enzymes made thing worse

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jtcatt

Member
my 12 year old diabetic kitty still isn't eating. I had given her the enzyme supplement the vet recommended. for 2 days. less than 1/2 the dose. she got sick on the second day and was vomiting and wouldn't eat. last night I force fed her some water which helped a bit. today is day 3. she is drinking some but still not eating so I force fed her a little cat food mixed with water. she's keeping it down ok. still has diarrhea which is mostly water because that's all that's in her. she still has no interest in food. The enzymes messed her up bad. She has never gone 3 days without eating before and always shows interest in food. Not even kitty treats can get her interested. worried sick
1f641.png
had to skip one shot cause she wasn't eating and was at 149. been giving 1/2 dose for 2 days cause she is in 300's.
 
Definitely try to get the ketone test, if it's above trace you'll want to get her to ER vet immediately. I did some super quick reading about Prozyme and I don't think that's what caused the current issue. Still sending healing vines for you and Kitten
vibes.gif
:cat:

Also, a long handled spoon works very well for catching a sample :)
 
I agree with Yong, I don't think this is an enzyme issue either. I'm REALLY concerned that she's ketonic and heading toward DKA...life threatening serious ER kind of stuff....critical within hours not days. If you can't get a ketone test very soon, is there an open vet that you could take her to for them to check that?
 
I agree with Lyresa and Yong. It's very concerning that she won't eat...I think if you can't get a ketone test, you need to get her to the vet. Honestly, at this point, I'd call the closest ER vet and bring her in...I wouldn't wait.
 
Said her bg was low even though she was 149 because there was no glucose in her urine? I don't understand that. Also inflammation in her stomach from her ibs. Gave subq fluid and I have to repeat for 2 days. Wants her to take prilosec and gave appetite stimulant. Also skip morning insulin shot in addition to the one she missed last night by being at vet.
 
Last edited:
So no ketones? Thank goodness! Did the vet mention why you should skip the morning shot? If she eats and is high enough, I probably would still give the shot, but I'd like to know why your vet was against it.

Hmmm...as for the low BG...not sure. I know that if there is glucose in the urine it does usually mean it's pretty high because you can detect it in blood before urine. 149 is actually pretty low for not having a shot (not dangerous by any means, just kind of surprising that it's under 200 with no shot).

Does she seem to feel better?
 
Make sure you are home testing for ketones daily if you are not giving the insulin. Also, did they give you any appetite stimulants or nausea if she has signs of nausea?
 
Make sure you are home testing for ketones daily if you are not giving the insulin. Also, did they give you any appetite stimulants or nausea if she has signs of nausea?
I am testing for keytones. Clear so far. They gave her an appetite stimulant, something with an m. I've used on other cat before. She's not getting sick anymore so no nausea med but they want her to take prilosec. I'm having my regular vet go over the notes and treatment before I do anything but the subq fluids.
 
I am testing for keytones. Clear so far. They gave her an appetite stimulant, something with an m. I've used on other cat before. She's not getting sick anymore so no nausea med but they want her to take prilosec. I'm having my regular vet go over the notes and treatment before I do anything but the subq fluids.
Would it be mirtazapine? It can have odd effects on some cats- yowling, agitation, etc. It's good that ketones are negative.
 
my 12 year old diabetic kitty still isn't eating. I had given her the enzyme supplement the vet recommended. for 2 days. less than 1/2 the dose. she got sick on the second day and was vomiting and wouldn't eat. last night I force fed her some water which helped a bit. today is day 3. she is drinking some but still not eating so I force fed her a little cat food mixed with water. she's keeping it down ok. still has diarrhea which is mostly water because that's all that's in her. she still has no interest in food. The enzymes messed her up bad. She has never gone 3 days without eating before and always shows interest in food. Not even kitty treats can get her interested. worried sick
1f641.png
had to skip one shot cause she wasn't eating and was at 149. been giving 1/2 dose for 2 days cause she is in 300's.
I'll be taking my cat to the vet to have him checked for EPI. The test measures digestive enzymes in the blood. The most common treatment is to give enzymes to replace those his body is not making. Why did your vet prescribe them for her? Was it for IBD or something else? How is she doing today?
 
Glucose doesn't spill into the urine until the renal threshold for that cat is reached....that's usually around 220-250. With a bg of 149, of course there was no urine spillage. I'm SO thankful you're testing for ketones and that she's negative. The recipe for ketones is not enough insulin+infection/inflammation and not eating. Right now she's bordering on all three. I anxiously await your own vet's thoughts....

HUGS!
 
Yes, I am anxiously awaiting to hear from my vet also. Hate waiting. She's more active todayand talking today. She ate some kitty treats and is drinking water, even stole a few drinks if my sons lactaid. Lol I am taking this as a good sign and praying she eats on her own by tonight. If her bg is over 300 tonight I plan on giving her a **** tonight regardless. The dose will depend if she's eating or not.
 
We know how you feel! I look forward to hearing what your vet thinks too. I hope that she starts eating for you soon! It does sound good that she's out and interested in treats...could try sprinkling some treats on her food to help her get a bit of food in her. :)
 
Will have to call vet again in morning since they never called back. She is drinking someand eating a bit. She threw up once after eating a but of dry food but is keeping a few licks of wet food and some treats down. She was at 430 so I gave her a 1/4 shot. Hoping I'm doing it right. Gave more subq at home. Don't have prilosec and am maxed out now. Going to ask if I can give zantac instead. We are both exhausted.
 
Will have to call vet again in morning since they never called back. She is drinking someand eating a bit. She threw up once after eating a but of dry food but is keeping a few licks of wet food and some treats down. She was at 430 so I gave her a 1/4 shot. Hoping I'm doing it right. Gave more subq at home. Don't have prilosec and am maxed out now. Going to ask if I can give zantac instead. We are both exhausted.
:bighug: all we can do is the best we can do. You are doing a great job carrying for her. Try getting her to eat anything you can. Tuna. Cold cuts. Chicken. Anything.
 
I believe they are used to treat the same symptoms so I would try it if it were my kitty. You have to do what you are comfortable with .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top