 an hour ago, I fed 1 fork full of wet food with gravy and at +5 we are at 120...
 
Rechecked and it was 78! So I already whipped out the carbs and even some Karo. I'm worried that he hasn't peaked yet, but at least he looks fine and is eating...
 
Yeah, at night since I like to sleep a little :shock: I usually go right to the higher carb food and give just a little. You get more noticeable movement and maybe can get some shut eye in eventually. During the day I am more apt to go with the lower carb and keep checking over and over.
I don’t think you are at Karo level yet, but try some higher carb food and keep checking. A good forkful, maybe a little more than a tablespoon is what I usually start out with.
 
Well, I did give Karo as well as a mix of low and high carb food. Even if he does go up, I'm still worried because it is still early in his cycle, I've seen nadirs as late as +8 so I will have to keep a close eye. I'm fortunate that in daytime, I can stop at least once for lunch to check on him, sometimes even a few times, as my schedule varies a lot, but I'm glad I checked at +4 and caught the drop in time, I shudder to think what would have happened if I had just gone to sleep without checking...
 
That’s cool, no worries, you are on top of it. Sometimes we just “know” when we should get a quick test in :-D
Keep an eye on his numbers and you guys should be fine. If he drops again, just feed a little more and test once you think it’s kicked into his bloodstream (45 mins give or take)
 
Not a dull night in PZI land tonite...

That food should keep him up, HB. If you can check in 30-45 minutes, it should show up on the meter. I'll be up a while checking in if you need any help.
Donna has you covered already though!

Carl
 
Thanks for all the support!
He is now up to 101, which makes me feel a little better although that would be a +5.5 reading. Should I try to feed some more or let him be for now? He wants to sleep (and so do I)
 
I'm thinking he's good for now. Let him nap. What you can do is get ready to nap yourself, and maybe just before lights out, get a quick test. If he's not higher, then put out a small meal and see if he wants any? I'm thinking the karo won't last long, but the high and low carb food you've already given him should keep him level or make him rise some.

Carl
 
I would feed a little bit more high carb if you want to get some sleep. Food lasts longer than karo too. You can always set an alarm to test a little later tonight in addition. Just what I would do....
 
Thanks
+6 reading is up to 149!
I think we'll be fine. I had him eat some more, mostly low carb but I had put in a little Karo so he's getting carbs as well. I think we'll be good even though tomorrow I expect lots of pinks, reds, and blacks, but we'll cross that bridge when we get there...
If I can (I'm a very heavy sleeper) I may get up for another check otherwise, see y'all tomorrow, and thanks again!
 
Good morning! (not that I expect anybody to be awake at this ungodly hour)

+8 reading is up to 336. Actually I'm surprised it's not sky-high, but hey, I'm pleased.

I'll deal with the AMPS tomorrow, whatever it is. In the meantime, it's back to bed, this time peacefully...

g'night!
 
Good morning!

AMPS this morning is 539, just around what I expected. So much for the progress the last few days... Is it still safe to shoot the full unit this morning or should I cut back to prevent another drop? If so, how much?
Thanks!
 
Thanks, but I already gave the full 1 unit. I think he'll be OK as I just checked a +2 and it is 475, I made sure he ate this morning and so far the drop seems normal, not particularly steep, he has room to go. I expect to be able to stop at home to check between +5-+7 which are the times I get most worried. I'll probably cut back on the evening insulin dose as the carbs will definitely be gone by then.
 
+6 reading is down to 248, I think he still has comfortable room to keep dropping, I'll have to go back to work shortly but be back well in advance of PMPS, (although my work can change on short notice).
Do I dare hope for remission around the corner, or at least regulation? Besides the drop last night, I think he's been doing fantastically well last few days but I'm trying not to get too optimistic. The rollercoaster continues...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top