Entering Tight Regulation Territory!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Hello All! I've finally decided that I'm comfortable enough with Shadow's values that tight regulation is now a viable option for us. It looks like we will be micro dosing since his response has been so good thus far. I'm usually home around his nadir in order to monitor for hypo and I watch him like a hawk, so I'm hoping this will push him over the edge into remission. *crossing fingers* Thanks to all those who have provided us with advice! I can't tell you how grateful we are to have such a wonderful resource as this community.

PMPS 110, +1.25=127, +2=162, +4=101, +5=80, +6=85, +9=75 (fed 20cc Evo)

I fed 20cc at both +3 and +4. (Made a mistake on the times earlier. Have edited those.)
 
Welcome to TR!! Feel free to post any and all questions....everyone here is very generous with knowledge and moral support!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!! (What do we call you?)

I took a look at Shadow's spreadsheet (SS). Is there a reason you skipped some of your PM shots? What is your "no shot" number? Also, with TR, you don't reduce the dose until your kitty's numbers drop below 50.

We do our best to help people get comfortable with shooting low numbers. Once you get comfortable with shooting in lower ranges, you could pretty much shoot numbers in the 50s and above but it does take a little while to get that comfort level and confidence.

Please let us know if you have questions. There's a lot to absorb in the beginning when you're learning TR. The folks here are very generous with their time and knowledge and we'll do our best to lend a hand.
 
I'm Hellen. We've just decided to move into tighter regulation today. :) Yesterday we weren't shooting below 125, but since I was home to monitor this AM, I was able to get a +6 and +7 and that has me feeling better about his numbers. We've received conflicting advice from different vets and our regular vet isn't very familiar with Lantus so she's leery of shooting under 150. Looking at his mid cycle numbers from today, I'd feel ok about giving him .25 if he's over 100 at PMPS. Am I doing something wrong?
 
this
We do our best to help people get comfortable with shooting low numbers. Once you get comfortable with shooting in lower ranges, you could pretty much shoot numbers in the 50s and above but it does take a little while to get that comfort level and confidence

or this. Your vet tells you that your human meter reads 70 points lower than her machine so you shoot 1.25 and 1.5 units on green 70's and 80's because you really believe your vet when they say your cat's BG is really 150. :shock: You can look at my SS back in March just don't follow any of the dosing levels. It all worked out in the end but my cat earned reductions and didn't get them because I was given wrong info from someone I trusted.
I can't add too much here I just wanted to share a bad experience on how I learned how to shoot low numbers. :-x

You just have to put your trust in the protocol. It may seem scary at first but it's just nice when you start to see those nice "flat" curves when the top and bottom of the cycle are only 40 or 50 apart!

Welcome and good luck.
 
Welcome to LL!!!!!

Everyone here is so helpful, patient and kind....

You couldn't find a better group of people to get advice from!

Welcome again!
 
Good for you Hellen!!

We know it somehow seems totally crazy to shoot when the preshot is low (especially if you just had your cat go from 400 to 250 on the same dose) and the pre-shot is under 150...it's like "but if he drops 150 points like he did last time, he'll be at ZERO!!"

Luckily it doesn't work that way....LOL

We do suggest getting a +1 and +2 when shooting lower numbers the first few times though....just to keep them as safe as possible.

Shadow looks like an excellent candidate to go OTJ soon! (anti jinx) :-D
 
Great job and welcome to Lantus Land! Since this is the lowest number you've shot, please be sure and get a +1 and +2 test and post.

We say here "shoot low to stay low" because doing so allows you to take advantage of the overlap and carryover from Lantus for nice, long green curves. If you get a number above 50 and you are nervous about shooting it, please don't feed, post, and we'll walk you through it.

See you at +1.
 
So, his +2 is 162. Wow. That's a jump. I'll take a +5 and +6 tonight.

It occurred to me that you guys don't know his feeding schedule. It was suggested that since Shadow has pancreatitis, we should feed multiple smaller meals. He's syringe fed 20cc's after his AM/PMPS, then another 20cc's at the +1,+3 and +4 and an additional 10-20cc at +9. (This makes a total of 160-180cc over the course of the day.) Does that mess things up too much for me to follow the tight protocol?
 
It doesn't but giving food after nadir can slow the effects of the insulin.

We do suggest mini meals to keep from overwhelming the pancreas.

Have a good sleep!
 
Hi Hellen. Did you feed Shadow his +4? If not, I would. Also, can you edit your first condo to reflect the tests as you do them. You can look at mine to see what I mean.

My Max has had chronic pancreatitis for 4 1/2 years. When he has an episode my vet also said to feed small amounts often. Since it led to his diabetes Max has a big appetite however. Since Max has decided to dive I will be up for at least a few hours so if you have any questions, just ask.

Elise
 
I edited the first entry as suggested. And he was fed 20cc at both +3 and +4. The last couple of nights show that he hits his nadir at around +6. I think I'll just stay up to make sure he doesn't go too low. Am I just being a paranoid cat mom?
 
That's still a safe number. We only need to intervene if they drop under 50 and you are close to Nadir. Shadow is responding well to lantus. You are doing fine.

I'm sorry. I wasn't clear. You want to put your BG results in the subject bar of the first post. No need to do it now. You can do it starting with your new condo.
 
His +6 was 85. I'm going to head to bed for a bit! He will likely wake me for a feeding in about 2 hours. :lol: Thanks again for the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top