Eukanubo 3/2 TGIF

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
Good morning, y'all ~O)

TGIF, weekends are always welcome around here, that means more time to spend with my kitties!

AMPS not too terribly bad at 386, especially considering that he got me up for a feeding at 2:00 AM. Yesterday was an insanely busy and crazy day so I was only able to get a +6 reading at 11:00 AM which was actually pretty good at 253. The evening reading at +4 wasn't so great at 340 but it was 9:00 PM and I was exhausted so I have no idea what a +6 would have read, I only cared that it was high enough that I could go to sleep without worrying about a hypo.
I'm noticing that his appetite seems to be picking up in the mornings, he can go through a whole 3 oz can when before he would just nibble maybe 1/2 can at the most, he would eat something at lunch and evening but not quite as much. He's looking better clinically, I suspect it's because of the slowly increasing insulin doses he's been getting. I'll stick with 0.8 today. If the numbers are safe, will try to go up to 1 unit bid over the weekend, but again, who knows what he'll do?
 
Morining HB
TGIF!
andI think it sounds like a good plan to increase...
I think you have plenty of room
Have a great day!
Denise and Shakes
 
Morning HB, ~O)

Yep. Seems like your plan to raise on the dose is a good idea as the goal is to keep him under the 250 renal threshold for as many hours as possible. That's why many members aim for preshots in the yellows and nadirs close to 100. Looking forward to seeing your weekend trial results.

Have a good day!
 
OK, I'm about to go to work, so I did a quick check, and BG is UP to 402! I highly doubt a fur shot so I don't know what to make of it, other than he ate a bit this morning, but it's been about 2 hours since he last ate.

Is there a smiley icon for AAAARGGGHH?????

Well, it's off to work I go, I'll be back somewhere around 11 AM and will be here until around 12:30 PM EST, who knows what the reading will be then?
 
OK, it is now +6 and his BG is a much nicer 294. Still, he probably needs a full 1.0 unit in the mornings, but then I'll probably have the problem of PMPS readings too low to shoot a full 1.0 units, but we'll see what happens...

So many doses, so little time...
 
Get some numbers this weekend - some at night too, if you can. We do have people who shoot a difference dose am/pm and who vary the schedule am/pm because that works with their cat's numbers. Angela and Henry shoot on a 10/14 schedule because he is consistently lower at night than am. One of the benefits of ProZinc is that it is flexible, so maybe we can use that to your advantage.
 
OK, now I'm TOTALLY confused.

PMPS is 228! I'm afraid of shooting the 0.8 but he is eating now. I'm thinking of rechecking in 1 hour and if high enough, then shoot, but should I shoot the 0.8 if it's, say, upper 300s-400s or should I shoot less even if the numbers are high?

I think he didn't eat much at lunch today which may explain the lower number, but I can't tell if it's rising or still falling from this morning.

I'm wondering if I'm getting in over my head, but what do I do?

This is perplexing...
 
Well, if it wasn't for that red this am, we would think it was a good cycle with a long duration. Wonder if the reading was bad? No chance he got into some dry food at that point?

As you know, the food messes things up. Any chance you can get another test within 20 minutes of eating? That might still give you a number you can trust.
 
I don't think he got any dry food, I always put it away once Molly finishes eating. The thing that I'm puzzled also is that the PMPS is actually lower than the readings at noon. Did he go lower and is going back up or is he still going back?

He just ate and is purring on my lap as I type this, so I'll try to get a reading in a few minutes and report back.
 
So, it's 302. Still not sure what to do, but at least it's coming up. He does need something, but not sure how much. Help!
 
I would guess he just had a long cycle and I am thinking the red was a bad reading. It just doesn't fit. So, it wasn't a bad cycle, good numbers but a little too long which can mean a little too much insulin. Maybe a little bit less, like .6? What do you think?
 
I don’t want to go against Sue, because she always knows her stuff, but since he’s already at 300, if he were my kitty I’d prob shoot the .8 like this morning. You don’t seem to go low at night and since it’s the weekend... I’m always the one who doesn’t want to loose momentum. Any one else to help us out with opinions here? What do you think HB?
 
I don't know, because he is so unpredictable. I gave the 0.6 just to play safe, because I don't know how much residual insulin is in his body that may add up with the one I just gave. But only time will tell how this will play out. Thanks all for your help!
 
That’s good HB, you have to be comfortable with what you shoot, and you know him better than anyone. Hoping the high number this morning was a fluke and that you guys have a good numbers weekend ahead.
 
It is now almost midnight (+6) and he is checking at 279, his +4 was 284, he ate some at both times, so I hope he doesn't keep dropping like he did during daytime.

Question is, should I bump up the dose to 1.00 tomorrow morning? (unless of course he has a low reading).

I can't stay awake any longer. G'nite, see y'all tomorrow and thanks, as always!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top