Ernest at 145, was at 164 at +11ish -- no shot tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Ernest was at 483 preshot this morning, which is super high. He got his regular 2 U lantus. But at his preshot tonight I got 164. Then I fed him, waited an hour and got a 145. I have not given him his insulin tonight. He is acting normal, eating, hanging out. I plan to continue checking him. But am I right to not give him any dose tonight? A month ago he had to spend 3 days in ICU with ketoacidosis, so I am being super careful with him, but the problem now is not that he is too high. And at what point should I worry about him going hypo?

Nothing else has changed, although he did hack up something hairballish this afternoon. Seems fine though. He is eating canned Wellness Turkey and Salmon.

Would love any advice.

Thanks
 
No shoot was a good call. The group usually says, not to shoot under 200. If you've been doing a long time (which from you spreadsheet isn't you) you can try micro doses like 0.25 units. Hope the numbers are staying low. Maisey went from throwing a 400+ to under 100's in one day and has consistently been in the 50's to 70's ever since. Cats, who can tell?
 
You have to use the experience with the individual kitty to know when/how much to shoot. You start conservatively. like skipping does, and the go from the results.
 
Thanks all, I did not shoot last night, but I did check him 3 more times to make sure he was not going hypo. This is the first I have ever seen him under 200, so I was concerned. But he was at 384 this morning, so I gave him his 2u and I am home with him and he seems fine. Poor thing, I wonder how all these BG ups and down make him feel.
 
Usually they say to stall and get a recheck every 15 minutes to see if he is on his way up or down. There are some really good experts on the lantus support board that will be able to help you in the event you have questions. The link is below.

viewforum.php?f=9
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top